Visteon Reviews | Glassdoor

Visteon Reviews

Updated July 21, 2017
296 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Visteon President and CEO Sachin Lawande
Sachin Lawande
65 Ratings

296 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • good work life balance for SW teams (in 29 reviews)

  • Really nice work environment with really nice colleagues (in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • Tough to handle work life balance and depends on projects (in 9 reviews)

  • Bully CEO and other upper management follow his lead on treatment of employees (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "In Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - North American Leader of Program Development in Belleville, MI
    Current Employee - North American Leader of Program Development in Belleville, MI

    I have been working at Visteon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Aggressively pursuing Advanced technologies for autonomous vehicle sector

    Cons

    Too tight on budget and late to ADAS, AI and autonomous vehicle product development.


  2. Helpful (4)

    "There Are Other Choices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Architect in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Software Architect in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Visteon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hopefully nearing the end of the road and will be sold or scattered to the winds.

    Cons

    It's a terrible place to work. The management is fairly clueless, running around spending millions to develop technology that has been available for five years at the competitors. They are so clueless that they think it is new at Visteon. Work force is demoralized by the constant layoffs and offshoring of projects. Main products are commodity products available anywhere. The company exists because the car companies need multiple players to keep the price s low from their preferred suppliers. Miserable HR department staffed with mostly contractors.

    No possibilities for women and minorities in management. Go to the websites of any competitors such as Delphi, Harman, etc. to see the senior leadership teams or have a look at the other major companies like General Mills, P&G, etc. then look at Visteon's leadership team and ask yourself how it is possible that such a situation could exist there.

    Advice to Management

    If you really valued people, you'd show it by first actually hiring the legion of contractors in HR. Throw in the towel and find a buyer.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visteon full-time

    Pros

    Good Work Life balance

    Cons

    No developmental goals. No career path or planning. Always reactive never proactive environment and always cost cutting. Not much spend on R&D

    Visteon Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – VP, HR

    Thanks for the comments and I have made sure that we passed along your constructive cons to the right teams.


  4. Helpful (10)

    "Typical Company Response"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Belleville, MI
    Current Employee - Manager in Belleville, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Visteon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Employees genuinely want to do well
    Work Life
    Campus setting

    Cons

    New Incapable Inadequate Leadership
    Favoritism

    Advice to Management

    "Visteon response"? That just highlights and emphasizes your problem with not listening as many people state on here. This site is for employee perception for working at Visteon- there is no need to try to save face with arrogant canned HR responses- save that for your press releases. I think there was an employee survey that showed the problems but no resolution just more failed inadequate attempts. Glassdoor is a widely used site so you may want to actually address your problems and start with this new incapable leadership. Worst we have had but they sure do spend money well on themselves. Delayed raises for the masses but public SEC filings= bad employee perception. Correct the real problems before we lose.

    Visteon Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – VP, HR

    Thanks for the feedback. We are listening -- as evidenced by our interaction here -- and sometimes offer a perspective that others might value in response to statements. Not trying to save face or... More


  5. "Good working environment in auto industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Designer in Van Buren Township, MI
    Current Employee - Industrial Designer in Van Buren Township, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visteon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good management, friendly working space, the manager s always listen to employee's opinions and willing to hand responsibilities over to people who work for them.

    Cons

    Run a little bit slow path; engineers have more rights to make decisions; not being very much appreciated or respected as designer in this company, might because it is a tech company

    Visteon Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – VP, HR

    Thanks for the review and good insights into how we can be better. Agree with what you suggested and will pass it along.


  6. "Leader in HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Visteon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Prosperous, growing tech company in the hottest space going these days: the confluence of mobility and technology. Change rich environment as Visteon leaves behind it's past and becomes a pure play in auto tech. New leadership team, vibrant vision for the future.

    Cons

    It's a company in transition, and as you see from some of the ratings here, not everyone likes change. Moreover, some struggle with the discontinuity that comes with that. I'd also point out that many of the ratings here are from a Visteon that was a different company, prior to a lot of the divestitures that created the firm we have today.


  7. Helpful (16)

    "No Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belleville, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belleville, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Visteon full-time

    Pros

    -Decent pay and benefits
    -Coworkers are generally nice

    Cons

    -Everything has been outsourced to India except for a small contingent to act as scapegoats for when outsourced labor screws up
    -No opportunity for advancement
    -No investments in GLCC; equipment is ancient, half of it is broken

    Advice to Management

    Get a CEO that actually gives a damn about engineering and technology, not just cost-cutting and book-cooking.

    Visteon Response

    May 15, 2017 – VP, HR

    Thanks for taking the time to provide a review, and we will look into the comment about equipment. Some facts: Visteon hired over 2000 people in 2016, over 900 salaried personnel. We are a very... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Visteon Advanced Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design in Van Buren Township, MI
    Current Employee - Design in Van Buren Township, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visteon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Creative work for creative types, Great working staff, Flexible hours, Good benefits

    Cons

    Company is in a constantly restructuring, very little opportunity for advancement within certain departments

    Advice to Management

    Invest in employees and tool/skill trainning

    Visteon Response

    May 15, 2017 – VP, HR

    Thank you for the review. As context, may be helpful for others to know that Visteon is exiting a long period of change to become the pure play electronics provider that we are today. As we enter... More


  9. Helpful (12)

    "Regret"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Design Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Senior Software Design Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Even though it is in the middle of nowhere, the campus is very attractive. There is wildlife and that sort of thing. Decent pay. It's a small consolation.

    Cons

    I was recruited to work at Visteon with a lot of promises about advanced projects and new groundbreaking technology. I left a good job at a Fortune 50 company to take this job. I am very sorry I did that. What I discovered was a company with no virtually no budgets for anything advanced, a tiny staff, and a work force that is beaten down and terrified of management.

    Perhaps they honestly believe that what they are working on is groundbreaking, but other companies have invested hundreds of millions of dollars and have had legions of people working on similar projects for years. What they are doing at Visteon is mostly window dressing for Wall Street.

    All of the sales come from technologies acquired from a company they swallowed. Current leadership has had few successes.

    If you are considering working here, have a good look at their product portfolio and ask yourself if there is anything there that any number of competitors can do or that the OEMs can do simply by sourcing the components themselves. I wish I had done that. Now I am searching for a new job and I am discovering that the Visteon name tarnishes your reputation in the job market.

    They like to call themselves a "pure play electronics company". Translation: one product line that can easily be sourced to one of the better positioned competitors.

    And if you have any good ideas, forget it. The only ideas allowed at Visteon are the ideas that come from the CEO, who is unwilling to listen and surrounds himself by yes-men. And I do mean men. I have never seen a company that was so devoid of women in positions of authority. Again, I wish I had done my research before taking the job.

    But you can learn from my mistakes. Unless you are desperate or need a visa sponsor, this is not the place you want to be.

    Advice to Management

    A total rethink is needed.

    Visteon Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – VP, HR

    Appreciate your review. I would direct readers to the Investor Relations presentation on Visteon.com to see a clear articulation of our direction as a company, including our year over year track... More


  10. Helpful (13)

    "Good benefits, no direction with company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visteon full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Highly skilled and motivated employees, good benefits

    Cons

    No clear direction as to what company (if anything) will be. Constant downsizing.

    Advice to Management

    Find another job...

    Visteon Response

    May 15, 2017 – VP, HR

    Appreciate your review. I would direct readers to the Investor Relations presentation on Visteon.com to see a clear articulation of our direction as a company.


Showing 296 of 320 reviews
Reset Filters