Volusion "mozu" Reviews | Glassdoor

Volusion Employee Reviews about "mozu"

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
35%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Volusion CEO Bardia Dejban
Bardia Dejban
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You have to wonder why so many people, especially upper management, have left recently(in 14 reviews)

  • "Look up info on "Mozu" to see an example of this(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mozu"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great atmosphere, casual wear, uncapped commission, opportunities for advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ecommerce Sales Advisor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volusion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work in a fun and outgoing environment that motivates you to be on top of your game. The attire is casual, there are tons of delicious unhealthy and healthy snacks around every corner, and a game room that takes you back to your childhood. The office is very open and modern. The company tends to hire unique employees with great personalities that are very easy to relate to. You spend your work time managing a pipeline of warm leads who are small market business owners looking to venture into ecommerce. You are provided with great leadership and incentives to perfect your craft. Management is always providing you the tools and insight to work under various scenarios. All in all, its an amazing place to not only start your career, but to advance into new roles within the company

    Cons

    Turnover. Not that bad kind though. In this particular role, you see your successful peers constantly getting poached and lured by competitors offering lateral job opportunities. Every now and then, there will be an employee who gets burned out and has a negative mentality that becomes infectious on the sales floor. There is a clear favoritism to Mozu (sister company) from the higher ups that alienates the Volusion team. This is highly obvious in the differences in office space and financing for innovation.

    Continue reading
    Volusion2015-05-06
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Look elsewhere. Failing product, executives, and company. Several recent layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales/Account Management in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good eye for great, genuine people, Amazing benefits for insurance and PTO, nice office with lots of perks

    Cons

    Failing product, and revolving product staff. Several layoffs in waves of 10-30 people at a time. Constant fear of being the next one they get rid of. The product team (at the direction of CEO, Bardia Dejban) focuses on what they call "competitive features" rather than what the clients need at the product's core. They pay no attention to feedback from sales or account management when it comes to improving the product. They often sell incomplete and fragmented products before they're ready to be used, which only makes clients mad that they spent their money on it... thus they end up canceling. Look up info on "Mozu" to see an example of this. They're also guilty of hiring new people at a higher pay, only to be trained and on-boarded by another tenured employee that makes less than the trainee. After being let go with several others, I realized how much more I was worth and how much I deserved better as soon as I started interviewing.

    Continue reading
    Volusion2020-01-13
  3. Helpful (20)

    "Toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Web Developer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time

    Pros

    Donuts and/or tacos on Friday

    Cons

    They have 3 platforms, which leads to internal confusion, envy, and a loss of identity. Material, the product, was born from a UI interaction idea. That's not enough to build a new product on, let alone a new company. Volusion, the product, is like Grandpa who has been put in the old folks home, and only a few relatives visit on occasion. Mozu was originally going to be the cool, new, modern replacement for the old legacy Volusion platform, but they hired architects and developers from Dell and let them go. They built the wrong thing, something not SMB. So the company decided to launch it it as their Enterprise platform. It was kind of an accident, and you know how most kids who are accidents turn out. At least one of the parents is bitter, and then there's divorce and alcoholism. There have many layoffs and quitters since I left. And since they implemented "Unlimited PTO" and Work From Home, I hear the place is a ghost town. Lastly, the development area was an embarrassment. The open floor plan is noisy and trashy. Desks were very close together. It was an obstacle course. Old pants hang from the ceiling, and prints of "Taco" go up the walls. Christmas decorations never come down. People use noise-cancelling ceiling panels to separate workspaces (making their own little forts). A life-sized cutout of Justin Beiber with a Sharpie mustache, a hoarding area with a trash-covered keg, weird furniture, hard liquor bottles and a depressing view of the parking lot complete the scene.

    Volusion2016-10-14
  4. Helpful (27)

    "Fast pace to an uncertain future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volusion

    Pros

    All the typical perks hip software companies have to do for entry to the club. Coffee, snacks, free meals, on-site gym, beer Fridays... Smart people willing to work as a team in IT, customer support (CS) and IT support. Competitive comp and benefits. Agile, fast pace.

