Von Maur "department managers" Reviews | Glassdoor

Von Maur Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Von Maur CEO James D. von Maur
James D. von Maur
436 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Pretentious Exploitive Old Fashioned Wanna-Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Victor, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hourly-pay, time and a half Sundays, no holidays

    Cons

    Department Managers, Floor Managers, HR Rep and Upper Store Management. Outdated policies. Overly restrictive policies. Respected ladies on National News do not wear Pantyhose and skirts all the time. One minute late, especially in the winter during bad driving conditions, is obscene.

    Advice to Management

    Get realistic, take a good look at what is going on in the world today instead of looking at the 'good ole days' of the founders. If there is bad weather, include an amnesty program - people are driving to work, risking their lives instead of calling out ...take that into consideration. Look at the overall performance of an employee and perhaps reasons before terminating them. When hiring for a new store,... especially right before the holiday season, let potential employees know that you are overhiring and that based on performance, full-time employment will be offered, until them it's temporary/holiday!

    Show More
    Von Maur2014-08-06
  2. Helpful (6)

    "A joke for a retailer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clean stores Decent merchandise selections with a few high end brands Time and a half on Sunday Loyal customers No crazy holiday hours

    Cons

    Inexperienced management Archaic and stiff dress code Lack of efficient technology Micro managing and distrustful of employees There are lots of "hidden rules" that you are unaware of until you are called out and it's too late to find a solution A cult like atmosphere Horrible scheduling system Department Managers have no real authority to run and lead their respective departments The... compensation is not all it's cracked up to be...1 percent commission...come on! That's nothing compared to what Nordstrom pays it's employees. Lack of diversity in upper management Managers get promoted too quickly and they haven't really gained enough experience in their trade This company tries to copy cat Nordstrom and sorry it doesn't cut it! Lack of advertising High turnover and having to cover other departments While going thru an actual interview or training process if you call it that, HR had to read verbatim from a book to conduct an interview and the training was done kind of the same way. Need I say more??? There are too many other cons to mention!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to Jim Von Maur would be to make changes on how the company is run. For example, hire a regional director for specific departments such as cosmetics to assess strengths, weaknesses and ways to motivate and drive business. Allow Department Managers to have authority to write/approve schedules to maximize coverage, hold team meetings, and be involved in the hiring process! Stop hiring young twenty... somethings with no retail or customer service backgrounds for management positions and then promoting them into upper management. Allow and listen to feedback from your staff and department managers. Remember, they are the ones on the front lines making it happen! Ease up on the dress code and be a little more fashion forward. Women can look very classy in a nice pants suit and guys don't have to wear a jacket and tie to look presentable...ever seen a guy in a nice sport coat with a dressy classic tee underneath?

    Show More
    Von Maur2014-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great employees.... Upper Management too young with little experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful work environment. Great merchandise with a wide range of price points. No extended Holiday hours. Fantastic co-workers. I had a blast... Everyone was so nice and fun. Great personalities. Which Von Maur likes to hire as customer service is the top thing. Not just pointing to the dressing room but actual one on one help. Good base pay plus small commission added to non-commission department... personnel. Takes the hourly wage up even a couple more dollars an hour.

    Show More

    Cons

    Ladies dress code is outdated. No pants and must wear pantyhose even during non sales hours. Upper Management is usually young, single, and inexperienced. Tess,the automated scheduler is horrible. If you need a day off you have to know a month ahead of time if you or your child are going to get sick and need to go to the doctor. I didn't have a lot of trouble with it but know many employees who did. We... had three different store managers in the 13 months I worked there. Department managers are not given any real authority. Promotions are great, but a store needs stability. Don't take away good people out of a new store just to fill a spot somewhere else. Management needs stability too.... No point in unpacking, much less purchase a house. Floor managers spent a lot of time in the security office watching sales associates over the camera monitors. And if you need one for a customer issue they rarely answer their page.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more accessible to your employees on the sales floor. Get more involved with the day to day goings on. Treat employees equally. Train the HR person completely before turning them loose alone.

    Von Maur2014-05-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Needs Better Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate, Women's Shoes in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    learn the details of customer service, professional setting

    Cons

    department managers need better training, inadequate communication

    Advice to Management

    Train your low-level management! Employees and the department managers constantly called off without any repercussions. I think that behavior is absolutely unacceptable. Also, communication between associates and managers needs work. I wouldn't know how I was doing in reaching my goals until my review.

