Von Maur Loss Prevention Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Loss Prevention

Von Maur Loss Prevention Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Von Maur CEO James D. von Maur
James D. von Maur
5 Ratings
  1. "I honestly never want to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention Associate in Saint Charles, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holidays off, easy request for vacation and days off, paid time and a half on Sunday. Amazing management team. Management works with you to move up in the company, it is really genuine.

    Cons

    There is a very Formal dress code, females wear a skirt, blouse or blazer and nylons. Men must wear a full suit.

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, I think our management team is just amazing. I really think they've done a wonderful job. I really aspire to one day be in their position

    Von Maur2017-05-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Very "old boys club""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Takes care of the employee Job security Invests in employees High quality technology Rotating set schedule

    Cons

    Strict on silly rules No water allowed Extremely dated dress code

    Von Maur2019-03-24
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Needs Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay Coworkers were great Hours weren't too bad

    Cons

    LP Manager Very little training No incentive No room for movement

    Von Maur2018-08-26
  4. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and decent pay.

    Cons

    Unable to move up if you have disagreements with Management or not a favorite.

    Von Maur2018-08-02
  5. "Good place for a start. .not peremenant."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention in Lake Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment..Great people..Job security. Work load is not immense and the HR Manager is awesome!

    Cons

    Not as much traffic so not as many apprehensions. Low pay. No room for upward mobility.

    Von Maur2017-09-24
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Look elsewhere, there are better work places."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention in Livonia, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good insurance options Flexible hours There really are no more pros, I'm just writing this to get the 20 word minimum.

    Cons

    Poor management Poor communication Lack of teamwork and leadership Dated work practices and policies No room for personal expression or opinions Mediocre pay Have to drink water from a drinking fountain because they don't even allow you to have your own bottle (this one is insane) Employees are treated like little children Racist and sexist work environment (and I'm a white male saying this)

    Advice to Management

    Don't pride yourselves as a company who promotes from within when you take inexperienced people and allow them to climb the company latter without appropriate training. Managers have no ethics training and base their views of their employees on personal opinions i.e. race, gender, age. I worked Loss Prevention and witnessed this first hand in the security office on multiple occasions.

    Von Maur2017-10-06
  7. "Best Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely professional company. If you do your job and do it well they will reward you accordingly. They take care of their employees and respect their lives outside of work. Highly reccomend, especially for LP.

    Cons

    Have to work most weekends but it is retail so you'll get that everywhere.

    Von Maur2016-07-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention in Moline, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Von Maur for less than a year

    Pros

    20% discounts for the employees.

    Cons

    Young female employees who think they are gods gift and think every male employee wants them. With the exception of one HR associate, the others in upper management only care about themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the feedback from your employees. Great leaders need great followers.

    Von Maur2015-10-23
  9. "Loss Prevention Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention Associate in Wichita, KS
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Von Maur

    Pros

    Time and a half on Sundays, several hours of overtime throughout the week if you're in LP.

    Cons

    I don't really have any complaints. Good company.

    Advice to Management

    Good management for the most part.

    Von Maur2015-06-08
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to shop, horrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention Associate in Coralville, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only good thing about working for this company is the competitive benefits package they offer and the 20% off discount.

    Cons

    You have to work for 90 days before being eligible for benefits, they train you but expect you to know every little detail that is not gone over in training so it is easy to get written up for a tiny imperfection, you are required to work every weekend except one and the schedule differs day to day so it is never consistent, you are under constant scrutiny, management is very poor, morale is non-existent as they discourage...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve your training so you cover even the smallest things an associate needs to know to prevent them from being written up for a common mistake that was expected of them to know, without having given them any direction. Work on improving morale within your store. Current and former employees can agree with this statement as it is a hostile work environment when you feel that you cannot befriend those you spend 80% of...

    Show More
    Von Maur2014-10-20
Found 10 reviews