Von Maur Reviews | Glassdoor

Von Maur Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 871 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Von Maur CEO James D. von Maur
James D. von Maur
436 Ratings
  1. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Von Maur part-time

    Pros

    - Time and a half on Sundays - Repeat customers and family atmosphere - Commision

    Cons

    - Hard to get weekends off

    Von Maur2019-10-16
  2. "Unlike other companies, in a good way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur

    Pros

    Best hours, job appreciation, great coworkers

    Cons

    No complaints, grass isn’t greener

    Von Maur2019-10-08
  3. "Nice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Brookfield, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, family feel work environment.

    Cons

    Schedule is typical retail - hours vary day by day.

    Von Maur2019-10-06
  4. "Sexist Dress Code"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sundays schedule, benefits, discount, brand names

    Cons

    Seriously this place doesn't allow women to wear pants....even in sub zero temperatures. Sexist. Old school. Gender discrimination. If they men had to wear those and skirts too, wouldn't complain. Honestly just disgusting. This is a symbol of how they discriminate based on gender.

    Advice to Management

    Pull your heads out of Mr. Selfridges dress code. Realize it is 2019 and gender based discrimination is wrong.

    Von Maur2019-10-06
  5. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Commission is great if you are willing to work

    Cons

    Retail hours can be tough.

    Advice to Management

    Ok

    Von Maur2019-10-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Quality Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Von Maur part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in Shoes and as a 19-year-old I made avg. $20/hour

    Cons

    It's retail and they force you to work 3/4 weekends a month.

    Von Maur2019-09-25
  7. "Fun Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We now get to wear black pants, tattoos can be shown, awesome co workers in our area, pay is decent

    Cons

    would be nice to have a set schedule with little kids and to be able to take more than one weekend off.

    Von Maur2019-09-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Livonia, MI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees are the best reason for being there.

    Cons

    Starting at 7am to do help unload the truck and put away stock. Being hired in to sell but having to clean and dust all day.

    Von Maur2019-09-13
  9. "Old school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention in Council Bluffs, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Responsible for apprehending shoplifting suspects. This can be exciting.

    Cons

    Your time is spent trying to catch shoplifters. That's it.

    Advice to Management

    A new, progressive, profit protection program, is likely needed to retain employees.

    Von Maur2019-09-12
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Promises more than delivers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Paid holidays after a year Time and a half on Sundays No crazy holiday hours Good health insurance

    Cons

    Inflexible scheduling for full time associates Little room for advancement unless you are young, blonde, and skinny Antiquated dress code Nearly impossible to transfer to a new department Chronic understaffing Insufficient training

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting money opening new stores and spend that money staffing the existing stores. Eliminate the preferred customer books for all associates except pace setters. It is useless busy work that needlessly bothers customers, many of whom prefer emails and/or text messages. Stop playing favorites with employees. If an exception is made for one, allow it for all. Enforce existing policy and stop caving to customer's... irrational demands. Support your employees. After all without us, you have no company.

    Show More
    Von Maur2019-09-09
Found 871 reviews