KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Vitamin T

Is this your company?

Vitamin T

Add a Review

Vitamin T Employee Reviews about "commission structure"

Updated Dec 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 215 reviews

4.2
78%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Vitamin T CEO John Chuang
John Chuang
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is pretty good(in 26 reviews)

  • "Salaries are not too bad either, and having unlimited PTO is great(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Aquent attracts a lot of highly skilled talent(in 9 reviews)

  • "Commission Structure is terrible, so if you're in a market that isn't doing well, you won't make any good money(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Vitamin T and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "commission structure"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Innovative and Creative Staffing Agency

      Oct 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Full Benefits -Great Clients -Annual tuition and conference reimbursement -Solid and comprehendible initial week-long training -All Apple/Mac everything, and every employee gets an apple laptop -Friendly Culture and less turnover than most other staffing agencies -Smart and approachable upper management -Genuinely understands the importance of the creative/digital space and succeeds in keeping up with current industry trends -Company beach houses in FL and HI available to employees -Good work/life balance -Unlimited PTO -Always opportunities for leadership and training -Entrepreneurial almost start-up mentality means things change more often than they might at other agencies - if you see this as a con, than it may not be the right place for you!

      Cons

      -The base salary is higher than average, but the commission structure is lower and it can be difficult to make the substantial amount you might working for a competitor

      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Joke of a commission structure, but great work/life balance

      Dec 29, 2020 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - You’re supplied with a MacBook - Work/life balance is pretty good - Unlimited PTO - Colleagues who are collaborative - 401k matching - Great for recruiters just starting

      Cons

      - Commission structure is a joke. You get quarterly bonuses that don’t amount to much even if you’re a top performer - Power hungry young managers who play favorites and make it apparent for who gets which orders/best clients - Extremely high metrics focused on FTEs vs. GP, which at the end of the day doesn’t make sense in terms of overall profit - Unlimited PTO is abused by many and the team favorites usually are able to take more than anyone else without getting shamed - Pre-COVID work from home was rarely allowed, but again favorites were granted days they could work from home, but no one else on the same team (despite good/high performance) - No formal exit interview (how?!)

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. What people are saying about Vitamin T

      Join the conversation on

      Advertising

      1y

      a 

      Creative Director

      Which staffing agency is better? City - Los Angeles, Industry - Media/Entertainment/marketing, Role - Designer Creative Circle 24seven Onward Search Vitamin T (Not looking for a job. Looking for temp support on a few projects.)

      28

      10 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun Place to Work - Opportunity if You Ask

      Aug 19, 2014 - Recruiter/Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Freedom and flexibility: I feel like I get treated like an adult, and my adult brain is given the ability to make decisions about what I can or can't handle. It takes all of the drama out of asking for vacation time or booking appointments or having sick kids. You're trusted to know what your business can handle and given the freedom to execute that plan. -Very few micromanagers: I think every office, region, and manager in the company does things a little bit differently. I've worked in three different regions/departments and I've not encountered a micro manager. I'm given the space to do my job. And when I raise my hand for help, it's given with enthusiasm. -Benefits: Healthcare, vision, dental, 401k+matching. I feel super taken care of. -Easy access to c-level leadership: Several times I have reached out to Susie Hall, the President, and she has come directly to my aid. She also makes a point to interview everyone before they join the company and travels regularly to different markets.

      Cons

      -The ramp-up period is longer than you're led to believe, which can make you insecure early on. -The organization at large is pretty flat. However, those who want to carve out a role for themselves CAN, it's just not a clear track and it won't be handed to you without asking typically. -Things change daily. If you don't like the "rough and ready prototyping" model of rolling out new ideas, you could easily get frustrated. -The commission structure isn't great - but the salaries are fixed and pretty fair, so at least there is less risk than a high commission environment. depends on your preference

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place To Work, But Not Forever - Business Development Manager

      Mar 23, 2017 - Director of Business Development 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited PTO - AMAZING! Flexible work/life balance - they are extremely understanding of emergencies and illness. I love how my manager didn't make me feel guilty for needing to take time off. And I worked from home one day per week! Hawaii Beach House Relaxed dress code - I wore leggings and sneakers to work every day except when I had client meetings. Decent benefits Tuition Reimbursement of up to $8K per year

