Visiting Nurse Service of New York Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Visiting Nurse Service of New York President and Chief Executive Officer Marki Flannery
Marki Flannery
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance depends on department(in 19 reviews)

  • "If you are not comfortable working in a fast paced environment where change is a given, VNSNY may not be the right match(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "A company that truly cares about its employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has amazing vacation policy (30 days), though only 8 holidays. But with 38 days, it is the best PTO policy of my entire career. They also allow for remote work. VNSNY tends to have flexible schedule, as long as you get the work done. The employee morale is really good and positive for the most part. You can see that employees feel appreciated. The company has multiple activities to make the employees feel taken care of. They offer a huge amount of free training for all levels of employment and it is quality training (unlike other companies I have been at). The company culture is great, with leadership constantly telling employees they are the company's biggest asset. Even just saying that is huge. They have a quarterly employee survey and employees can submit any type of feedback and it is reviewed and considered. Best place of my 20 year career.

    Cons

    location on the east side of manhattan is a bit of a hassle

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-10-19

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York Response

    November 1, 2019Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review including your acknowledgment of our generous PTO policy and the varied learning and development courses which are made available to all employees. It is true that VNSNY leadership takes every opportunity to extend their thanks, both individually and collectively, to employees for their work and for their valuable contributions. We are glad that you are happy to be working at VNSNY!

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Staff in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership is strong and have built a good team; improved communications are sharing the goals and strategies of the organization. Opportunities to learn new things and work across departments; strong effort to break down silos across the organization. Organization lives its mission. Colleagues that are like family; many are with the organization for 20+ years - this is inspiring . Proud to be part of the team that helps New Yorkers every day.

    Cons

    In the pressure of getting the job done, sometimes there is a short-term emphasis. Sometimes change can be difficult to lead when working with colleagues who are long-term employees.

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2020-01-28
  3. "👍🏾"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Management Care Coordinator in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    👍🏾 👍🏾 👍🏾 👍🏾 👍🏾

    Cons

    There always cons to any corporation that you go to. I'll just keep the info to myself.

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2020-05-01
  4. "Visiting Nurse RN"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay and good benefits

    Cons

    It is a demanding position

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2020-04-10
  5. "Great if you’re a clinician"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best pay out of all homecare agencies. Always looking for nurses Great experience

    Cons

    Heavy work load Non-clinical staff will hit a ceiling.

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2020-02-07
  6. "Great pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intake Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for as far as getting experience in the field

    Cons

    If you get hired perdiem you may not get enough hours to pay your bills and they wAnt yo be your main job but not giving you the hours.

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2020-01-26
  7. "Ridiculous PTO Policy and False Expectations about Work from Home"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fellow staff members are supportive and professional Great location Nice modern building and floor

    Cons

    Management tends to micromanage Lack of respect and support from management Ridiculous Paid Time off Policy: you must submit vacation six months in advance and then wait another month for approval. Other departments are flexible, but ask before accepting a position. Promise of work from home but is nonexistent

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2020-01-21
  8. "Vns"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York part-time

    Pros

    Good people, many people to ask for help

    Cons

    Not trained staff long enough

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-12-28
  9. "don't do it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, you stay active.

    Cons

    Micro Manage , must always man your desk/phone

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2020-01-30
  10. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Workload gets crazy sometimes

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-12-17
Found 387 reviews