    Cons

    If considering Volusion, you need to understand the product mix. Volusion (consumer platform) is in decline. Mozu (enterprise) is technically solid, but late to market and struggling for share against big, some open source players. There's a third fremium platform that seems mostly a distraction and resource suck. The groups supporting Mozu clients (CS, Professional Services) staffed up for enterprise sales pipeline that didn't happen, a large layoff was inevitable. About half PS was laid off or quit. A dramatic change in these trends is the only thing that can turn this around. So the founder reassumed CEO role, did the layoff and is attempting a course correction...we'll see. If that's not enough, the product and development groups have consistent chaos leading to high turnover. Not good for product roadmap delivery.

    Continue reading
    Volusion2016-06-17
  5. Helpful (27)

    "Update to my 5-Star Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion

    Pros

    A couple years ago, HR asked everyone to write some positive reviews to swing the negative ratings upward. I was in a good mood that day, so I played along and wrote a stellar review. In actuality, I really tried to stay hopeful my many years there, even those so many forces would pull you down, and watching so many good, talented people leave skid marks in the parking lot on their last day.

    Cons

    So, I'm updating my 5-star review to 1-star. Yes, I was part of the big Mozu lay-off, but that was in April and I'm over it now. My 1-star review is directed at the upper management and the founder's history of bizarre behavior. Too many stories for Glassdoor, but some of them were big hits at my recent interviews.

    Continue reading
    Volusion2016-07-03
  6. Helpful (25)

    "Don't walk away, run, RUN as fast as you can and don't look back!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only pros that I can think of about working at Volusion is that you might be lucky enough to network with some people who are of similar mind and have either gotten out before you and/or are looking to get out with you. There are definitely some very talented people that Volusion hires, but those people will leave. Pray that they take you with them or hook you up later.

    Cons

    Where to begin? Oh I know... let's start where Volusion "jumped the shark" - MOZU. What a pile of junk that idea was. MOZU has lost the company a colossal amount of money and even worse, it wasted valuable time for the company which allowed competitors such as Shopify and BigCommerce to surpass Volusion as a leader in the SMB space. Did Volusion learn it's lesson? Of course... oh wait. No, no they didn't. Here comes along a 3rd brand... "Material". Initially designed to be a free model, that will likely change once they get enough hooks into the skin of the customer base. Once again, what a huge waste of time and resources. So with Volusion you have 3 brands.... MOZU - a wannabe major enterprise type platform, Volusion - an antiquated SMB platform, and Material - jury is still out on what this will be but my guess is a wannabe Weebly but limited to ecommerce and not as functional. The sad part is that if Volusion had just focused on their namesake brand, they probably would be in a great spot today. Instead, things are so bad that Volusion has had massive layoffs, excuse me, massive "individual firings" to save money and not have to pay unemployment benefits. Literally all the good talent has either left Volusion or became too expensive to retain. Road maps are pointless because everything gets delayed, delayed, delayed and then next thing you know, Volusion will probably have a 4th brand spinning off from an idea that was supposed to be on the core platform road map. I truly feel awful for anyone that remains loyal to this company because Volusion has ZERO loyalty to it's people. Honestly, I feel lucky at this point to have been let go because of the new opportunity I have, I just wish I would have seen the writing on the wall sooner and I wish that I had left on my own terms. I am sure that this will come off as sour grapes for having been let go, but I truly advise anyone considering to join the Volusion team to stay far, far away. NOTE: Every department will have their pitch about why you should join and how the company is changing for the better.... Nothing ever got better during my entire time with Volusion. Only worse... much worse. The really funny thing is that the company has been pitching the idea of an IPO since 2008 and now they'll be lucky if anyone decides to buy them out simply for the data.

    Continue reading
    Volusion2016-06-28
  7. Helpful (18)

    "These aren't the jobs you're looking for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer On Mozu Platform in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Typical tech stuff: Ping pong, ice cream, some social activities. There was a lot of talent here at some point and to a degree there still is. There are some really cool technologies being used here.

