Visiting Nurse Association Omaha Reviews | Glassdoor

Visiting Nurse Association Omaha Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
James C. (Jamie) Summerfelt
4 Ratings
  1. "Public Health Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha full-time

    Pros

    Self Scheduling Management trusts you to do your job without micromanaging you Great team environment

    Cons

    Lower paying than other similar jobs around Only High Deductible Insurance Options

    Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2018-11-27
  2. "Small Agency Woes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help At Home Department Assistant in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Heart for the mission is present Patients needs are put first

    Cons

    Managers need more training on how to effectively lead Poor communication

    Advice to Management

    More training for directors and managers over leadership skills, organizational behavior management needed. Middle management, as with most non-profits, are typically good providers who know a lot, who are then promoted to lead without additional development in the area of how to best lead. Unfortunately, I experienced some petty/cattiness in my department. Recognized it early and worked to make a quick transition out....

    Show More
    Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2019-02-15
  3. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and loved population served.

    Cons

    Favoritism, inconsistency across the board, expense insurance, and lots of micro managing going on.

    Advice to Management

    Training for upper management is needed!

    Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2018-11-12
  4. "Registered nurse with rewarding jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is rewarding, you truly make a difference every day.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive, the benefits are among the worst I have ever heard of, FMLA is unpaid, you work out in good or bad weather without our any type of hazard pay, lots of wear and tear on your personal care. The cases you work with are indeed in need of your help but it’s hard to leave you work at the office.

    Advice to Management

    Concerning how much these amazing nurses give up to provide amazing care for their patients and rather than always asking for donations, give them a bonus, a raise, better insurance, hazard compensation for working in bad weather condition and the wear and tear on the cars. Without them you don’t have the VNA that everyone looks up to, take care of you employees, they could find another nursing job in one day in Omaha...

    Show More
    Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2018-09-01
  5. "homemaker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha part-time

      Pros

      The clients were the only positive thing about working for VNA

      Cons

      I would not get paid on time or the full amount. It was about every pay period I would have to call and ask about something they tried to cheat me out of.

      Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2017-05-25
    • "life A VNA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Clinical Manager in Valparaiso, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      allows self initiation, friendly team players

      Cons

      lack of managerial support,

      Advice to Management

      need to be kinder to employees

      Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2016-02-29
    • "staffing/scheduling coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Staffing/Scheduling Coordinator in Denver, CO
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha for more than 5 years

        Pros

        I Liked working with the nurses in the field.

        Cons

        management was always changing things and yelling at the workers

        Advice to Management

        talk nicely to your employees and listen to them.

        Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2015-12-28
      • "CNA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cape Girardeau, MO

        I have been working at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible schedule, pick your own hours

        Cons

        Sometime your not guarantee hours, low hourly pay

        Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2015-10-19
      • "no place like home"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Nurse in Omaha, NE
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        good culture, feels like community. sense of purpose with work to reach out and be the best at providing wide range of home care services often to those on the marginal end. management tries hard to provide reasonable compensation but struggle due to non profit status

        Cons

        no benefits for continuing education. work tends to eclipse rest of life. hard to make clean break from work it always follows you.

        Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2015-08-26
      • "Great employer ok money"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - CNA 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Visiting Nurse Association Omaha full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        You get great hours. Te company always and i mean always have hours. You make great bonds with your patients.

        Cons

        They are very unprepared with the work, many patients are very rude. Most patients live with multiple family members so you have very little working space to do what you need to do with your patient. They dont really give you a voice, whatever the patient say, gose.

        Advice to Management

        Advice to management is, treat your employees with respect, give them a voice. Because many times the patent could be lying.

        Visiting Nurse Association Omaha2015-09-02
      Found 24 reviews