Vistaprint Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Vistaprint CEO Robert Keane
Robert Keane
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great perks and compensation with work life balance(in 59 reviews)

  • "Leaders allow team members to have authority and make decisions, very collaborative place, very smart people(in 34 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great team, benefits, they keep you very happy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vistaprint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    TONS of perks here. Free gym, free food and drinks, lots of events with free food, the building is clean, you get your own cube, there's a game room, my team was flexible with working from home, and if you needed time off then you took it. People trust each other to be responsible with it. There's a lot of free food, I wish I didn't take that for granted. There's also a cafeteria downstairs with delicious food and desserts like cake. Holidays also means free food and it's really good stuff too. Insurance is great. I miss it. The team worked well together, everyone has different strengths and are open to questions. I've never felt belittled for not knowing something. It's "family-like" without being culty if that makes sense, you just feel like a normal human being. You go to work, finish your work, get help or help others if needed, and then you go home. Management has never once contacted me outside of work hours to do more work or talk about work, there is no "on call" for the product design team. I felt that my work/balance was respected. Also if you were sick nobody wants you around which is great because then that prevents everyone else from getting sick and also having to take a sick day. Meetings happened but I didn't feel like I was constantly interrupted. At one point, meeting cadence did start to feel like they were becoming so frequent that it was hard to focus, but management had some more meetings and figured out a better process so we could be more efficient w/them. Creative director and managers act as advocates and communicates with other teams in the company in best interest of the product design team. Whenever I had an idea or wanted to work with another internal team on a project, all I had to do was talk to my manager and see if you/the team had bandwidth or resources. Usually there was and if there wasn't it was reasonable. My favorite thing about the work was the wide variety of branding and styles that I could work on. Having a bit of a short attention span, I liked that I could switch up artistic style pretty frequently (every 1-2 weeks) based on the brand or style I'm working on. The general attitude was: do a good job. Team values good work over a rushed sloppy job.

    Cons

    - I felt creatively stifled due to lack support for certain tools/licensing - Hard to advance after a certain point - Make sure you challenge yourself or you might get bored

    Vistaprint2020-01-29
  2. "Engineer"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Silver Spring, MD

    I have been working at Vistaprint full-time

    Pros

    Great Pay Great Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Lots Restructuring and Team Movement.

    Vistaprint2020-05-25
  3. "Good Company to work with"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vistaprint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and compensation with work life balance

    Cons

    Poor management and not a clear path

    Continue reading
    Vistaprint2020-04-25
  4. "Best company I've worked for yet"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vistaprint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at many companies/startups before and have rarely like working someplace as much as I like working here (and I'm pretty picky). I've spent a lot of time reading glassdoor reviews when moving companies, so hopefully this review gives an honest and positive insight to Vistaprint. Vistaprint is refocusing and reinventing itself, all the way from the culture, to the tech stack, the mentality of product management, and to just generally how the company is run. The CTO and his team are doing a fantastic job of bringing Vistaprint into modern times and turning it into what software company should be. - Great benefits and pay - Haven't met an engineer I can't collaborate with; all of them are highly talented and experienced - Flexible working hours/location - very family friendly - Everyone is focused on personal, career, and technological development

    Cons

    - The UX/UI area is still pretty lacking and needs more investment - The engineering leadership needs to invest more in Vistaprint's image in the engineering community because it doesn't reflect reality - The company is working to become more data-driven, but it still has some ways to go before the entire company adopts that mentality and really starts focusing on discovery and data-driven decisions - The advancement structure is pretty flat

    Continue reading
    Vistaprint2020-03-30
  5. "A great place to work with enthusiastic and talented people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead QA Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vistaprint full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work culture, good perks and benefits

    Cons

    Constant changes in organisation structure can be disrupting

    Vistaprint2020-03-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vistaprint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is competitive and hours are flexible.

    Cons

    The culture is completely toxic at this point anyone who is motivated enough or smart enough to leave has already done so. Very few people are confident in leadership.

    Continue reading
    Vistaprint2020-04-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "I regret working for this company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vistaprint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working schedule for certain teams/people and a nice free parking garage.

    Cons

    Where do I start? By far the most disconnected and unorganized company I have ever worked for. Expectations are unknown, not managed, and completely unrealistic in the end. Turnover within HR and Talent Acquisition is the highest I have ever seen from top to bottom and this leads to lack of morale and vision. There is no real direction, leadership, or learning going on. The company has fallen off over the last 10-15 years and there is a mass exodus in every department. Hiring is done based on a system that invites bias in every way and the clique culture is very real. D&I do not exist either.

    Continue reading
    Vistaprint2020-02-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Constant change"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vistaprint full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance, ability to work remotely

    Cons

    Upper management shifts and reorgs all the time, slow to get anything done due to internal processes and poor decision making

    Vistaprint2019-12-29
  9. "Fair, Team Oriented Company. CEO is awesome"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vistaprint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work at a reasonable pace, great people, decent work environment

    Cons

    Poor maintenance management, HR is hard to communicate with, no accountability, poor planning

    Continue reading
    Vistaprint2019-12-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "The only constant is change, and lots of it"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vistaprint full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great salary, benefits, work-life balance (and flexibility in schedule), and incredibly smart folks all over the organization, ability to move around within the company and take on different roles. Culture is more good than bad

    Cons

    Victim and classic tragedy story of Conway's Law: there is no defined process or communications structure, and as a result, the software architecture resembles a Rube-Goldberg machine. Lack of true mentorship or ability to grow your own skills - engineers can and will languish. MASSIVE organizational changes on average once per year, and many people are constantly in fear of the next major reorg. Hypocritical in the "core behaviors", where management has dictated "this is what we believe and how we act", yet falls short of giving people the confidence to say it themselves and mean it. No psychological safety, no one feels responsible or accountable for much of anything.

    Continue reading
    Vistaprint2019-12-13
Found 472 reviews