Volkswagen Group of America Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Dec 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Volkswagen Group of America President and CEO, VWGoA Scott Keogh
Scott Keogh
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and matching 401k(in 36 reviews)

  • "Friendly and accepting work environment(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No Work-Life balance - Region Managers call and email into the night and all weekend, as well as during your vacation(in 25 reviews)

  • "long hours, have to work night shift due to senority, hard on the body and exhausting work(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Volkswagen Group of America and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "good benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Cavity wax

      Jun 10, 2018 - Cavity Wax in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good benefits and they take really good care of you and awesome team work and everyone seems like your family!

      Cons

      Swing shift I guess would be

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Mismanaged - lots of talk and little action

      Dec 9, 2020 - Sales Operations Manager in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company lease program - although the cost has increased regularly over the past few years Salary - above average Good benefits

      Cons

      Decision making is haphazard at best, at the mercy of Germany with no autonomy in the U.S. Promotions are based in the old boys’ club mentality. They either promote friends quickly, or take several months to fill the other jobs. No Work-Life balance - Region Managers call and email into the night and all weekend, as well as during your vacation. Management is reactionary and last-minute fire drills are common. Good performance is not recognized, which is de-motivating (see old boys’ club reference). If you are a VP’s drinking or cigar buddy, you’ll go far without talent. Unable to get Incentives and Sales Targets published on time, unlike every other manufacturer in the industry who does. No stability in leadership positions.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Success is on you!!!

      Dec 4, 2020 - Production in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and matching 401k...

      Cons

      Get ready to walk lol and be fit!!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work

      Sep 25, 2020 - Mechanical Engineer in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair treatment of staff, good benefits, decent life-work balance, everything state-of-the-art.

      Cons

      Lots of bureaucracy and politics, managers behave like politicians. Trying to lowball salaries as much as they can.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Vwgoa

      Aug 8, 2020 - Team Member in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable work good pay good benefits

      Cons

      Long hours few days off.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Contractor

      high school working culture

      Sep 16, 2020 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good benefits stable and has nothing to do

      Cons

      very bad culture people here are bully people

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Not Transparent, good ‘ol boys club

      May 5, 2019 - Specialist in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Compensation and healthcare benefits are good for the area. Chattanooga is a beautiful place to live.

      Cons

      Nothing is transparent. Job descriptions do not match actual job responsibilities. Pay scale is keep secret as are bonus structures. No one follows Company policies, especially HR. The only way to advance is to fall in line and cozy up to your boss. Never speak up if you see anything is wrong because you will become a target.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Engineer

      Oct 11, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits in terms of work flexibility

      Cons

      Management is Not easily approachable

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good experience, but too many politics

      Aug 6, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, 401k matching, love my coworkers & current manager, lease car program, training opportunities, exercise facilities on campus.

      Cons

      Pay was lower than I expected when I started, but it is much better after promotion. Not enough women in management (or really throughout the company, but particularly in management). THE WALK: it takes me 20 minutes to get from my car to my desk... I am not complaining about the exercise, but it doubles my commute time, which is annoying. To top it off, overtime is expected, so work - life balance is difficult to maintain. Also, this is the most bureaucratic company I have ever seen... It can take forever to get anything done. It is very difficult to move up without German language skills, and many of the managers can be very entitled. I know this makes me sound like I hate working here, but overall I actually really enjoy it 95% of the time.... I just have several very specific complaints.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Engineer

      Oct 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very international tasks and good benefits

      Cons

      Sometimes unorganized and very distant hr

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Volkswagen Group of America Job Seekers

    Graduate Program
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sr. Human Resources Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Graduate Development Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Volkswagen Group of America? Share Your Experiences

    or