    Von Maur2014-05-18
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful store carrying nice merchandise, considerably higher pay than most department stores, time and half on Sunday, major holidays are paid and the store is closed, reasonable health care coverage.

    Cons

    Inexperienced management; would rather promote someone with no retail experience, and no management experience for the sole reason that they can be trained in the Von Maur way. If you're not part of their favorite clique, they will find some way to push you out. Certain departments receive more assistance than others (again, if you're a favorite, your floor manager will be in your department all day laughing and... re-merchandising) some departments hardly hear from their floor manager unless something is wrong. Don't rely on them for feedback, because that will never happen even though it was promised. Department managers have sales goals when their entire job revolves around coaching the associates; only receive a portion of a "break" depending on dept volume. If you don't make your sales goal once you receive disciplinary action. They frown upon friendships with your co-workers even though you see these people more often then you see your families. Although, if you're a favorite, they let that slide, and promote you. Don't even think about being a minute late. You'll receive an occurrence. If your shift starts at 9am, you punch in at 9:01 you'll be dinged. Same with lunch. It's well believed that management has spies out on the floor to do their dirty work to find out what's going on, they'll even make up rumors if they find it to their own benefit. This leads to a hostile work environment because everyone feels as if they are under a microscope.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give an engagement survey. Find out why morale is down in certain departments. When department managers go to floor managers the floor managers ought to listen to what the dms are saying as opposed to brushing it under a rug and not wanting to do their job. Promote candidates that have some experience dealing with humans and understand that everyone should be treated equally. Store management harps on dms to... not be "cliquey" yet they are the ones that are creating the clique with their nepotism policy. Give department managers more responsibility when creating events. Allow them to have full access to computers to contact their reps and have successful event flyers throughout the store; forget this ladder of approval aspect. Allow departments to collaborate on events together. If cosmetics and sportswear are having an event include accessories, coats, lingerie for a completed look- it will lead to mutual benefits. Stop spying on associates. Get out on the floors and find out what's going on. I can't stress this enough. When regionals come to visit stores the department managers ought to be included in their conversation during the walk of that department. Allow tess to show department schedules so associates can have the option to switch schedules away from the store. This will save time and allow the associates to be on the floor more, opposed to running around the store trying to find someone to cover.

    Show More
    Von Maur2014-05-07
  6. "Great people - incredibly outdated company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get a nice discount on everything, and Sundays are paid time and a half. Most major holidays, the store is closed, so people can spend time with their loved ones. The people there are super warm and welcoming, and it's easy to feel comfortable. Based off what I've seen, if you work hard, you can get promoted incredibly quick.

    Cons

    As with most retail, hours aren't great, and you can only take off one weekend a month. They value coverage, so there are times where there are too many people on the floor and not enough stuff to do. Management doesn't dictate, and I feel like they could be more straightforward. In my personal opinion, pay is low for what's supposed to be a higher-end department store; department managers barely get paid more... than associates. Biggest gripe is definitely the fact that EVERYTHING about the store is outdated. Systems, policies, dress code, and just the overall look of the store all haven't changed in about 100 years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible. DMs need to learn how to actually manage employees and dictate duties.

    Von Maur2014-04-10
  7. "This place is a joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holidays off and Vacation days that's about it

    Cons

    Upper management is sloppy and ran by 23 year old air heads with no exeperience or people skills. Turnover rate is completely out of control, even the store manager and multiple DMs have ran for the hills. Department managers spend half of there time gossiping about employees. While floor managers do nothing but walk around and pretend to be busy.

    Advice to Management

    The turnover rate speaks for itself, get it together! How do you expect to have great sales associates when you're setting a terrible example.

    Von Maur2014-04-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Is this the norm?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    "Yes" customer philosophy so you don't have to be the bad guy No extended hours during the holidays Great health benefits Closes at 4pm on Thanksgiving Eve, Christmas Eve, and New Year's Eve Family owned company that appreciates their employees family time with closed holidays

