Visa Inc. "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Visa Inc. Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Good work life balance in company(in 380 reviews)

  • "Company provides good benefits to its employees and the working environment is good(in 181 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Work with highly talented people and great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -work life balance -flexibility with hours -great salary package

    Cons

    - too much power to senior management. - found very untalented people in senior management.

    Visa Inc.2017-04-19
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Don't tell the truth to management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is hard to say, they've changed so much

    Cons

    Telling the truth is not welcomed by Senior Management because they are too busy saying how great everything is. Front line management has their hands tied.

    Advice to Management

    It is a waste to provide advice to management... they don't care, regardless of what they say. Only the CEO talks tough and won't retaliate.

    Visa Inc.2019-08-26
  3. Helpful (58)

    "Worst experience I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CEO Al Kelley has been great at focusing on employee morale and satisfaction over the past couple of years. However, many of the policies he publishes are not followed by management. They have offered some nice new benefits such as time off for elderly/emergency care. However, those are pretty standard. Thanks to Dee Hock, Visa has a great business model that will continue to generate growth for years to come.... I am certain that the folks outside of technology are working for a great company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Since this is a one star review, I will start by saying I didn't submit this lightly. I read several other reviews that indicate a similar experience in Austin and now hope that this will lead to some sort of positive change. I see that HR responds to these by saying to call a "hotline" which I did months before I wrote this ( August 2018). This should be the first red flag. To be fair, I will also say the... Technology organization is divided into two different organizations. One is, DMPD ( digital mobile product development) which likely doesn't have the same issues I am about to enumerate. Let me address why I gave everything one star ( except benefits) : Career Opportunities : I applied, interviewed and tested for an internal position. Was then asked by the hiring manager to continue to the last phase of the process but was blocked by my current management. No opportunity to learn and apply new tech, and I am not alone in this assessment. This is an example of how they publish a policy about internal mobility but allow management to actively ruin your career. Nobody has your back. Compensation : Was lured in by a pension, but a few months later it was "frozen" i.e. canceled. They are stingy with stock as well, and the ESPP is not great, as you are forced to hold shares for over a year which means several are under water right now. They have a 10% 401K match but most the fidelity funds have lost money this year. There is no fund above a morningstar rating of 3. Their benefits are decent ( 4 weeks PTO ), and better than most any smaller company, but definitely not in the top tier. Work Life Balance : This can be one of the worst things about Visa. Working in Technology, the release process can be manual and antiquated. Many career Visa employees are resistant to modernizing such processes. Get ready to spend all weekend with little sleep doing a manual release. It's not fun, and you don't learn anything. Secondly, there is not good co-location and ownership with teams in some organizations including mine. If you are in the US, you may find yourself being asked to attend meetings at all hours of the day and night, during lunch etc.. Can't get away for a workout and there is little flexibility in schedule. Senior Management : Every year, they have an annual survey, and the feedback on important items like having the tools to do your job is low and blatantly ignored ( every year). Nothing meaningful is ever done, They think making a better expense reporting mechanism, or ticketing system is "good enough". The laptop you rely on to do your work is so bogged down by onerous security software and constant patching it's really tough to be efficient. If you're lucky your laptop will be rebooted several times a week and sometimes take hours to become available again. Otherwise, you'll end up taking it to IT for a long time. Also, the proxy server you are forced to use will block you from basic tools such as github and downloading simple eclipse plugins. Blocking some sites makes sense, but basic stuff is not attainable with any reliability. Culture and Values : This is the worst aspect of Visa. It is the least diverse workplace I've ever been a part of. It's a top down sort of arrangement where your manager suddenly tells you to do 5 different things out of the blue, because his/her manager told them to make you do this. Given that most employees are fearful they generally drop what they are doing to try and please the manager. At the end of the day you end up with your head spinning and there is little if any acknowledgement when you fight through the clutter and accomplish something meaningful. English is spoken less than other languages in the cubicles. I felt like an alien in my own country working here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone with respect. Throw away the powerpoint slides and canned demos. make a serious evaluation of what the Technology organization has delivered in the past 4 years.

    Visa Inc.2018-12-01
  4. Helpful (17)

    "Horrible culture where managers and directors promote favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can't think of any pros

    Cons

    Worst experience in my professional journey. People on the team are ill treated. Senior management operates from Foster city so they are not aware of how directors and managers are treating their subordinates. Managers never appreciate hard work. Forget having one on one with your manager. Directors favorite person is appointed the manager even though they are not fit to be managers. Good technical people are not... always good managers. Stay away from the Front end team in Austin.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a wider outlook. Nepotism and favoritism is not going to take you very far. Management in Foster city really need to talk to everyone on the team in Austin to understand what is happening on the team.

    Visa Inc.2018-07-26
  5. Helpful (28)

    "Terrific brand but toxic environment, Senior Director Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some really good people at Visa and the brand is very strong, so they are positioned to be the leader in a dynamically changing category. The product team is strong, growing, open minded & very dynamic. The new CEO seems really terrific.

