Visiting Nurse Service of New York "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Visiting Nurse Service of New York Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Visiting Nurse Service of New York President and Chief Executive Officer Marki Flannery
Marki Flannery
54 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance depends on department(in 19 reviews)

  • "If you are not comfortable working in a fast paced environment where change is a given, VNSNY may not be the right match(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Summer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Internship in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Service of New York for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly and open-minded culture providing a great environment to learn and grow - Flexible schedule and great work-life balance - Beautiful office in their headquarters

    Cons

    - Wish I received more feedback on my work

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-11-07
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance

    Cons

    Workload gets crazy sometimes

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-12-17
  3. "Good work experience, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Services Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, work life balance depending on what department you work with

    Cons

    Bad management in some departments

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-10-31
  4. "satisfactory workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits package and work/life balance

    Cons

    Pay is relatively low, infrequent raises for minuscule amounts.

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-09-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great colleagues and interesting work for a good cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My colleagues are very smart, friendly and collaborative. The work is interesting. There is good work-life balance. I like that it is towards a good cause that I believe in. Management in my group are all friendly, smart and hard working. As an interview candidate, they got back to me quickly (within a day or 2) after each step of the interview process. VNSNY leadership is very involved and visible; I am impressed with and inspired by the President, Marki Flannery. The main building in midtown is very nice.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons related to the work or environment. Only note is that there is no paid maternity/paternity leave, you can use a combination of disability, NYS paid family leave, and PTO.

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-08-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant to Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work / Life Balance, Great Boss and CEO, Open door policy, Generous time off/Benefits

    Cons

    Salary needs to be higher

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-04-03
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Organization needs some saving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, benefits

    Cons

    Highly stressful environment, poor quality of services

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-02-28
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Used to be good. Outlook is terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, friendly coworkers (mostly), New office space (open floor plan and could be a con for some)

    Cons

    No training or documentation. It's a pure figure it out environment. Work life balance depends on department. It was a mess before and what is being done to change things aren't for the better. Unrealistic expectations by senior management. Very little room for growth unless someone quits, or gets fired, or you threaten to leave. Management doesn't listen.

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-01-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Was once a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The only pro is they have dedicated workers that did not abandon the company and working hard for a positive turnaround

    Cons

    took away every incentive that was given to employees they are no reason for anyone to join they employees are overworked no more work/life balance no annual raises and turn most employees to non except so no more bonuses and Management are not approving overtime

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-01-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Staff in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Visiting Nurse Service of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pto Fmla Coworkers are nice Minor tuition assistance Direct deposit

    Cons

    Can’t use pto No work life balance Expected to take on workload of 5 people Not enough staff Manager and supervisor constantly accuse staff of not being productive or not working Supervisor constantly telling people they can leave Company only appreciative of clinical staff Telework is dangled like a carrot No solidified workflows or processes in place because manager keeps changing them. No one you can ask questions because mgr and supervisor are never available and always start their day later than the rest of the staff. Everything is considered unplanned pto. There is stuff that looks like mold in the ceilings in some small areas and in general not sanitary. No growth opportunities. Turn around is low but people are constantly let go due to plan changes and limited budgets. Everyone is constantly be stressed and has lots of anxiety over unrealistic workloads. Medical and dental coverage is subpar and company contribution doesn’t cover a lot. Raises when they have them are only up to 2% depending on how your manager/supervisor reviews you which they also like to remind you constantly can be affected if you don’t put in enough time

    Continue reading
    Visiting Nurse Service of New York2019-01-17

    Visiting Nurse Service of New York Response

    February 5, 2019Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate that you have recognized and included “pros” in your comments. We proudly offer generous Paid Time Off which is important for a healthy work/life balance. Like any organization, requests for planned time off must be submitted in advance and approved by your manager. In the event that a request conflicts with the operational needs of the department, you should speak with your manager to identify alternative dates. To clarify, requests made on the day before or on the same day are considered “Unplanned PTO.” At times, everyone finds themselves with an unplanned day off due to an emergency situation or sudden illness or personal family needs. Although you characterized it as “minor,” VNSNY’s tuition reimbursement pays for up to 18 credits to a maximum of $12,000 per calendar year (for full-time employees after one year of continuous service). This is one of the most generous plans offered by health care organizations. We also disagree with your description of our medical and dental as “sub-par.” We are proud of our benefits program and find them comparable with other organizations. We offer eligible VNSNY employees a comprehensive benefits package, including health care coverage (medical, prescription drug, dental and vision), flexible spending accounts, life insurance, and retirement savings programs. Employee contributions to the medical and dental care packages are made via pre-tax payroll deductions, which reduces the actual cost for these benefits. These contributions are also comparable with other organizations. We are disappointed to hear about the issues you raised concerning your work environment. VNSNY managers are expected to promote a culture in which staff input is welcomed, concerns can be raised without fear of retaliation, and communication is two-way, professional and safe. Additionally, managers should strive to cultivate an environment that promotes excellence, collaboration and teamwork. We encourage you to contact us at HRManagers@vnsny.org to discuss your concerns directly and to provide us with the opportunity to address them with your department leadership. Please bring your concerns regarding unsanitary workplace issues to the attention of VNSNY’s Facilities staff. If you need their contact information, please call HRConnect at extension 2/7900. Thank you for sharing your concerns. VNSNY recognizes the importance of engaged employees who are vested in our mission and service to the community.

    Continue reading
Found 45 reviews