Von Maur Reviews | Glassdoor

Von Maur Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 863 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Von Maur CEO James D. von Maur
James D. von Maur
433 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Normal, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Von Maur is sincerely the best place I’ve worked. Management cares and works with you and you are made to sincerely feel like a valuable asset to the company.

    Cons

    Women cannot wear pants, must wear skirts or dresses and it’s very impractical for the midwestern cold, not the mention dated.

    Von Maur2019-03-13
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Hoover, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Von Maur at the Hoover, Al location for 8 months and it's been one of the best and most rewarding time in my career, I love the dress code, for the most part, Co-workers and friendly and ALWAYS willing and ready to help. the discount is great and meeting different people from all walks of life who comes in to shop and talk has been rewarding. I've always said, if work is your second home, it needs to... be a place you enjoy working and find fulfilling.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no cons. All is GOOD

    Advice to Management

    none at this time.

    Von Maur2019-09-07
  3. "Promises more than delivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Paid holidays after a year Time and a half on Sundays No crazy holiday hours Good health insurance

    Cons

    Inflexible scheduling for full time associates Little room for advancement unless you are young, blonde, and skinny Antiquated dress code Nearly impossible to transfer to a new department Chronic understaffing Insufficient training

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting money opening new stores and spend that money staffing the existing stores. Eliminate the preferred customer books for all associates except pace setters. It is useless busy work that needlessly bothers customers, many of whom prefer emails and/or text messages. Stop playing favorites with employees. If an exception is made for one, allow it for all. Enforce existing policy and stop caving to customer's... irrational demands. Support your employees. After all without us, you have no company.

    Show More
    Von Maur2019-09-09
  4. "Enjoyable work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family owned Teamwork Benefits Closed on major holidays

    Cons

    Retail can be tough at times, overall no major cons.

    Von Maur2019-09-05
  5. "Old school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention in Council Bluffs, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Responsible for apprehending shoplifting suspects. This can be exciting.

    Cons

    Your time is spent trying to catch shoplifters. That's it.

    Advice to Management

    A new, progressive, profit protection program, is likely needed to retain employees.

    Von Maur2019-09-12
  6. "It’s an ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Beavercreek, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Other associates, closed on most Holidays

    Cons

    Being on your feet constantly, archaic dress code and management turns a blind eye on some misbehavior and others get called on the carpet for same behavior

    Advice to Management

    Helping with incoming stock, helping to unload the stock. Treat everyone the same, no favoritism.

    Von Maur2019-08-27
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Normal, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gratis, benefits, and your employee discount.

    Cons

    Poor management, over worked during hoilday season, underpaid, you're overworked for your position, lack of training, non professional enviroment, sexist dress code, lot's of fraternizing, toxic work culture, long shifts, no support from management when dealing with customers who break policy. The list goes on...

    Von Maur2019-09-07
  8. "very unappreciative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the job pays decent, but hours are not great.

    Cons

    only allowed one scheduled weekend off a month, if you have to take a weekend off other than yours assigned, and if you cannot find someone to cover/switch shifts with you, you're SOL.

    Von Maur2019-09-04
  9. "Nothing is as promised."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur

    Pros

    Weekend offs. Holidays off. GREAT benefits.

    Cons

    I was with the company for FIVE years. I started when the store was being built in OKC.I started in boys and moved my way to women’s shoes department manager. I had interviewed for multiple positions numerous amount of times. In the beginning I got feed back to improve. Then it turned into they don’t have feed back keep doing what you are doing. One of my last interviews was with my store manager and regional when... I was turned down they told me I am a much better fit for HR. fantastic right. Well an HR position come open And I wasn’t even considered. As a matter of fact I asked why and I was told I am a much better fit for Floor manager. Now this came from the same store manager who told me about HR. very conflicting right?!? Communication is awful. I had an associate out for surgery and his return date was pushed back, but I was never told that. In the end if my career with Von Maur my grandfather pasted away two days after his passing they wrote me up for a customer concern. They have ZERO regards for you or you personal life. They do t care if you have kids or someone is sick and obviously don’t care that my grandpa past away. I got a welcome back vs how are you? If you aren’t part of the line up you will not get anywhere. Take it from some one who spent five years there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more concerning. Give actually feed back. Learn to understand. And stop picking favorites

    Von Maur2019-09-02
  10. "Don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Holidays off are a pro

    Cons

    Horrible place to work

    Von Maur2019-09-05
Found 863 reviews