Visiting Nurse Service of New York "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Visiting Nurse Service of New York Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Dec 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Visiting Nurse Service of New York President and Chief Executive Officer Marki Flannery
Marki Flannery
54 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance depends on department(in 19 reviews)

  • "If you are not comfortable working in a fast paced environment where change is a given, VNSNY may not be the right match(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Most amazing place to work at...but pay is minimal and raises are non existant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Psychiatric Social Worker 

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team, great leaders, flexible hours, making a difference in people's lives, great benefits

    Cons

    Salary is awful. I had to leave my job solely because I couldn't afford to keep working there.

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2017-03-01
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Workload gets crazy sometimes

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-12-17
  3. "Pretty good all around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grievance and Appeals Specialist 

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work, great benefits

    Cons

    work can be stressful, bonus

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-12-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Staff nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits ,Union,very professional field staff

    Cons

    No work and life balances,overloading with cases,management is deaf to any complaints.Used to be great place to work,not anymore.The pay is lower in comparison with other agencies,amount of work is much more...

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-04-09
  5. "It was a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Physical Therapist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. The PTO was great.

    Cons

    Even if you are working as much as you can, they will always make you increase your area. The PTs and OTs would be more productive if they would compensate the rehab staff like the nurses.

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2018-12-28
  6. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time

    Pros

    Awesome management Lovely clients Workload is feasible Great benefits

    Cons

    Salary could be a little higher

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2018-09-25
  7. "Quality Improvement Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, room for growth, many professional development classes offered

    Cons

    favoritism among senior management, brings morale down

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2018-05-18
  8. "Lots of potential if"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits Flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Not goal oriented work; very reactive and putting out fires Poor communication top down

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2017-09-28

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York Response

    October 27, 2017Operations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your work environment did not meet your expectations. VNSNY managers are expected to promote a culture in which staff input is welcomed, concerns can be raised without fear of retaliation, and communication is two-way, professional and safe. Additionally, managers should strive to cultivate an environment that promotes excellence, collaboration and teamwork. Our recent Employee Survey provided staff with the opportunity to share their concerns anonymously, and every department is now taking actions in response to that survey. Please know that 81% of staff rated their immediate managers favorably. Human Resources is dedicated to providing support of both management and staff in navigating daily workplace issues and fostering a positive working environment for all. We encourage you to contact us at HRManagers@vnsny.org to discuss your concerns so that we may further digest your feedback. Current employees also have access to the “Ask HR” feature on the VNSNY intranet to raise questions or concerns for review and response by staff in Human Resources. Goal-setting lies at the heart of VNSNY’s annual performance appraisal program and organizational goals are part of our annual performance discussions with employees. Our performance management program and annual talent review process serve as the primary vehicles for identifying candidates for promotional opportunities.

    Continue reading
  9. "RNs need to let their schedules relfect their workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, motivated and helpful employees.

    Cons

    Some RNs schedules do not reflect their workload thus making it harder to schedule cases.

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2017-02-16
  10. "Care coordination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Care Consultant in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible, work from home several times a week, great benefits time off and vacation

    Cons

    Micromanagement, uneven work distribution, mixed expectations at times

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2016-10-05
Found 29 reviews