Vivial Reviews | Glassdoor

Vivial Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Vivial CEO Jim Continenza
Jim Continenza
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "We are beginning to define ourselves as a premier digital marketing company with innovative products(in 7 reviews)

  • "Flexible Work Environment, Sales Executives are personable, Casual Dress Code(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most editors were decent but there were a few who made ridiculous rewrite requests or were just plain nasty and condescending in their commentary(in 13 reviews)

  • "The guidelines they give you say one thing, then editors ding your articles because they want things written the opposite way(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - As Tech Consultant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive working environment with motivating managers that helps team building! A company that offers ongoing education and wants to see you succeed in every way, thank you for the marketing knowledge and the skills to be great at my career!

    Cons

    If your lazy this is not the job for you and you won’t last! career driven individuals will go very far in this this company

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the on going support and encouragement!

    Vivial2019-07-19
  2. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales & Service in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivial full-time

    Pros

    Free parking, mostly nice coworkers, AC, medical/dental

    Cons

    LACK OF LEADERSHIP from sales, too much work for lower tiered reps and service side for crap pay, 100% favoritism to the ones who suck up and 0% loyalty to the ones actually working. There were so many HR violations in the office — it was comical. It’s the same old story... the ones at the bottom are the ones working the hardest who get the least recognition. They say to do things by the book, but they don’t follow their...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay the hardest working better, fix the commission rate, show some respect to the people who have worked hard and get some products that people can truly rely on. Also, stop hiring people just to hire. Pick people who are actually qualified to do the job. Lastly, hold people accountable!

    Vivial2019-07-10
  3. "Favoritism will never work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ad Tech Consultant in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vivial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uncapped commission. Free parking and free coffee

    Cons

    Micromanagement. Lack of leadership. No sense of guidance.

    Advice to Management

    If you’re going to “supervise” the reps, at least do a good job and actually help us grow as sales people. Don’t take our hard earned leads for your own and then take full credit for them. The selling supervisors only worked for themselves, having a lower quota than everyone else made it easy for them to make their number and make more money. When we would find good leads and try to close it by ourselves, we would get...

    Show More
    Vivial2019-07-02
  4. "Not the greatest."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The product that is being sold and pitched works, and it can change a business owners life, which is a very rewarding experience. - You meet some amazing people while working there. -

    Cons

    Learn what you can and get out. This company will teach your how to be a professional, but that is about all. While there, the job description changed several times and we were asked to make a diamond out of mud. What I mean is that the leads given to us were the leads that the upstairs sales team discarded of, and we were still graded on our ability to convert these customers into sales.

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic with what you are asking of people. Some people are not good on the phone with sales and it is unfair to give people one week of training and expect sales out of them within the month.

    Vivial2019-06-06

    Vivial Response

    June 7, 2019Director, HR & Recruiting

    Vivial is a sales and service organization. Our goal is to create marketing plans that help local businesses reach their objectives. If you are part of the sales organization, the job description is quite clear: make your monthly objective while helping local business owners. ...

    Show More
  5. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DMR 

    I have been working at Vivial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uncapped commission. Great training. Great managers

    Cons

    Quotas can be stressful. Very competitive

    Vivial2019-05-20

    Vivial Response

    June 7, 2019Director, HR & Recruiting

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a fair and honest review. Quotas can indeed be stressful, but we hope the uncapped commission makes it worth your while! Keep up the passion for your position!

  6. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Saint Peters, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed colleagues, nice office enviornment.

    Cons

    KPIs were ridiculous, call center mentality.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Vivial2019-05-30

    Vivial Response

    June 7, 2019Director, HR & Recruiting

    Quotas can indeed be stressful, but the uncapped commission structure makes up for it!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Do you hate your job? - YES!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ad Tech Consultant in Maryland Heights, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vivial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Popcorn, coffee, smoke breaks, and the ability to use the restroom between making 60 to 100 calls a day.

    Cons

    Compensation is terrible base is around 24k!!! , you are selling phone book ads from 1980s, the digital products are terrible with high turnover, management keeps getting demoted, you get back all of your delinquent accounts plus former employees bad debt and they expect you to still hit your goals. They company is preparing to be sold and they are inflating their sales numbers to look more attractive on the open market....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees better and stop playing games with compensation and giving top reps delinquent accounts. Learn to listen to employees or you won't have anyone left. Stop lying to customers that the phone book isn't dead.

    Vivial2019-06-05
  8. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Generation Specialist in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vivial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company that has a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    They can play favorites with employees

    Vivial2019-04-03

    Vivial Response

    June 7, 2019Director, HR & Recruiting

    Great opportunities at Vivial for those that make their objectives!

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Front line managers are gossip queens and don't have their employees backs. Have to walk on eggshells all day long."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vivial

    Pros

    No micromanagement, Commission is good.

    Cons

    Salary sucks, managers don't care and don't help. Gotta look out for yourself, people will lie about you, HR does not care or want to help employees.

    Advice to Management

    Read some leadership books and actually use the lessons taught in them. Support your teams and be available to help. Lead from the front and not from behind a closed office door.

    Vivial2019-05-03

    Vivial Response

    June 7, 2019Director, HR & Recruiting

    Vivial has an open door policy. While it appears you have left the company, we would encourage any employee to discuss their concerns with HR or company leadership. We absolutely care about our employees and have their best interest at heart.

  10. "Sales Development Representative - Good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivial part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company Culture Commission Benefits Office Environment Upper Level Management

    Cons

    Slow training process Career progression Compensation

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Vivial2019-03-12

    Vivial Response

    June 7, 2019Director, HR & Recruiting

    Thanks for the great review!

Found 125 reviews