Vivint Solar Reviews | Glassdoor

Vivint Solar Reviews

Updated November 21, 2017
401 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
David Bywater
124 Ratings

401 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Vivint Solar has a very unique atmosphere (in 39 reviews)

  • Great benefits, including a decent free lunch at corporate (in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • Walking around in the heat door to door (in 14 reviews)

  • Upper management is suited to run a software company 20 years ago (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "A Very Solid Contender with a Bright Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT/Tech Department in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - IT/Tech Department in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I've been pleasantly surprised working here. The culture I've experience is really good and improving. Here are some other Pros
    -Sweet Building
    - Smart and nice people to work with
    -Plenty of opportunity to grow
    -Big supports of internal transfers
    -Very interesting and huge industry
    -Constantly trying to improve product and culture
    -Benefits are pretty standard (3 High deducible/HSA Plans w/ employer contribution)
    -Free Lunch
    -Free Soda Fountain and Free Style drinks
    -Pretty sweet employee program discount site that is nation wide. Corporate discounts on Travel, restaurants, etc.
    -Smart and Driven Executives who have already proven success

    Cons

    -No HSA match
    -If you're used co-pay insurance or employer paying all of insurance premium, don't count on that here. How the employee monthly premium is pretty reasonable.
    -Some politics left over from being part of Vivint Smarthome, but I see that is going way due to fast growth
    -No RSU option for "regular employees."
    -No Employee Stock Purchase program.

    Advice to Management

    I know expenses are high right now due to being a newer company in an interesting industry. However, please keep focusing on employees and helping them. Help employees = good quality work.

    Vivint Solar Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Recruitment Sourcing Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback about your experience at Vivint Solar. As you have listed there are a lot of great reasons to join us here. We also wanted to make you aware that... More


  2. "Outstanding IT department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Professional, smart, talented easy to work with staff in the IT department. Working with new and challenging technology. Responsive management.

    Cons

    Cramped workspaces, inconsistent temperature control in the workspaces. Too cold!

    Vivint Solar Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Recruitment Sourcing Manager

    We agree that we have some of the best talent the Silicon Slopes has to offer. If you have anything else that you would like to share with us, email us directly at feedback@vivintsolar.com!

  3. "Young company finding its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time

    Pros

    Reasonable work/life balance. Some nice office perks (free meals, on-site gym, basketball court, etc.). Co-workers are generally friendly.

    Cons

    Company culture is definitely sales-centric, sometimes to such an extreme extent it becomes a negative. Vivint Solar is a young company that is experiencing the pains of rapid growth.


  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Processing Representative in Lehi, UT
    Current Employee - Processing Representative in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free breakfast OR lunch everyday. Free coffee bar and soda/water.

    Cons

    Starting wage is on the low side.

    Advice to Management

    Employees who feel appreciated tend to work harder.

    Vivint Solar Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Recruitment Sourcing Manager

    We agree that we provide some of the best perks for our employees here at Vivint Solar. If you have any other suggestions for us, we would love to hear it! Email us at feedback@vivintsolar.com.


  5. "Good job, Struggling management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CAD Technician in Lehi, UT
    Former Employee - CAD Technician in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - I landed on a good team in the CAD department, and enjoyed my time. I always had good supervisors, which really made a difference. The upper management has no idea what they are doing, so having a good team lead / supervisor makes all the difference.
    - "Free" lunch every day
    -

    Cons

    - They became strict on hours. Have to clock in within 5 minutes or it'll alert your manager.
    - You have blinders. You don't see much of the company
    - Bad management. No one knows what they are doing. Upper management hires their friends

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who actually know what they are doing, and listen to feedback from solid performers. Don't hire your friends.


  6. "PV team lead designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time

    Pros

    The hours are flexible, and the people are very friendly. I have really enjoyed working here.

    Cons

    They change The way they do things a lot

    Advice to Management

    you're doing great

    Vivint Solar Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Recruitment Sourcing Manager

    We are happy to hear that you are having a great experience here! If there is more that you would like to share with us, please email us directly at feedback@vivintsolar.com.


  7. "Good Company, Bad Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesman
    Former Employee - Salesman
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Vivint is a big company which adds some credibility to your sale. Good choices for the homeowner with a PPA or Loan.

    Cons

    Takes too long to move up. The training was lacking and creates high turnover. The DM's are greedy because they are pushed and encouraged to have very high sales numbers. This breeds greed and self interest instead of looking out for the success of your entire team.

    Advice to Management

    Put more importance & priority on your sales Team not just on the managers. Make your managers compete against each other in contests instead of against everyone, they are the best and also have advantages for sales that no one else has, so we will always lose.

  8. "Electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time

    Pros

    People, good pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Slow days. Lack of work. Office manager only cared about his numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Replace office manager

    Vivint Solar Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Recruitment Sourcing Manager

    We are sad to hear that your experience here did not reach your expectations. We encourage you to reach out to us and let us know how we can do better, our email address is feedback@vivintsolar.com.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Discrimination/Only Friends Advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead
    Current Employee - Team Lead
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free lunch and fun employees

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't care about their people. You honestly get treated like cattle.

    Vivint Solar Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Recruitment Sourcing Manager

    It sounds like you are looking for growth and development. We would recommend that you reach out to your leader or HR Business Partner. If you would like more recommendations, email us at... More


  10. "Good but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time

    Pros

    Good pay
    flexible hours
    good rewards

    Cons

    micro management
    very macho workplace

    Advice to Management

    make it easier for surveyors and sales managers to communicate about the needs of specific sites

    Vivint Solar Response

    Oct 27, 2017 – Recruitment Sourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We agree that the pay/rewards are great here and the hours can be flexible! If you have more that you would like to share with us, please... More


Showing 401 of 432 reviews
Reset Filters