Von Maur Reviews | Glassdoor

Von Maur Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Von Maur CEO James D. von Maur
James D. von Maur
437 Ratings
  1. "Unlike other companies, in a good way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur

    Pros

    Best hours, job appreciation, great coworkers

    Cons

    No complaints, grass isn’t greener

    Von Maur2019-10-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Hoover, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Von Maur at the Hoover, Al location for 8 months and it's been one of the best and most rewarding time in my career, I love the dress code, for the most part, Co-workers and friendly and ALWAYS willing and ready to help. the discount is great and meeting different people from all walks of life who comes in to shop and talk has been rewarding. I've always said, if work is your second home, it needs to... be a place you enjoy working and find fulfilling.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no cons. All is GOOD

    Advice to Management

    none at this time.

    Von Maur2019-09-07
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Department Manager 

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    The staff is absolutely great

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Von Maur2019-07-23
  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    Many advancement opportunities at this company!

    Cons

    It would be nice to wear pants.

    Von Maur2019-04-01
  5. "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Normal, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Von Maur is sincerely the best place I’ve worked. Management cares and works with you and you are made to sincerely feel like a valuable asset to the company.

    Cons

    Women cannot wear pants, must wear skirts or dresses and it’s very impractical for the midwestern cold, not the mention dated.

    Von Maur2019-03-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Many opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Department Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur for less than a year

    Pros

    Many opportunities to be promoted.

    Cons

    The dress code for women

    Von Maur2019-01-29
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Brookfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay with great benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes have to work brutal hours

    Advice to Management

    Provide employees with more resources like product knowledge

    Von Maur2019-01-21
  8. "Review of Von Maur"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    Training was great! There are so many opportunities for advancement, and I can tell they really care about their customers and employees. The commission is a nice bonus as well!

    Cons

    I cannot really think of anything!

    Von Maur2018-12-20
  9. "Love the Customer Services job I have."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Von Maur

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere. Beautiful Piano Music

    Cons

    A great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Ladies should be able to wear pant suits.

    Von Maur2018-12-05
  10. "Department Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    Holidays off, great staff, managers want to help, always promote from within

    Cons

    Make sure you make your intentions clear about where you want to be in the company, and make them often!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    Von Maur2018-12-03
Found 873 reviews