Vitalant Reviews | Glassdoor

Vitalant Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Vitalant CEO David Green (no image)
David Green
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "You are giving back and saving lives while working here(in 5 reviews)

  • "You will work with healthy donors who want to give back as well(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management fails to advocate for their employees(in 5 reviews)

  • "If you work with the donors you will work at least a 40 hour work week(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Amazing entry level healthcare job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Donor Outreach Coordinator II in Mather, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vitalant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In house training Tuition reimbursement Open door policy Jeans day on Fridays

    Cons

    The team that I’m apart of is brand new so there wasn’t a lot of training first thing, it’s kind of like we’re all learning together and I like to have everything given to me at once.

    Advice to Management

    The more training we’re given, the better employees we all become and that will always be good for the company as well as the donors

    Vitalant2018-12-05
  2. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Vitalant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very nice people are here

    Cons

    There is a lot of work

    Vitalant2019-07-31
  3. "too much change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vitalant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The mission of saving lives and the donors.

    Cons

    Too much change, and it isn't well planned or executed.

    Advice to Management

    Get your act together with IT, and getting everyone on the same systems without making a big mess that impacts employees and donors. Listen to critical, constructive feedback. DO BETTER AT COMMUNICATING.

    Vitalant2019-09-16
  4. "I worked in here for a couple of years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Donor Care Specialist II in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vitalant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits (Health insurance, dental, and PTO) Management improved a bit

    Cons

    While management has improved a lot as of recently, there is still job to be done.

    Advice to Management

    I will say what most of my coworkers stated while working there and before they quit: "I don't know what it is with this company, but it breaks you." Amen to that

    Vitalant2019-08-25
  5. "Inside Vitalant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Donor Outreach Coordinator in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vitalant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many experienced Donor Outreach Coordinators. Mgmt treats staff very well. Positive attitude. Employees are very dedicated and motivated to bring in blood donations. This a non-profit with very good benefits and run professionally. Training is well done and they do not require previous call center experience. There is no age discrimination.

    Cons

    Starting pay is on the low side. It is primarily outbound and you spent 85% of your time leaving messages on voice mail.

    Advice to Management

    Your supervisors are dedicated and mostly enthusiastic, but they should receive more management training or coaching.

    Vitalant2019-08-19
  6. "Takeover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Greentree, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vitalant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay was good Coworkers good Office location convenient

    Cons

    Upper management doesnt care about the community They took over Central Blood Bank and made it worse Have no support from corporate

    Vitalant2019-08-31
  7. "We have a lot of fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Donor Care Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vitalant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Connecting with the community, knowing you're helping someone, having fun with coworkers, great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Long hours, spending a lot of time in hotels, hard to maintain a work/life balance, risk of burn out.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. We have good ideas to make this company better and increase productivity but half the time no one listens or they make us feel stupid. Also, bring back donor incentives like the century board and gallon pins. Donors really respond to those.

    Vitalant2019-08-10
  8. "Great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vitalant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission, saving lives and making a difference

    Cons

    Salary not competitive for location

    Vitalant2019-08-09
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vitalant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people who care about each other. Good pay for area.

    Cons

    Little upward mobility as Sr. Management has been around for years.

    Advice to Management

    Value current Staff more.

    Vitalant2019-07-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "One and done run as fast as u can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vitalant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None to mention that I can think if

    Cons

    Training, equipment, people keep complaining and no one takes action. But they can tell you who to blame.

    Vitalant2019-08-04
Found 79 reviews