Virtus Partners Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Virtus Partners Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Virtus Partners CEO Kelly Faykus (no image)
Kelly Faykus
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Laid back dress code which is fine because the work gets done(in 6 reviews)

  • "I love the work environment and the people I have met(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay for the amount of work required(in 6 reviews)

  • "There is extremely high turnover, for a number of reasons:(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtus Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for!

    Cons

    Not many cons. Overall great atmosphere.

    Virtus Partners2019-03-29
  2. "Good company to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virtus Partners full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Virtus is a very good company for the recent graduates and new to the industry. The job training at Virtus has greatly improved compares to 7 - 8 years ago.

    Cons

    Too many under-achievers being protected by HR. It’s very difficult to remove anyone from the company due to laziness and/or bad performance.

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to toughen up on those under-achievers that just come to collect paychecks.

    Virtus Partners2019-10-06
  3. Helpful (3)

    "STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virtus Partners full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only pro was fruit on Monday mornings and breakfast tacos on Wednesday mornings.

    Cons

    No work life balance, Managing Director has no idea what is going, everyone is related, no job security, and they lied about pay.

    Advice to Management

    I worked for Virtus for 5 years. I was promoted 3 times then fired because I couldn't do my job. Which is ridiculous. I receive unemployment, because I was terminated for nothing relating to job performances. I was told I was making 10k more than I really was paid. I was part of the group that began the Austin office. I was known well by the owners, but they didn't stand up for me.

    Virtus Partners2019-09-16
  4. "No clear Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Virtus Partners full-time

    Pros

    The job is a steady pay check

    Cons

    There is not a path for growth. The company as a whole is disorganized. Management is not approachable. Dress code in the office is inappropriate.

    Virtus Partners2019-07-25
  5. "Poor HR + Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virtus Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good learning experience in the fixed income market

    Cons

    Low compensation, HR doesn't know what they are doing.

    Virtus Partners2019-07-20
  6. "Decent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Closer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virtus Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong staff and middle management.

    Cons

    Communication could be improved from senior management.

    Virtus Partners2019-04-01
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic Company that lacks self awareness (or doesn't care)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virtus Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Coworkers who share in your misery.

    Cons

    This is a toxic environment for most. The only people who do not believe it is toxic are those that are either content with never moving up in the world, or those that are related to the partners. There is extremely high turnover, for a number of reasons: Salaries are horribly low Raises and bonuses are laughable, nearly negligible. The work is repetitive, and there is hardly any room for advancement. If... you are one of the "lucky" ones to advance, your job responsibilities will suddenly blow up, but your salary does not. Management/Partnership will brag about record revenue, but don't expect that windfall to ever make it to employees. There is a high level of nepotism as this company, as their are familial relations between some very high level people. These people also think very highly of themselves (they are VERY important, after all) and have no qualms telling everyone. Your life is your work. This is what management expects of you. Work until you die. If you die, we'll replace you. (and probably hire someone for less salary). Basically everyone here is expendable (even though officially, you are "family")

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management at this company doesn't take advice from underlings, so why bother?

    Virtus Partners2019-03-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It was pretty great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst II 

    I have been working at Virtus Partners full-time

    Pros

    My co-workers were great! It was a pretty good atmosphere. Benefits Culture

    Cons

    Sometimes the hours were overwhelming

    Virtus Partners2019-02-13
  9. "Part-time position: Cash Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtus Partners part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly environment flexible schedule people are easy going

    Cons

    low pay rate no career advancement/challenges

    Virtus Partners2019-02-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I Like What I Do!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtus Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly diverse staff I love what I do Laid back environment No dress code (most times)

    Cons

    Lack of training High turnover Commute (downtown traffic) Salary/bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Empower employees

    Virtus Partners2019-01-05
Found 75 reviews