Visiting Nurse Service of New York Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Visiting Nurse Service of New York President and CEO Dan Savitt
Dan Savitt
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and work life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "There is good work-life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance depends on department(in 19 reviews)

  • "If you are not comfortable working in a fast paced environment where change is a given, VNSNY may not be the right match(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Great Job

      Jan 27, 2021 - Contact Center Supervisor Nurse in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Innovation, opportunity for promotion, remote work, excellent PTO and Heath benefits

      Cons

      Constant change, albeit due to regulator mandates

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Visiting Nurse Service of New York Response

      Operations Specialist

      Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate your recognition of our efforts during the pandemic to keep the lines of communication open with our employees. As our rich history proves, VNSNY has never ceased in its pursuit to find solutions to challenges. One of our Core Values, Agility, speaks to how we use experience and creativity to move forward. We take great pride in our Values which are central to who we are, and which reflect our greatest asset – our people! Thanks again for your review.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Certify Home health Aide

      Apr 28, 2021 - Hha/Caregiver in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very professional and accommodating with all employee's

      Cons

      leaving on time from clients homes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work

      Feb 19, 2021 - Reconciliation Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of Room for advancement

      Cons

      Most members of management want to see you succeed and help you advance within the company. Unfortunately, towards the end of my employment I encountered a member of senior mgmt that was very unprofessional & it completely made me lose confidence in the company. I think that if you are going above and beyond for your employer, they should at least have the courtesy to understand when you are going through a tough time in your life. I still love VNS and I always will. They opened lots of doors for me and I thank them immensely. Especially, all those other directors and managers that helped me along the way.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good benefits

      Apr 26, 2021 - Licensed Practical Nurse in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is room to grow

      Cons

      The work load is heavy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Understaffed nurses

      May 7, 2021 - Registered Nurse in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours, pay, friendly coworkers

      Cons

      Nurses are understaffed, feels impossible to get all necessary work done in the day so end up working overtime often

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Management Role - Community Mental Health

      Mar 18, 2021 - Program Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, colleagues, benefits, generous PTO and opportunities for professional development. This company is taking diversity initiatives seriously to address inequality in the workplace.

      Cons

      Growth is limited after a middle management position is obtained.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unfair Management

      Apr 22, 2021 - Credeentialing Specialist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers were friendly, willing to help with training and getting you acclimated to the enviornment

      Cons

      The supervisor needed a management training course

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Home Health Aide

      Mar 31, 2021 - CHHA in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      amazing, approachable, client, employee good.

      Cons

      there are no cons reports

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good place to build a career

      Feb 27, 2021 - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission-based, wide range of programs and services, strategic leadership, great colleagues, good benefits,

      Cons

      Due to the size and complexity of the organization, necessary changes can sometimes take a while to implement.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Visiting Nurse Service of New York Response

      Operations Specialist

      We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with. Thank you for your thoughtful feedback. VNSNY has always focused on improving the well-being of people in the community and we recognize the equal importance of our employees' well-being and job satisfaction. Internal communication is key in any organization because it enhances the employee experience. However, we understand a proliferation of information can be overwhelming. We appreciation this honest feedback and will share your concerns. If you wish to contact us directly, we encourage you to reach out to us at HRManagers@vnsny.org. Thanks again for sharing your review.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Visiting Nurse Service

      Apr 21, 2021 - Mainframe Programmer Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance is good

      Cons

      Company on a whole seems to be going backwards

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 444 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Visiting Nurse Service of New York Job Seekers

    Registered Nurse
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Healthcare Encounter Data Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Quality Improvement Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Visiting Nurse Service of New York? Share Your Experiences

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York logo
    or