KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Vitamin World

Is this your company?

Vitamin World

Add a Review

Vitamin World Employee Reviews about "great discount"

Updated Sep 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 312 reviews

3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Vitamin World CEO Frank Conley (no image)
Frank Conley
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, great employee discount, overall good work environment(in 45 reviews)

  • "Great discount and Commission rates(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Horrible upper management and insulting pay(in 29 reviews)

  • "Low pay, no opportunity for college grads(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Vitamin World and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great discount"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Store Manager

      Jul 26, 2017 - Store Manager in Humble, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount, you learn a lot about supplements & vitamins, helping customers to reach their fitness & health goals, commission

      Cons

      The pay is not that much

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Vitamin World

      Sep 14, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount Flexible schedule Learned about many helpful supplements

      Cons

      Mirco-management Lousy pay Unrealistic sales goals rude district manager

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      0 room for growth and advancement. Poor hourly wage.

      Jul 28, 2014 - Sales Associate in Honolulu, HI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great discount on company products. I find this really good and only pro.

      Cons

      I have been working there 4 years and only a .15 raise which is extremely sad. Area manager and district manager kept saying company freeze which I find is a excuse. Another comaplaint is the way area manager pressures employees to have a $40 + average sale which is out of reach making employees to push products on people. Not all people walking the door will spend $40 or anything at all. Also the company has very poor advertisement. Most people that walk in think there are in GNC or Vitamin Shoppe. Before I left the company I asked for a raise being there X amount of years. Area manger and district manager declined it right always claim my sales wasn't good enough which I find was a poor excuse because our store is on a small strip mall. Soon after that I found this very unprofessional every wk after that they cut one day on my schedule and ended up on the schedule working only 1 day 3hrs. Company's sad way of forcing me out. Area manager and district manager won't admit to it. Very sad how they treat long time employees. Got written up 2-3x on ridiculous reasons from making new rules like not in my shrit. I've been working there 4years didn't in my shirt and 4years later you write me up for that I find that suspicious and low. I say apply for another company don't waste your time here.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Was once great

      Feb 20, 2020 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay,great discount . flexible schedule

      Cons

      They seem to have forgotten that it is the store employees that make the business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay away at all costs

      Apr 19, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount on merchandise and holiday pay for full time employees.

      Cons

      They flat out lie to you in the interview process about realistic compensation. They'll claim an extra 5 or 6 dollars per hour based on potential commission based income, more like 2 dollars extra per hour. The upper management is clueless as none of them have worked in a retail store environment. They threaten your job if their unrealistic sales goals are not met. Work there, expect to get talked down to in the most demeaning fashion possible. Zero organization from District Managers and Regional Managers. They operate their management off the fear management system and refuse to deal with employees as adults. This company is losing customers left and right and will not lower goals or make the actual intelligent business decision to invest money in advertising.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Assistant Manager/Store Manager

      Apr 29, 2016 - Store Manager First Assistant Manager in Hyattsville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee discount great. Learning supplements and their uses. Helping people naturally get healthy. Good and inexpensive insurance benefits. Used to be Blue Cross. 401k Plan and Stock plan. Good quality products.

      Cons

      Low pay. Commission payout reduced. Inflated sales goals. No bonuses especially in high volume locations. Job security constantly threatened by unrealistic goals. Heavy work load for management with no real incentive.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Retail Sales Associate

      Oct 31, 2018 - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great sales training Fun atmosphere Plenty of downtime depending on location Great discount and Commission rates

      Cons

      No marketing for your store Outdated products "Knowledgeable customers" uncomfortable sales setting at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Assistant manager

      Jan 19, 2017 - Assistant Manager in Victorville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount Continual education of products and ways to be active and healthy Support in a healthy lifestyle

      Cons

      I worked in a mall so that sucked Their holiday pay was weird, you had to work 3 consecutive days with the holiday in the middle to get paid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Former Manager Company is dying

      Feb 21, 2015 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount on supplements. My district manager was awesome to work with but I hear most are not. Benefits were very good.

      Cons

      The people in the home office have no idea how to run a supplement company. They want to send coupon after coupon to customers almost giving stuff away and then want to know why the huge sales goals are not being meant! This company won't be around much longer unless things change fast!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      All Store Positions

      Jul 30, 2015 - Store Manager in Maryland Heights, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Discount and the company genuinely cares for its employees and customers.

      Cons

      The St. Louis market has taken a hit and the employee compensation program clearly indicates this issue.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vitamin World Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vitamin World? Share Your Experiences

    or