    Cons

    You'll need to eat a lot of ice cream to fill the hole that management rips in your soul. A little over the top but there's some truth here. There are people that work(ed) very hard here whose efforts went largely unnoticed while people that arrive and 10 and leave at 5 were promoted. I'm talking people that regularly worked 50-60 hours (or more), did overnight releases when we were trying to get the sails lifted...etc... Raises seemed to bear no resemblance to contribution. Bonus goals were rarely met. There were many folks that cared enough to give their opinions and present their ideas. I saw many of these people berated and dismantled in from of their peers in truly immature and insecure displays. Furthermore, I heard former employees berated publicly in front of new employees. Incredibly poor management and unprofessional. And this wasn't by junior management, I"m talking the CTO and PM leadership. Newbs learn quickly: There are a couple of people that are allowed to make real decisions here. Perhaps they will take some of your ideas and claim them as their own, but you won't get credit. If you speak up too much, you will be marginalized. Just keep your head down and write code and come in at 10 and leave at 5 because nobody will care if you do that (just please don't quit!!!). It's pretty crazy bipolar. Junior devs pick up this attitude from leadership and think it's ok to act this way towards others. The PM group on Mozu lost 3 PM's in one week because of abject anger towards their boss. They actually had to put in middle management just so less PM's would quit. A couple of weeks later 4 devs left on the same day. A huge wave of people have been on the way out here, even folks with significant "stock options" that they are dumping. That should speak volumes. I think they have managed to stop the bleeding somewhat...but seriously...there are good jobs out there where you will be treated with common respect and even rewarded for putting forth real effort. It's also crazy noisy, very dark, and you have basically no personal space. It feels like you are working in a sweatshop. I didn't think it was so bad until I started working in the light again. O sweet sweet daylight...I missed you. Finally, HR is terrible. They purposely avoid the dev area at all costs. I think the main reason is plausible deniability: "Hey we didn't know!!!"...right. And who is going to pursue HR and complain when they know they'll be drummed out the door. So instead of talking about issues people just find another job and get outta there. In addition, people who gave notice were often walked immediately, which often felt borderline vindictive. This resulted in even managers telling employees not to let anybody know about their pending departure until the last possible moment, cause who knows what will happen. Serious trust issues at this place.

    Continue reading
    Volusion2015-09-06
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Don't bother unless you need a first job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ecommerce Sales in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The normal stuff...free food, games and activities, decent HR department to try to keep morale up. Central office location is ok.

    Cons

    On the sales side, it's just a sweat shop style sales team. You'll have goals that are way too high because the wrong people are in charge of setting goals and have no idea what's going on. Your pay is really bad, and your only way to get a decent commission check is to work way to much (or be a little sketchy, which people are). You don't get any actual sales training, which actually doesn't matter much...this is really just an order taking team. There's a ton of other issues, everything constantly changes in how they want you to work, the software is really outdated and the company has spent all of their time and money into the Mozu platform...leaving the Volusion sofware way behind the competitors. You're also going to have to get really lucky because 75% of your leads are unqualified. Meanwhile you get hounded if any part of your call numbers are low. Calling the same person every day for 2 weeks just really gets old, for you and the person you're bothering....and if you don't badger them, they'll take the lead away from you. The Support team is terrible and will only help you lose sales or cause cancellations that will count against your numbers. When I started, a rep that soon left told me that working for Volusion made him a very negative person, and when I left...I definitely agree. It's a very frustrating place to work and you get very little out of it. No opportunity to work from home and very little room to move up. The positions they make you think are promotions are just similar sales roles on different teams. Your opinion matters very little here and you will not get recognized often if at all. Maybe not a bad job for a kid out of college that doesn't care about a career or making a lot of money, but would not recommend it to anyone else.

    Continue reading
    Volusion2015-09-19
  9. Helpful (7)

    "If you want a social club..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volusion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fine folks, great if you want a social club atmosphere for a workplace, cool office, incredible internal IT staff that fix problems FAST, great Volusion dev managers, Volusion QA folks that will rock your socks off, super cool documentation manager, and people working hard to build product.

    Cons

    Poor planning for new products on Mozu side, painfully loud environment (huge open space fun at first, nerve grinding later), required to be a "joiner" to get anywhere even for a raise (yeah what?!), bad job titles, raises nearly non-existant (even professional dev gets barely enough of a raise to buy extra coffees per month). The strangest HR department I have experienced in my life. They could not handle insurance at all, instead seemed more like social event coordinators. Poor health insurance (claims never paid for by Volusion, you will be hounded by your doctor office because of it).

    Continue reading
    Volusion2015-06-10
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Long hours, talk time & micro managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ecommerce Sales Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volusion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun peeps and Great food good location people and culture are nice

    Cons

    Long hours, weekends, talk time really high, constant micro management from director, PTO limited, avg. healthcare, it's all about Mozu, can be miserable at times :(

    Continue reading
    Volusion2014-09-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews