Von Maur "department managers" Reviews | Glassdoor

Von Maur Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 870 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Von Maur CEO James D. von Maur
James D. von Maur
436 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Sales Associate in Birmingham, AL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time and a half on Sundays and off on major holidays. Beautiful and clean store with gorgeous antiques.

    Cons

    This company expects it's associates to be walking talking Von Maur robots. The upper management is a joke. They are snobby, pretentious and condescending people who do not care about their employees. Floor managers have no people skills or training, and department managers are either being hd back from doing a good job or are completely incompetent. The product is very nice but the store doesn't run any... advertisement, run sales or know how to merchandise. The policies and dress code is extremely outdated. There is so much gossiping, drama, back stabbing, lying, theft (both external and internal), firing for no good reason and no trust whatsoever. People who keep their mouths shut get promoted. I noticed a lot of racism from the upper management and from a particular floor manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have to show your employees respect. Treat your employees well and they will treat you well and do their job well. Stick to what you say. Do not sugarcoat this company to people in interviews. Tell them what they're truly getting themselves into.

    Von Maur2014-03-10
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Keep Your Mouth Shut If You Want To Keep Your Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great hours for retail, closed holidays, better than average starting pay, ability to move up within the company.

    Cons

    The most ridiculous customer service policies I've ever seen, and I've been in retail for over 20 years. The customer is NOT always right, and is quite often very wrong. They have trained their customers to take complete advantage of this policy, to the point that people are ripping them off by making purchases and coming back months later to get price adjustments. You might be able to live with that if the... company treated it's staff well. It's nice to be able to move up within a company, but they'll promote anyone, if they like you. I've seen people get promoted up to 5 times within one year, and no one is that good. They even publicize their promotions in a quarterly magazine, so that the entire company can see where you've been and for how long. If you get a floor manager that you like, who seems to be astute and intelligent, they'll soon be replaced by a twenty-something climber who has no clue what retail management is about. Whatever you do, don't voice your actual concerns or opinions to this person, because she'll use them against you in her climb to the top. If you are a department manager, you should never tell one of these Barbie dolls anything they might really need to know about your area, like who actually does their job, who violates policy, who has great skills, etc., You will be viewed as biased, playing favorites with your staff. Never mind that upper management plays favorites within their DM's. Any conversations you have with upper management regarding reviews or staffing are usually done with another member of upper management present, but you need to document things for your own protection, because if one of your witnesses leaves the company, your word is worthless. Upper management will lie to you and betray you, if they are told to by regionals, and they will claim that they have no recollection of conversations. Managers are regularly demoted, ruining professional reputations and causing embarrassment. If you want to get rid of someone you work with, go to upper management and make up wild stories and lies. You will be believed, and your target has to find a way to defend themselves. The actual scheduling system is badly designed, and is not fair. If you want to manipulate the system, you cam plan things so that you work every Sunday, earning time and a half, while forcing you co-workers to work slow hours during the week. Some people haven't worked a Sunday in months, others never seem to close on Saturday night. Even though you get one weekend off a month, they process it so that you could go 7 weeks without a weekend off, then get 2 close together With the exception of my weekends off, I have currently worked ever Saturday and Sunday for the last 4 months, most weeks closing on Saturday nights. I am told that this is my fault, because I need to make requests to my availability, and that the system is deliberately designed to be unfair. What? So it's Ok for upper management to play favorites, it's OK for the schedule to be unfair, but if anyone randomly accuses a DM of having favorites, they can lose their job. The dress code is archaic and sexist. How do you tell your employees that it's unprofessional for women to wear pants, yet we can have a female Secretary of State who wears pants? It's interesting that we don't have many skirts available for purchase, either, so we apparently approve of pants for our female business customers. Don't mention this to your buyers, though. They have no interest in what the customer actually asks for, and if you work for a smaller store, you'll never get the good stuff anyway.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix the scheduling system so that employees have a fair distribution of weekend shifts. Institute a five minute grace period for tardies. It would be good for morale. Your DM's need to be people who have experience, and who can handle the job, not just those who ask to be managers. Value them for their leadership, and don't punish them for being strong. Don't validate whiners or gossips, and don't listen to... spies and tattletales. Floor Managers need to be experienced and seasoned. Be clear about policies, and enforce them fairly. If someone doesn't make their goal at the end of 90 days, let them go. Don't go back on your word when it's convenient. Be consistent in your training. Don't tell your new hires that they need to make one contact for every 8 hours worked, then tell them that only certain contacts count. If I make calls to 6 stores to track down a sale sweater for a customer, when I call the customer to tell them their sweater has arrived, it should count as a contact. I certainly worked for it. Don't tell the Cosmetics associates that all 500 of their names/numbers count as valued customers, while associates in other areas are told to keep about 15-20 as actual "valued" customers. Change the dress code. Period. Be consistent, and treat all your employees fairly.

    Show More
    Von Maur2014-02-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible, demeaning employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Von Maur

    Pros

    Working with loyal customers, ability to have own direction with merchandising product

    Cons

    I have been contemplating writing a review on here for a long time, but it sickens me to see some people posting good reviews for this place. If anyone out there is even considering working for this company please, please take these reviews into consideration. This company is nothing but harmful to your career. When I worked there it completely felt like big brother was watching at all times. I had a great clientele... base, exceeded credit card sales goals and was consistently the top of my department in selling. Every week I was getting called out for a customer compliment. Once the company caught on that I was a great employee, but refused to drink the kool-aid they made it pure hell for me. My department manager was the first to catch on, and feared I would take her position. Once this company figures out they don't like one if their employees they will do everything in their power to "coach you out" of working for them (this is word for word their tactics for employees they do not like, but have no reason to fire) . They basically started to give me horrible reviews with nothing to stand on, literally have employees spy on me and report back, and I got called into the store managers office for no reason at all. Never got written up once because there was no proof but they worked to push me to my edge until I broke. I was broken, and completely thought it was me until I landed a job in at an extremely competitive high end retail company where they not only promoted me, and continue to praise me but they ACT NORMAL. Please, please take this into consideration. I refuse to have their name in my resume, they have tainted my retail experience forever. I have nightmares thinking about any future employee that make work this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are completely unsupportive of your employees. It's not conducive for a positive, learning environment. To "coach someone out of" working for you is sickening. You should be investing your time and training into your employees and watch them grow rather than beating them while they're down. I understand if someone is getting written up, customer complaints, and you've put your resources towards them, but to... coach out someone with no reasoning is completely ridiculous. If I could report you to someone I honestly would.

    Show More
    Von Maur2014-02-19
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Want to leave work crabby and irritated? Work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Eden Prairie, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No holiday hours. Decent pay. Decent discount. Get out shortly after closing. Nice merchandise and nice store. Good co-workers for the most part.

    Cons

    Not Flexible...with anything- they have obnoxious schedule requirements, unless you are lucky enough to be favorited. Crappy management. They are unprofessional, at best. The human resource manager gets very upset if are sick and need to go home, call in sick, or have an emergency that requires you to leave work. The floor managers seem to think they are God's gift to earth. It would be surprising if your floor... manager is anything but a young and unexperienced woman in her 20's. They preach how they will help you if you call for help. In reality, they either won't respond to your page, take forever and a day to come "help" you, or they will swing in the department for 5 minutes and rush out again. Very rarely do you find a floor manager that will stick around and actually help. If you come to them with a department problem, it rarely gets handled either. They seem to enjoy sweeping problems under the rug, or writing you up. If you get a lazy department manager that pawns their DM tasks off and doesn't do their job-- good luck getting upper management to do anything about that either, or allowing you to switch departments. Obscene favoritism. Von Maur scheduling policy states that employee's get one weekend off a month. Fine. My problem with that starts when certain employee's somehow get out of working a lot of weekends or other scheduling requirements. We do pick up on that favoritism and it does create resentment. The favoritism also extends to write ups. Some people can get away with something while most others will get written up for the same thing. Nit-picky. Von Maur management likes to reprimand for petty things. It's a very serious matter to be one minute late, wear a skirt 2.2 inches above the knee, wear patterned socks, have a mint in your mouth, or have an 1/8 inch of a tattoo showing; but if you are exceeding your sales goals, opening credits, and have customers calling in to praise you then you won't hear so much as a "good job" out of them. High turnover which frequently leads to staffing issues, which in turn often leads to stress during busy times.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit acting like you were handed Queen Elizabeth's throne and come down off of your high horse's...you are not better than the rest of us, and your behavior makes you lower than us. Get some black and white rules. Quit with the "grey" area crap. Stop the favoritism. Hire managers that actually know how to manage effectively. Show appreciation for your employees. Be more helpful.

    Von Maur2014-01-17
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Pretty and sophisticated from the outside, but antiquated, sexist, and views all employees as disposable..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Beavercreek, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time and a half on Sundays, no crazy holiday hours, closed lots of holidays, paid holidays, benefits even for part-time, work fairly easy, etc.

    Cons

    Crap discount compared to other retail employers (20%), sexist dresscode (every woman must wear hosiery and skirts/dresses), clique-y coworkers, unprofessional department managers, lack of staffing, no proper training, frequently covering depts where you have no idea where things are or how they do things/unfamiliar with product, lots of times you will be stuck by yourself closing, people take personal calls on the... floor, the registers are old/outdated (terrible 80s computers), there is no way to easily track sales unless you go to every register in your department and write down your transactions, all good sales are only being "rented" by customers, you never know what your goal is... Just sph, inflexible policies for employees, snobby entitled clients, impersonal management approach, everything by the book, conservative to a fault, individuality not acceptable, extremely high turnover, employees saying most people do not last three weeks, people are easily fired, they motivate with fear by writing you up, you never truly know where you stand, processes that are much quicker at other establishments take forever with these old routines, training videos from 20 years ago, outdated mottos that are stereotypical and haven't evolved. NEED I SAY MORE?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Receive more training, take the time to know your employees, revise discounts (we deserve more than 20%), stop acting like you are superior, give people a chance before you beat them down, stop using fear of termination to fuel associates (breeds resentment), value your employees, stop hiring the youngest person you can find to be store manager, stop being so inflexible and consider not everything happens within a... sales bracket or a time frame. GET HIP. Get rid of that awful dresscode. It is 2013, not 1993... You could learn a thing or two from the fast growing modern companies. there is a reason people leave in droves.

    Show More
    Von Maur2013-10-22
  6. Helpful (11)

    "You'll be so much better off elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% Discount Really good exercise if you work in the shoe department

    Cons

    Intense dread when driving to work Fear of being let go on a daily basis Lack of training Dress code. As a department manager, Management didn't like my style of leading (I'm a former Marine, so I lead from the front and protected my people in my department) Management fired THREE of my associates without even consulting with me first. Floor managers who feel threatened will "take out the... competition" rather than lead Living in constant fear of losing your job. You will get written up on bogus information if management has it out for you. Once you are "labeled" in Von Maur, that was your only shot. If you fail at an interview in a certain position, they will never consider you again. No training--they just throw you out on the floor and it's sink or swim If you are a veteran and request veteran's day off, they give you A LOT of grief for it and make you feel like you're letting everyone down No drinking water on the sales floor. Listening to the same piano music over and over again Advice to employees who feel beat down: You can do so much better elsewhere. You don't have to be treated like this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at your employees as human beings. Recognize that they may have something good to offer your company, even if it's not "the way you've always operated". If there is any way you could have an undercover "employee" work at each of your stores for six months, and have them write reports on how they are trained, treated, etc., it may open your eyes. I don't think you understand how poorly your staff is... treated.

    Show More
    Von Maur2013-10-09
  7. Helpful (5)

    "the less you know the higher up you go."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -sunday time and a half, closed on holidays, reasonable pay in terms of retail

    Cons

    -department manager title is nothing but a glorified sales associate, upper management is promoted too early with no qualifications, upper management has no communication skills, upper management is very secretive and sneaky in dealing with associates, always felt like you were on the chopping block for something, fake secret shops in order to write associates up, executive training program not used to its best... potential, buyers for the company not in touch with todays fashion-always seemed like a season behind, and dress code is completely out of date and sexist.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    my advice to upper management is to put your egos aside and actually listen to your employees, you hired them for a reason so let them do what they were hired to do. my other advice is not to promote the fact that you pride yourselves from promoting from within because you don't promote qualified candidates, what you choose to promote is someone who won't question you when you might be wrong and is young and... inexperienced so you can brainwash them into your way of thinking. i know MANY, not including myself, qualified candidates that were passed over for positions that they themselves had either previously worked or had degrees in for people who had no knowledge of what that position entailed. i also do not agree with how they like to conspire to fire people. i was in several meetings with upper management about a troubled individual in where i was told things that were to be kept between the 2 of us and i was forced to say things i was not comfortable saying. these other reviewers are right in saying that if they don't like you, they will try to get rid of you. i was honestly happier as a sales associate when i didn't know how corrupt management was.

    Show More
    Von Maur2013-08-03
  8. "Pleasant, Encouraging Retail Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Better Sportswear Sales Associate Full Time in Beavercreek, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For a retail job, this is top of the line. You get all holidays off and even get paid for them after one year on the job. Their hours are normal 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. with no crazy early or late hours. I love that Tess auto schedules three weeks ahead of time. That way you have time ahead to trade days with co-workers if something comes up. You don't get last minute phone calls to fill in shifts, because they post... unfilled shifts on a bulletin board. If you pick up another shift, you get paid over-time if you go over 80 hours in two weeks. The store is uncluttered, open and airy, you can see the whole floor at a glance, restrooms are huge, clean and elegant. You get to put out your own new merchandise in your own department. Training is one whole week, with a couple days on the floor working with your department manager, before they throw you out there on your own. Commission is awesome, but it can get a little competitive. For the most part, everyone is taught to work as a team. Upper Management has been very responsive and has an open door policy. If there are ever any department manager or co-worker disputes, Store Mgr. and HR Mgr. call meetings with Floor Mgr. and Dept. Mgr. until they are resolved. Even though upper management are mostly young college graduates and they do promote fairly quickly, all managers have worked on the floor and know what has worked for them. If you want an office job where you have weekends off, and you want a more flexible schedule, this may not be your cup of tea, but for a retail establishment, I appreciate the higher standards and higher dress code. This is a boutique kind of store, many of the customers do purchase higher end merchandise, and you get to develop a closer relationship with your customers as you have time to actually show them merchandise out on the floor and get other sizes for them in the fitting room. I've found that the more you communicate with upper management, and your team of co-workers and dept. manager, the better off you are. I love, love, love our customers! They are so much fun! Having worked at another retail establishment for 3 years where I never was able to get a full-time job, I am pleased as punch to have been at Von Maur full-time for the past 8 months. I would have been here 3 years ago if only I'd known what a great place to work this is!

    Show More

    Cons

    When upper management trains what they call "the Von Maur way," department managers can be slow to catch on to the new methods of training. Sometimes department managers can be territorial, and micro-manage your whole day, when they could be more responsive to encouraging you to follow the new methods of training. New managers are in touch with upper management in the company, and they seem very responsive to new... employees, to new methods of suggestive selling, and are very fair to new employees who come in off the street and have worked in other types of retail establishments. Sometimes department managers have a hard time being flexible and listening to upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest scheduling hour long dept. meetings with dept. managers and upper management and the work team for training during non-sell hours, so that all workers get to air out their concerns and get on the same page a couple times a year. This helps everyone feel that they are part of the Von Maur team. This should be standard practice, whether there are obvious issues or not.

    Von Maur2013-03-19
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Will drain all the happiness out of your life. Expect lies, unethical procedures and a tainted view of business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in North Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for retail. Holidays Closed. Relocation Advancement. Sale Merchandise.

    Cons

    Those who drink the "Kool Aid", many of which are Upper Management, will stand behind any company policy procedure no matter how unethical or immoral. They are robots with heels. Saddest people in the world. When the company needs to clean house, they often let people go with out adequate reasoning or proof of factual events. This includes Associates, Department Managers and even Floor Managers at times.... Everything is subjective. Highest turnover of any company I have ever worked for. Five Department Managers left in a two week time period voluntarily to work for competitors.....think about that. Really think about what that says about a company when they have twenty something Department Managers in one location. Floor Managers are expected to have no personality. They, along with Store Management, will tell Department Managers, "What are you going to do" when issues arise in which Department Management have no control. Department Managers are nothing more than glorified Sales Associates. They do no hire any employees but are expected to handle some of the most unprofessional and stressful coworkers I have ever worked with in my life. When Upper Management hires plenty of lackluster people, it is the Department Managers job to "mold" them into great sales leaders. How is this possible when all Department Manager input is overlooked, unheard and unappreciated? Answer: They don't care about you. Never have and never will. Upper Management will dig for information for you. They love those who nark on others since it provides reason for the company to lighten their overall work force by means of "discovered" information. Loss Prevention is always watching Associates and searching stock rooms weekly. This is an attempt to find problems with workers considering all is well when the workforce is a little lighter than before. Policies that date from 1872 include: -Outdated technology that is always breaking -Sexist clothing for woman -Men are not allowed into fitting rooms in fear that it may offend female shoppers (Less than five percent all of Floor Manager and Store Manager roles are held by men....very ironic if you put some thought into it considering it is retail) -Customer is always right and the employees are always wrong mentality -Upper management never second guesses their actions but are first to judge anyone else The company has recently opened two stores in the Metro Atlanta Area. Reverse discrimination is apparent in both locations. Many selected employees who have had valid customer complaints are still put on a pedestal and their faults have been overlooked. This has happened several times over the course of a few months. Numerous customers observe the ever increasing amount of diversity and communicate it to Associates and Department Managers directly. Executive Management continues to overlook this disturbing trend. Stores are understaffed intentionally. Plenty of call outs daily, leaving other Associates to cover areas left empty by feed up employees who call out (Can you blame them?)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can't take my soul away the way the company has intentionally taken yours. I truly don't know how you sleep at night.

    Von Maur2013-03-25
  10. "Best out of other Retail jobs..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - COSMETICS in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Close early on holiday eve's (christmas eve, new years eve) so you can be with your family, special Sunday pay, they close the store for inventory instead of making employees work overnight (like Dillards), many contests and incentives, they promote from within (yes even the under-qualified individuals) also, my store was very accommodating to those who are pregnant. I had a wonderful work experience throughout my... pregnancy there. They allowed more than the federally required times for you to break if you had to pump (nursing) in a special office they made just for nursing employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    women HAVE to wear panty hose and skirts. we are not allowed to wear pants. my department manager was a micromanager

    Von Maur2012-11-03
Found 870 reviews