Visual Mining Reviews | Glassdoor

Visual Mining Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
34%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Visual Mining  ( )  (no image)
( )
3 Ratings
  1. "Agile Company, Awesome Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Visual Mining full-time

    Pros

    Technology is 6 years ahead of the curve. Powerful sales model. Fun environment. Small company with very smart people. Tremendous career growth opportunity, especially sales. Music, gift card competitions, and good commissions.

    Cons

    Things have moved a little slow in the past. 50 mile commute one way. Need more support

    Visual Mining2012-09-28
  2. "Channel Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Visual Mining

    Pros

    I enjoyed my coworkers and learned a great deal from my immediate manager.

    Cons

    CEO can not be trusted.

    Visual Mining2016-02-25
  3. "start up company that was ahead of its time. great customers and founders were good. Subsequent management was not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Visual Mining full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    technology was first rate for its day. future product plans were great but ahead of their time. Interesting to see how the market has panned out over time to reflect what VM was doing early on

    Cons

    Investors had a negative impact on the running of the company

    Visual Mining2015-02-03
  4. "stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Visual Mining

    Pros

    My immediate boss was fantastic

    Cons

    the CEO should be in jail

    Visual Mining2015-02-05
  5. "Can't give less than one star, and that's too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Visual Mining full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers on the peer level

    Cons

    Ineptitude, hubris, even what could be described as psychosis among the executive team, save for one of them. Of course, the only exec that actually had the skills and experience to right this sorry ship was let go right in the midst of trying to push this square-wheeled beast up a mountain. Leaving this place was the best thing I ever did for my life.

    Continue reading
    Visual Mining2013-02-14
  6. "Growing company with a great product foundation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Visual Mining full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is a small company that is agile and making a ton of changes for the better good. They are hiring Sales reps, listening to development and support for product ideas and we have a great new team of leadership pushing to grow the company

    Cons

    I live in VA so I drive in to work through 270 so traffic can be a pain, but that's life in DMV.

    Visual Mining2012-09-28
  7. "Fine while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Visual Mining

    Pros

    Good relationship with some co-workers

    Cons

    Not the most professional environment

    Visual Mining2012-05-17
  8. "Run Away as fast as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Visual Mining

    Pros

    The company has some good, nice people that are passionate about what they do, work hard, and the offices are fairly nice, convenient to I-270. The kitchen is clean for the most part. Work schedules are flexible.

    Cons

    Management (CEO). Unconscious Incompetence. Do a search for Visual Mining on LinkedIn and you'll see close to 100 people (if not more) that have worked there. Serious turnover issues that the CEO has no clue as to why people leave or aren't successful in their role. They should have a revolving door installed. A sad situation that one should avoid if at all possible.

    Continue reading
    Visual Mining2012-04-26
  9. "Getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Visual Mining

    Pros

    New VP of Sales and Marketing Open to changing direction of company based upon potential new markets Flexible hours and some work from home frequently

    Cons

    Cubicles Need more employees because the workload is quite significant sometimes There are some growing pains with switching focus away from older products

    Continue reading
    Visual Mining2012-01-05
  10. "Disfunctional Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Visual Mining

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere Good location Showing up is optional, for some Little need for concern/worry about career development

    Cons

    Management is highly disfunctional - no visible self assessment / high level of hubris Endless stream of band-aids on obsolete products - staff level insufficient to for support Continuous revolving door of current and new employees that fail to understand the business domain

    Visual Mining2011-02-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews