Volusion Reviews | Glassdoor

Volusion Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 245 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Volusion CEO Kevin Sproles
Kevin Sproles
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is completely clueless(in 13 reviews)

  • "There is a clear favoritism to Mozu (sister company) from the higher ups that alienates the Volusion team(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun Environment, Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volusion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment is great. Overall the people are nice. Benefits are good, unlimited PTO, bring your dog to work, good health coverage, fun office activities.

    Cons

    You must be okay with ambiguity, autonomy, and change. Things are constantly moving and changing, which can be difficult for some.

    Volusion2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to cut your E-commerce chops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Services Sales in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time

    Pros

    There are many pros to working at Volusion. I was very happy with the culture, sales process, stability and management. The culture in the sales department starts with the VP of sales and trickles down to the sales floor. He is high energy, positive and rewards hard work. If you are willing to take personal accountability for your own career and pursue it with passion, this is the place for you. They have all of the...

    Show More

    Cons

    They hold you accountable and expect you to be at work on time and work while you are there. Not really a con unless you do not like to do this.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Volusion2019-06-11
  3. "A great starting point for an SEM career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO Team Lead in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Autonomy over work and account management Well-defined structure within MKTG services teams Unlimited PTO Respected work/life boundaries Accessible and empathetic dept management Plenty of chances to learn from coworkers Lots of free food and events Ability to work from home 2x a week Dogs and beer on Fridays Modern office with open spaces and game room

    Cons

    SMB clients tend to be tech challenged Structure to dept can mean fewer chances to grow Company focus on new software is slow going Lots of writing can get redundant or dry Clients can be short-sighted and impatient

    Advice to Management

    Continue working on transparency as product fully comes to market, and do your best to develop a solid roadmap. The ambiguity after February lost a lot of trust and confidence, and it's going to take hard work to gain that back.

    Volusion2019-06-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great, entry-level experience in sales/ecommerce/SaaS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ECommerce Advisor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at Volusion! This was my first job out of college. I was referred to the company by the VP of IT Operations at that time. I was there for roughly a year-and-a-half in the sales department as an Ecommerce Advisor. The expectations were high in terms of metrics and quotas, but any sales role is that way. And your paycheck (commissions) is directly tied to your efforts, so I worked hard every day and saw...

    Show More

    Cons

    Starting salary could be more competitive, but they might've increased that by now. Either way, your monthly commission checks can make up for that!

    Volusion2019-06-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A place to begin your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    opportunities are there, if you chase it, to learn and grow.

    Cons

    not so transparent when "transparency" is one of the core values. Culture and value may appear high since people will drink the Koolaid and change for that moment. Work-life balance is essential, but it all depends on your department and position.

    Advice to Management

    be more engaging with the team and be more personable. Also, if there is a one on one weekly, monthly, or whatever, stick with it. Ask your Subordinate(s) if one is needed or share anything. Don't cancel just because you don't have anything or just avoiding the situation. Who's the boss of the company? Bosses don't act "like a boss."

    Volusion2019-06-06
  6. "Amazing opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PAYMENTS in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volusion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friday's ;) Efficient support channels Thorough Training Inclusiveness Perks!

    Cons

    Honestly none for me

    Volusion2019-05-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Volusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Volusion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are super nice, caring, and extremely helpful.

    Cons

    No career advancement and pay increase are base on an ever changing scorecard. People have been missing out on their raises due to changes in expectation/metric. You will not be able to advance far in the company because you won't know what is required of you every month.

    Volusion2019-06-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sea change in engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volusion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When I first arrived at Volusion, engineering was in a sorry state. A distributed monolith spread across hundreds of AWS lambdas, developers pushing to production without testing or even a pull request, no monitoring, stories of former toxic lead engineers who refused to give other devs access to GitHub repos because they would "mess it up", a very bad codebase, traumatized developers, and more. In the short time I've...

    Show More

    Cons

    There's an internal tension at the company between the limitations of the platform due to poor engineering decisions in the past and the desire to build new features to remain competitive. The current V2 platform has improved significantly and working in TypeScript makes things much more pleasant but the underlying code is still poor and needs a significant amount of work. There appears to be a disconnect between product...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing in sustainable engineering practices even as features are built. Examine communication flows between departments. Cultural principles are great but operational principles are just as important. Invest in a dedicated internal QA team to avoid pulling time from people who do not specialize in that work.

    Volusion2019-05-15
  9. "A really cool place to work at, but might be stressful depending on what department you work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The coolest place I've ever worked at. I looked forward to the beer Fridays, Bring your Dog to Work days and the fun bingo games they hold to relieve the stress. People here are really fun to work with and a lot of them are really helpful. Management invests a lot in training so there's a lot of opportunities to move to a programmer role from customer support if you really work to develop your skills.

    Cons

    If you work with customer support, it might be a stressful. But I think it's the nature of this type of job, no matter the company you work for.

    Advice to Management

    More vacation time for customer support staff to relieve their stress.

    Volusion2019-05-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Missed the Boat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get a wardrobe of t-shirts. Most of P&C staff do what they can to try and keep morale up. Free snacks, Beni fits are decent

    Cons

    Poor leadership at C-suite level. Seems like there was a new “plan” to achieve success every quarter.

    Advice to Management

    Cash out fellas

    Volusion2019-05-07
Found 245 reviews