      Cons

      Vitamin T is EXTREMELY metrics and numbers driven... as expected because it's a staffing agency, right? WRONG! Vitamin T tracks how many connects you make with contacts you call and how many orders you bring in per week. Most staffing companies care about your activity numbers. Though both of these are important metrics to track, realistically, the expectations are stupid. I don't have control over who answers the phone when I call... I can only control how many people I reach out to. I can call the same person 5 times and never get an answer, but I don't get credit for that because that's not what they're holding me accountable for. Again... STUPID. I get the cause and effect of it where one breeds the results of the other, but you should hold people accountable for metrics they actually can control. I also think it's stupid to track FTEs and not gross profit. Why are you so focused on how many hours and people are out working instead of being more worried about how much money they're bringing the company? Again... stupid. I got put on a performance plan for FOUR WEEKS because I wasn't hitting 50 connects and putting in 5 orders per week. Not only was the performance plan STUPID, but FOUR WEEKS? That's it? They should've just fired me then because it's not possible for any sales person in this organization to be able to hit certain metrics in such a short amount of time with no leadership or direction. To ask your manager to help introduce you to contacts and old connections they have in their network and to be told that there isn't any in a metro city is just absurd. What was my activity you ask? Well... EXTREMELY high since the expectations were extremely unrealistic. Yet, was I ever praised for making 500 calls in a week? Nope. Just condemned for NOT bringing in 5 orders and connecting with 50 people. Talk about undervalued. It's a revolving door around here for employees because of management expectations. I've never been in a company that held you accountable for metrics they weren't trying to help you reach. And let's not forget some other cons: Commission Structure is terrible, so if you're in a market that isn't doing well, you won't make any good money. Clique-y. It's all about friendships and relationships. Management will look out for you if you're their friend, but if you have no working or personal relationship with the manager, you can forget about them trying to help you. Privileges and incentives are given to friends of managers, not everyone else, so you can bet that you'll be promoted if you and the manager go out every Friday over the person who is actually the TOP performer on the team. Management will make up lies about you in WRITING and send them to HR. Managers who are in management shouldn't be. A lot of them use their own biased in the job that not only leads to neglect of employees, but a lack of investment in their growth. Company is more focused on the quantity of EVERYTHING than the quality. You will have meetings everyday talking about the same things. Your manager will ask what orders are coming in for that DAY, and you better have an answer ready. And if you don't have any to mention, he/she won't provide any suggestions or interject themselves in the process to help you hit your goals. Tenure is more important than ability, skills and production. If you're new and not producing, you'll be fired before the person who's been there for 5 years and hasn't produced. And they'll put the worst possible people in management and senior positions to train and then ask questions as to why the market isn't performing. Well... your management choice has a lot to do with that, Vitamin T. Most of the managers and senior level folks in the company input things in the system for the sake of having a number calculated, but won't ACTUALLY have done the work. I have friends who still work for Vitamin T who have so many complaints about the managers and the expectations. My advice... if you're in sales and looking to be successful, Vitamin T isn't the place. Trust me.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      Vitamin T Response

      President

      Very disappointed to read this. This is Susie Hall, president of Vitamin T (likely you expected my response since you worked here!), and I genuinely wish you had reached out directly before you left. First of all, thank you for acknowledging the perks of working here - my favorite perk is the the people we get to work with here (another reason for my disappointment at your experience). I also know you've heard me say this before, but the more we reach out, the more opportunity we identify, which is why contacting customers is so important. That said, I hope you also heard me say it is NOT about hitting a number. We are here to HELP PEOPLE, and the more people we connect with, the more opportunities we have to do just that. And that is why, yes, we use metrics (as most companies do). I'm sure you realize this, but GP is remarkably important, so that we can continue to invest in our company and help even more people connect - and FTEs are one way to achieve that. Again, surely nothing you didn't hear while you were here. Regardless, I'm sorry your experience here was not ideal for you, and I am more than happy to talk to you (or any of your friends who have concerns) if you'd like at shall@vitamintalent.com or 323 475 7374.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Apr 28, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -great work environment -no micromanagement -flexible on hours/vaca/remote work

      Cons

      Commission structure is not as lucrative as described

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Vitamin T Response

      President

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Vitamin T! I know it's late to ask, but I'd appreciate any insights or suggestions you might have on what we can do better for new hire training, and what about our commission structure didn't work out for you. If you don't mind sharing, please reach out to me directly at 323 475 7374 or shall@vitamintalent.com.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Vitamin T lets you create your own opportunities.

      May 2, 2012 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Work/life balance 2. Ability to create and move into new roles 3. They truly want you to succeed and give you the tools to do so 4. There is always something fun happening. 5. Admit when they've made a mistake with changes

      Cons

      1. The salaries aren't low, but they could use a better raise system/scale 2. Commission structure is low in comparison to other staffing companies

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company to work for.

      Oct 14, 2014 - Account Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They aren't a quick hire and fire company. They offer a lot of training and provide you with all the tools to succeed. Always trying to adapt to change...

      Cons

      commission structure is poor and too many meetings.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vitamin T Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vitamin T? Share Your Experiences

    or