    Cons

    The problem is most senior management is weak and people are more concerned about their own career than how the company is doing. So you end up having data buried or massaged to look positive. People do not want to hear truth, they want to show how successful their work is. The politics are worse than any company I have ever been in, where people are not invited to meetings based on title and not encouraged to... be open and honest. There are groups that are better than others, but if you are looking to have a meaningful impact and care more about the company than your own career, this may not be the right fit for you. The company does not reward good managers and leaders. And so when the annual reorg comes up, the people at senior levels that are causing this bad culture stay.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at senior management and get people in who care about doing the right thing for the future of the company/

    Visa Inc.2017-02-18
  6. Helpful (17)

    "No longer proud of VISA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A once great company to work at Great brand Good salaries Challenging payment system

    Cons

    Constant witch hunts and blame. Every increasing bureaucracy makes it difficult to do the simplest task Management is mostly concerned with pretty graphs. Raises are non-existent. Compensation shrinks every year except for senior management. To get an exceed rating, someone have to get an unsuccessful one. The job is becoming all about placating senior managements's latest flavor of the day. Low employee... morale.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your glass towers and exactly learn the business. All functions can't be managed the same way. Learn to avoid making everything a witch hunt, so you can have someone to blame, especially in IT. I use to be proud to work at Visa but senior management has ruined that.

    Visa Inc.2017-02-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not Great If You're Under 35 (if you're action oriented and seek to make an impact)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid compensation. Exposure to a large global business operation. Effective resume builder thanks to strong brand recognition. If you're looking to settle down and don't mind grinding out uninspired work day after day, this is a great place to be.

    Cons

    Very top down management. Executives pay lip service to having an open, collaborative and innovative culture, but don't actually want to hear or discuss new ideas. As a result they're about 5 years behind the curve, and, since being such is still profitable for them, there's zero incentive in change. Middle management is very territorial, and unwilling to collaborate with other groups unless it will directly and... immediately make them look good in front of senior management. As a result there's a lot of doublespeak, though some teams are significantly worse at this than others. Day to day, given how large and matrixed the organization is, there are dozens of stakeholders for every task, and no single owner/driver is able to contribute to any meaningful way.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's obvious that you're not going to change how you run the business - it's too profitable as it is, and there's nothing wrong with that. But stop lying by saying that you are changing or are seeking to change. Instead be true to yourselves. Right now the pig just looks ridiculous with that lipstick on it.

    Visa Inc.2017-02-15
  8. Helpful (24)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Foster City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to be company that valued people, experience, thought leadership and talent.

    Cons

    4 out of a team of about 10 come out crying after a 1:1. Such is the quality of management of the senior management. Two of them on extended leave due to nervous breakdown. Pay is way below market standard. Valued skills: stealing other's credit, brown-nosing, putting others down, lying and showing that something is happening, but nothing actually happens. Senior management rewards such skills by saying its tactful... and true leadership.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have managers' compensation and growth tied to reviews from bottom up. Not top down.

    Visa Inc.2017-02-17
  9. Helpful (47)

    "Visa Broke Me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Systems Engineer in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Visa Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Large household name with a good reputation. It is was got me my next job! Pay is good, Benefits were good until I decided to leave, and are being pulled away to be "inline with other organizations." Working with a diverse amount of technology was fun. Working with organizations and companies in other companies was fun a few years ago.

    Cons

    The Pension benefit was good, but taking a 6% paycut for a company who is still grossing $2 Billion last quarter is still a slap in the face to its core workers for a company that wants to be "The Employer of Choice!" Trying to get advancement is basically impossible. I was up for a promotion to a management position that I meet every qualification, had the acceptance of the team members and my would-be immediate... manager wanted me. Senior Management would not even allow me to have an interview to show my skills and the value I could bring to the environment. High-Profile, High-Cost projects were given to the kids straight out of college. This is not an environment where a "fail-fast" mentality works, and management misses that. These projects are big and a fail by Visa means we are not just effecting our company, we will effect the markets. Would you give your multi-million shiny new toy to the kid out of college? No! You would give it to be lead by some of your most senior, experienced people. This management feels it is fit to have the older staff look after the legacy environments and give the new toys to the college grads. No wonder the IT organization has/had not delivered any major projects in over a year when I left. Before this IT management came in, we were delivering 4-5 major projects a year. And Speaking of the new management, it is not good when you can hear of the entire IT management structure being replaced in the span of just 18 months. Go look up other studies of what that kind of turmoil does to a company. Absolutely incredible that the board of directories would see this as a major red flag for running a technology of this company and forcing out that many leaders. And then that takes a huge impact on your staff. When I started this company, I was ready to take on the world, and I did. I ran major projects worth $10's Millions. When I left, I was having a very hard time caring about anything because of this management. They are condescending, arrogant, and only want to have others from other companies that they have worked with before working with them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I am hoping that with the exit of Charlie, the new President will see the lack of deliverables by the IT organization and begin with removing his CIO. Too bad he is still going to get his obscene bonus for being fired. Look at the IT Management and the lack of completed work because of the bickering and the constant political game between managers who are trying to look important instead of focusing on delivering... results.

    Show More
    Visa Inc.2016-12-01
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Huge Lack of Communication between Departments, Senior Management lacks Soft Skills, Basic Self-Respect of Authority"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visa Inc.

    Pros

    Lots of talented individuals at Visa, many bright individuals to work with in respect to their primary fields of career. Innovation platform has never-ending possibilities of a product with a solid base on your career track.

    Cons

    Huge Lack of Communication between Departments, Salesforce Chatter is to be used as the last resort for getting things across the board from worker to Upper Management. Senior Management lacks Soft Skills, Basic Self-Respect of Authority, talking down direct reports or staff as well as alternating conversations with different sides for getting ones innocence off their own fault is not proper management skills... that is called disrespect, especially if you are in Mid Management or Vice President Role.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Soft Skills are acquired naturally as an individual which is hard to teach in the latter years. It must be implemented that people understand the basic concept of humility to other workers and corporate professionals. Please venture on Release Management and DevOPS for better communication between departments.

    Visa Inc.2016-12-20
Found 121 reviews