Vivint Smart Home Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Vivint Smart Home CEO Todd Pedersen
Todd Pedersen
1,125 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch for every 8 hours you work (in meal ticket "currency")(in 152 reviews)

  • "Crazy good pay for little to no education(in 77 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work is door to door sales so requires some conviction(in 78 reviews)

  • "100% commission long hours knocking doors(in 64 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Vivint Smart Home and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Vivint

      Dec 23, 2020 - Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They care about their employees, especially their sales reps. They always give priority to the people on the frontline.

      Cons

      It is commission based, so you could go day's, week's, month's without a paycheck.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great if you are in office

      May 11, 2021 - Monitoring Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great if you are in office. Nice people, clean environment, on-site gym and health clinic.

      Cons

      It’s stressful to work from home. Their programs don’t work often and no one has fixed the problems. If the programs worked it would have been a good job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent company to work for

      May 12, 2021 - Smart Home Professional (Technician) in Little Rock, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There was no office, so technically, the job was work from home, but you'd be on the road and at other people's houses all day. I enjoyed having 4 day work weeks and getting 3 days off. Typical work day was 40 hours. If the company had a lack of work, you were still guarantee pay for 35 hours. You had a good support system - if you ran into issues, your direct teammates were always good at helping out. You could always call the company HQ and speak to the various departments you needed help from.

      Cons

      Metrics. Metrics were everything, and a lot of times, your metrics were hit for something that was not your fault. For instance, I once did a system upgrade in a customers house. A day or two after I left, something went wrong with her home phone line. For some reason, she decided to call our company instead of her phone company, and the customer rep her took her phone created a ticket. Once a ticket is created, it is considered a return trip even if no tech actually goes to the house. The ticket after being reviewed was cancelled because Vivint is an alarm company, not a phone company, so even if we went out there, we wouldn't have been able to do anything. And FYI, our system has nothing to do with phone lines, so I hadn't even touched her phone line - didn't even know where it was or that she even had one. It's comparable to a cable company coming over and hooking up your TV and the next day your fridge stops working, but yet the customer blames the cable company. Makes no sense. Upwards mobility - very hard to change positions within the company. I had previous experience in other fields from previous jobs, applied to other positions within the company that my skills matched perfectly, but never heard anything. As a field tech, you're really only going to be able to become a Field Service Manager, but those positions are rare to come by. Rules always changing - policies and rules are constantly changing and I felt my field service manager was always micro managing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome

      May 13, 2021 - Field Service Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So many Possibilities within the company

      Cons

      None than I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not everyone has the same experience, but they took really good care of me.

      Mar 16, 2021 - Operations Manager in Logan, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Put a year's worth of work into 6 months, make more money than you otherwise would've made in a year. After some lucrative summers, I could afford to take a month or two off work entirely. The freedom of knowing you have things covered to that level is an incredible feeling, much recommend.

      Cons

      It's all fun and games until you put all your eggs in this basket and then kids come along and it becomes untenable unless you want to spend weeks and months away from your family at a time. I still miss it and sometimes fantasize about the stars lining up allowing to have my cake and eat it too and work again with Vivint. No one ever treated me better.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company!!

      May 11, 2021 - Technician in Lubbock, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome place to work for

      Cons

      There is nothing bad about this company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good and always challenging

      Mar 12, 2021 - Smart Home Pro 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -great opportunity to make extra income from sales like insurance, referrals, solar, internet, and upsell - 4 day work week - guarantee minimum hours - standard benefits including 401K match up to certain percentage - good leadership - great safety culture - reasonable pay. - When jobs are created correctly you have a great day where you can focus on your part which is selling and installing

      Cons

      - some jobs require crawl space work - if you are not into sales probably not a good fit, however, there is limited sales training. - extreme pressure to work quickly while still being safe. I have over 8 years experience and I am not able to complete new customer install within the allowed time...not if the job is done professionally and properly - you are encouraged to give feedback but it seems like feedback is something used to allow people to get things off their chest. Feedback is not taken seriously and not credit or appreciation for feedback - - days can go long - support teams sometimes seems inexperienced - after more than 8 years of work we still have the same lingering issues.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Alarm monitor

      May 10, 2021 - Alarm Monitoring Operator in Eagan, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many Opportunity for bonuses, values of the company

      Cons

      Base Pay could be higher

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for.

      Apr 16, 2021 - Smart Home Professional in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great base hourly pay compared to competitors and decent commission if you're a great salesman and field tech.

      Cons

      You'll have to network and get some hands-on training with some top-performing veterans in the company in order to understand how to be an efficient salesman and tech. It's worth it. Don't disregard official training - great for fundamentals, whys, hows, and makes hands-on training feel more comfortable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Door to door no more

      May 3, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Vivint has the best tech and services.

      Cons

      Customer Service was lacking big time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,881 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vivint Smart Home Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vivint Smart Home? Share Your Experiences

    or