Von Maur "major holidays" Reviews | Glassdoor

Von Maur Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 864 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Von Maur CEO James D. von Maur
James D. von Maur
434 Ratings
  1. "Prestigous Retailer, Low Traffic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, calm atmosphere, good commission and spiffs, clean environment, prompt communication. FANTASTIC hours. We were very well taken care of during the holiday season and because of this, I got to spend Christmas and Thanksgiving with my family, who don't live in the area. Eves of holidays, Von Maur closes at 4 (including Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day) and they are always closed on major... holidays. No opening at 6pm on Thanksgiving (I'm looking at you, Penney's and Kohl's).

    Show More

    Cons

    The traffic is so low at Von Maur that weekdays outside of the holiday season are sometimes so boring it's unbearable. If you're the type that doesn't always need someone telling you what to do, then you can always find things to occupy your time with (contacting clients by phone, cleaning and organizing, product knowledge, etc.). Also, as a pianist, the live musicians they hired at our location were pretty awful... to be honest!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    it's possible to be both professional and authentic with your employees. I'm not sure if this is just a retail thing, upper management always seems kind of affected. I also received an innumerable amount of backhanded compliments and a lack of encouragement when I would do something right. But if something went wrong, I would get called into the office immediately. I realize that upper management has to balance a... lot of things on their plate, and negative performance had to be dealt with because it's usually more urgent, and we appreciated your hard work for us.

    Show More
    Von Maur2016-01-06
  2. "Fantastic Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Full Time Sales Associate in Dayton, OH

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for! It is a family owned company, and you can tell because they genuinely care about their employees. In the commission-based areas, the pay scale is great, and you don't have to work any crazy hours, which is unheard of in retail. They are closed on most major holidays, and you never have to work at 3 am on Black Friday.

    Cons

    None that I can think of right now. I wish there was one in my area now. I would go work there again in a heart beat!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Von Maur2015-09-01
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Department Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    VERY few pros: Great benefits (health insurance, 401k, etc), ability to learn the dynamics of running a small business, closed on all major holidays. If you are a pretty young lady who knows how to fake the whole professionalism persona this is PERFECT for you- but you will be hated by almost everyone in the store.

    Cons

    Where do I start? Worked there 3 years and it was great until the store manager changed. Upper management lacks experience other than Von Maur training. The company has strong customer policies in place but anytime you call an upper out they will approve the customer situation. Even if said customer has an Ebay store and is selling your 3rd markdown shoes online at higher prices and buying out half your sale room,... because the customer is ALWAYS right (They did put restrictions on her but she still goes through loopholes, ANYHOO). Basically, VM trains them to be passive aggressive and to leave other upper managers voicemails about associates instead of upfront confronting someone on whatever it may be. They have a chain of command that is unnecessary just to put the fear into the associates that they are the supreme leader and are and have a "too good 4 u" attitude at all times. For example, your store manager may have something to tell you and instead of coming directly to you she will tell your floor manager to tell you something even though she could just tell you and the FM is off. Treatment like this makes people feel belittled and unimportant, which to me is unusual when you are the manager in charge of the highest dollar department in the store. Management also fails to recognize associates and managers for their hard work, and fails to review schedules to accommodate for truck days or markdowns and it ends up that only 1 or 2 people are doing a task that takes more than 4+ people. Floor managers act like they care and will help but are empty words and end up depending on you to do everything.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    BE ON THE FLOOR MORE STORE MANAGERS. How can you claim to understand peoples work ethics when you only see them once a week for 5 minutes when the rest of the time you are in your office with the door closed? Open door policy? I think not. Also, why is the district writing your performance review when she is only in the store once every 1-2 months? I understand you communicate a lot but you (district) should also... rely on your department managers for feedback on how they are doing on an interpersonal level. But no, we are too low at the chain of command.

    Show More
    Von Maur2015-09-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    Good pay for associates, major Holidays off, Dept. easy to close each day, 1 hour lunch break, Clean place to work.

    Cons

    All departments have different sales goals, if you don't meet those goals they will fire you. Dept. managers & sales associate steal your sales out of desperation. No way to track your sales on register so you never really know where your at for sales. Not everyone has to follow dept. policies. example: holds, merchandise request. Store is located away from other stores so low foot traffic makes it hard to meet... goals if you are new. Staff that have been with company for a long time makes it difficult to assist customers. They consider every customer their customer and will insist that you give them either 50% to 100% of the sale even if they only said hello to customer. No support from Management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. If you want sales then make it easy to track on register. Policies should be the same for everyone. Do away with commissions, have staff work as a team, set team goals so staff doesn't steal each others sales. Employees should get full 90 days to learn merchandise and meet goals.

