Vivint Solar Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Vivint Solar CEO David Bywater  (no image)
David Bywater
308 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch (you just pay a small tax)(in 55 reviews)

  • "VIVINT solar has figured out what it takes to be the top company in such a booming industry(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depends too heavily on door-to-door sales(in 33 reviews)

  • "Should have applied sooner with Vivint Solar and share more time with them(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good teams strong community care about employees

    Cons

    100 percent commission so you gotta work hard

    Vivint Solar2020-05-19
  2. "Spectacular culture, not for everyone"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Chicopee, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The incredibly supportive sales team and overall business culture helped me thrive in my time with Vivint. I genuinely admired the sales staff that took me in, trained me, and displayed not only how to be better in the workplace, but better people.

    Cons

    Only for the individually driven. Income is based solely on commission. Pay is great for installs, but if you're not incredible self-driven or that drive is fleeting, you'll have problems.

    Vivint Solar2020-06-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great team."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Surveyor in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved my team and office. Decent pay.

    Cons

    Company catered to sales reps like they walked on water. Reprimanded laborers for things that the reps did flagrantly.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-05-20
  4. "A good job, for sure"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch from onsite cafeteria Good opportunities to grow Good Autonomy Great People

    Cons

    Depends too heavily on door-to-door sales Developer Productivity metrics are unclear

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-05-22
  5. "Vivint solar sales rep"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Westbury, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Vivint Solar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good enviorment to work in

    Cons

    Long hours and alot of walking

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-05-10
  6. "Good Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solar Technician Safety Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Minimal supervision work at your own pace. Excellent growth potential and things have changed for the better.

    Cons

    Associates don’t take responsibility for actions or preventative actions that are in place sometimes poor communication.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-05-08
  7. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Energy Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time

    Pros

    Everything , I love this company

    Cons

    Nothing, there is great talent.

    Vivint Solar2020-05-02
  8. "horrible back office"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Energy Consultant 

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time

    Pros

    starting base pay, fun culture

    Cons

    bad product, bad installations, bad approach

    Vivint Solar2020-05-08
  9. "Great place to work in an even better industry!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Tons of career growth opportunities -Great company perks (free lunch, awesome corporate events, willing to help the community) -Progressive culture -Meaningful industry to work in

    Cons

    -There needs to be more women in higher leadership (Sr. Director, VP, and C-Suite) -Can be more reactive than proactive -Too much talk about religion in a professional work environment

    Vivint Solar2020-04-16
  10. "Could be better"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installation 

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time

    Pros

    its a job for the time

    Cons

    everything is horrible with these people

    Vivint Solar2020-05-20
Found 682 reviews