    Cons

    You need to be apart of the "in club" to advance. You take a look in the company's quarterly magazine that highlights internal promotions and it's unbelievable the lack of minorities and males in executive management. I guess in order to advance you either have to be in your early 20's unless you started with the company in your 20's and haven't been replaced by a "baby boomer." The majority of the store managers... are young Caucasian females under the age of 30; you can count the number of African Americans, Asians, and Hispanics in executive management on your hands in the entire company. The lack of diversity within this company's upper management is amazing. It almost makes you think does the company not view other nationalities, males, or older age groups as valuable? You think this is the kind of company that promotes advancement because it's what they "sell" you in the interview process. You are overlooked for an advancement for one of the executive positions and are told you need to be in your current department manager role a little longer and learn the company philosophy more. Your experience in management prior to coming into the company isn't taken into consideration clearly because the person that is selected for the executive position just happens to be young, Caucasian, no prior management experience but she "fits" the image. If you enter this company in your 40's with years of experience don't expect that to be recognized or appreciated unless you want to spend the next 40 years being told to work on your communication by an inexperienced young girl fresh out of college. If you have an opinion heaven forbid you voice it because your labeled as "not flexible" and then you can kiss your chances of ever getting promoted goodbye because once your store manager labels you, your doomed. As the other posted review stated, "keep your mouth shut unless you want to keep your job." Why do I have to nod my head in agreement just to get promoted? Maybe the company doesn't care what I think or the many many employees that have come to this site to express their experiences about their upper management because expressing it to your store manager or floor manager gets you nowhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This company has a great thing going, family owned company that appreciates their employees family time with closed holidays and early holiday closing hours, a classy upscale store, great health benefits, out of this world retail holiday hours, but your inexperienced store managers, floor managers and HR managers are really giving the company a bad reputation. Take the time to really examine why everyone here says... the same thing about your inexperienced managers. Are we all incorrect ?

    Show More
    Von Maur2014-03-09
  9. "Thank You Von Maur!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay Time and a half on Sunday

    Cons

    Strict dress code - not flexible at all Executive management not listening to your concerns just hurrying you off to get back out to the floor, being short with you with their response and not fully engaging in a conversation with you. it's like talking to yourself sometimes because you can't really get feedback. The floor manager sugar coats everything instead of giving you a straight answer and then you go to... another floor manager and you get the straight answer you were looking for. Why can't I just get proper communication from my floor manager? It's becoming very stressful to function in my role because my support which is my floor manager isn't supportive. I don't know how the recruiting or selection process goes when choosing floor managers but no disrespect because we department managers have more experience in management then the floor managers that oversee us. Maybe that's why the communication is so poor, I would suggest the selection process that is used for department managers is used for floor managers because we have been running stores for years. Thank you to Von Maur for bringing in a store manager that is real!!! This new store manager has been here for about 2 weeks or so and already the energy in the store is better. She is personable and talking with her she listens and can communicate information back to you. The previous store manager clearly had favorites and it was shown through the treatment of associates. She acted as if she cared while talking to you but nothing was done and your floor manager came back to you to have a conversation with you about your original conversation with the store manager as if your stupid and aren't going to put two and two together. The best way to say this to be politically correct is that the previous store manager obviously has not been exposed to many other ethnicities prior to coming to Birmingham and anyone with two eyes could see it. So I don't blame it on her just the assumption that she just hasn't been around a lot of other ethnicities to know how to deal with them. I and many others are glad she is gone and now we have a manager that will help bring us back to where we were when we first started with the company, which was happy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really pay attention to who you put in these floor manager positions. Are they experienced enough to handle the floor or do they "fit" the Von Maur image. Clearly from reading other reviews other stores feel the same way about their executive team. You have a lot of experienced and seasoned department managers here in this store that aren't getting the treatment, communication and respect they deserve. Again, Thank... you for giving us our new store manager because she is already begun to remove the bad taste that has been left in my mouth from the previous store manager.

    Show More
    Von Maur2014-02-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The most blatantly racist company I have ever worked for in my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time and a half on Sunday.

    Cons

    This company works in their own self described "Grey Area." When it comes to disciplinary actions, blacks get written up and discharged while whites are allowed to continue working even though they have done exactly the same violations. If you are black and want to advance, all I can say is find somewhere else to try it. They will hire blacks and are absolutely comfortable keeping a black person as a... department manager or sales associate however, very few reach the executive management stage. Why is that? Do blacks not apply for those jobs? And when they do apply what are they told? As far as experience and qualifications go most of the individuals they have currently in the role of department managers, exceed the experience of their current floor managers, especially the one down on the first floor. You know, this type of behavior can only flow from the top down. This is 2014 I'm sure plenty of lawsuits are on the horizon for this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Is anybody aware of what's really going on down here? You brought a new manager to Birmingham but the problems in the company are MUCH too big for her to handle alone.

    Von Maur2014-03-19
Found 872 reviews