    Von Maur2015-08-05
  5. "Great company with friendly, family-oriented atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee support, store closed on major holidays (with paid off-time!), clearly communicated expectations and rules, excellent customer service standards

    Cons

    Retail hours, only one weekend off per month

    Von Maur2015-06-27
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Department Manager in Wichita, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay isn't great, but commission adds up, especially during holidays. Time and a half on Sundays. Closed on major holidays.

    Cons

    Management doesn't respect the dept managers. You are to do what you're told, like a robot, but then when something goes wrong, it's "your fault" and "why didn't you take care of that." They're such a pay grade above, they act like they're hot and better than you. If you are a sales associate and can handle working under these types of people, you'd probably like working here. This place isn't for the strong willed,... unless you're in upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There's no advice I could give. Management here will always be this way, and I doubt it will ever change.

    Von Maur2015-06-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Don't get your hopes up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Lake Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur

    Pros

    Closed on major holidays. No coupons to deal with. Customers are usually friendly and well mannered. Pay is decent depending on the department you are in. A great place to work in retail but it's still retail.

    Cons

    Favoritism is a huge problem at my location. Management will tell you there is a lot of opportunity to advance within the company when you are first hired but there is no incentive to do so. My commission as a sales associate averages to be more pay than a department manager and you must be a department manger before you can advance. If you want to advance you have to move locations because of "moral" reasons.... Turnover is obnoxious. It makes sense though, I would not suggest going into this job with a long term mindset. Unless you enjoy feeling like you cannot express yourself to management or fellow employees. You have to "adjust" your personality to the Von Maur standard and just accept anything anyone tells you without question. It makes me feel like a robot or a stepford wife, especially having to wear the tights and skirts or dresses everyday.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up. I say this in a caring empathetic way, I know this is your job and you may have spent a lot of time and effort to get were you are in your career, but please remember what it's like outside of the Von Maur bubble. This facade that you all put on is not real life, and I really hope that you can realize that there are much more important problems in the world than running a retail store that people face... everyday. No one needs anything you sell, no one needs your store or the people in it, service is such a main priority to the company and yet they serve nothing of actual real world value. What are they actually doing for the community? You all get wrapped up in the small Von Maur outlook, and I hope one day you start looking at the bigger picture and do something of value.

    Show More
    Von Maur2015-06-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "I've been working as sales associate for about 3 years, and all this time have been thinking about changing a company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The store is closed on major holidays. Very nice customers, clean and beautiful environment. The pay is decent for retail.

    Cons

    Very inconsistent unpredictable schedule which makes it almost impossible to make any plans and appointments. Long hours of work, very unprofessional management resulted from promotions from within, resistant to changes

    Advice to Management

    To appreciate employees that work on the floor and keep the company going.

    Von Maur2015-04-12
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Please go back to wherever you came from! The worst company I've ever had the displeasure to work for!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Major Holidays off. Time and a half on Sundays.

    Cons

    Although you do not have to work most holidays, during Christmas and events you will be working 6 to 9 sometimes 12 days straight!. Management is too young or inexperienced and have no idea what they are doing, so rules change almost daily. Associates are leaving by the bus load but management still expects you to make the same numbers as if you are fully staffed. When you are off or on vacation, you are still some... how supposed to keep your numbers up in your department. Management talks down and belittles the employees with threats and continuous harassment. Every day your are expected to call the same customers harassing them for sales. Customers will not answer their phones any longer or will demand for you to take them off of your call list.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow up and learn from the Associates that have been in this business long before you were born. You are making the work environment a place that everyone dreads. You have wonderful Associates and it's not because of your Management it's because most are season veterans of this business and know what they are doing. You are in denial about your tacky merchandise and no advertising! You are not Nordstrom and you will... never be. Pack up and go back to the Midwest! No one wants you here! Oh and we all know that you get a bonus Store Manager if WE make your credit goal! That's why now harassment for credits has been added to your list of demands!

    Show More
    Von Maur2015-04-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Better than a lot of retail, but still a lot of problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur

    Pros

    The hours are better than most retail, closed all major holidays, no Black Friday deals or crazy hours, breaks were very good (one hour unpaid lunch)

    Cons

    Management, under most circumstances, sat and did nothing. Pay was sub-par. The return policy is not strict enough, so customers could pretty much get away with returning pretty much anything and get a refund back on their Von Maur charge. Very entitled customers due to the amount of perks the company offers (free gift wrapping, the return policy, etc).

    Advice to Management

    Back your employees up if they dispute a return! It makes them look like idiots to the customers when you don't. Pitch in and help us out if we're busy, as opposed to merely patrolling the store and sitting on your butts in the office. Evenly hire throughout the store, as opposed to hiring for departments that are fully staffed and leaving other departments without any employees (and just having employees from other... departments cover in that area).

    Show More
    Von Maur2015-01-11
Found 864 reviews