Von Maur "major holidays" Reviews | Glassdoor

Von Maur Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 864 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Von Maur CEO James D. von Maur
James D. von Maur
434 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great at first, but the illusion wears off quick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerical in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office program training, health, dental, life, & short term disability insurance offered, Major holidays off.

    Cons

    Once there and established in your role, there will never be a way to move up. You are labeled as soon as you are hired. They will let you think there is room for growth, all the while knowing they will never promote you and it will take years for you to get even a dollar more an hour than you did when you first started. Office staff are not appreciated or valued and are often reminded that everyone, including you,... is replaceable. They will always choose the 22 year old blonde female sorority sister with zero experience over degreed office staff to promote to buying and management positions. If you have free will and half a brain you will be miserable working there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Truly promote from within. Look at all of your employees and their assets. It's time to stop hiring only young, dumb, and blonde girls to run your store. Just they have a bachelors degree doesn't mean they are smart or know what they are doing. Trust your training programs and promote from the bottom up.

    Von Maur2014-11-20
  2. "Stuffy environment, rude customers, management is a mess."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, especially for a retail employer. You get major holidays off.

    Cons

    The dress code is from the 1950s. A lot of management has no idea what they're doing and are untrained/incompetent. There is a high turnover rate and the work can be very stressful. Managers do not protect you from rude customers, even if they are being openly racist toward you. While some coworkers are great, there is a general level of cattiness in certain departments. Extreme lack of diversity. Sales commission... is pretty small (10% for part time, 20% full) and discount is also fairly small (10% part time).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't always promote internally - sometimes new opinions are the most helpful. Have clear policies on what to do if employees are sexually or racially harassed, especially by customers. Protect your employees more. Foster a more positive environment and don't work everyone to death.

    Von Maur2014-10-24
  3. Helpful (11)

    "It's a nice place to visit, but I wouldn't want to live there..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Comprehensive initial training period - Beautiful store atmosphere - Exemplary customer service policy - Decent associate discount, and benefits for full-time employees - Time and a half pay on Sundays - Closed all major holidays, with no extended hours during holiday season.

    Cons

    My journey through the dark side of Von Maur began -- as many others likely did -- with an outstanding customer experience. When the department store chain first opened a location within driving distance of my small farming community, I was both fascinated and intrigued. I spent hours browsing -- and indulging -- in merchandise that probably cost more than my monthly truck payment. But I was sold... hook,... line and sinker. I couldn't get enough. Upon finding myself needing employment at a later date, I dashed off a hasty application, thinking to myself, "If I love shopping there so much, why wouldn't I love to work there?" After sending off the application, I was contacted almost immediately, set up for an interview, and hired, practically on the spot. However... mirroring their beautiful complimentary gift-wrap, the idea of employment at Von Maur is packaged gorgeously, and topped off with an extravagant bow. But, once one opens the package, there is unfortunately nothing beautiful -- nor even positive -- to behold inside. I truly wanted to love working for Von Maur. I bought into everything that I was fed during training... probably for a little longer than the average employee. (And I may have been a starry-eyed country kid, but I can tell when things aren't quite right, and I can tell when people aren't happy. And none of the co-workers I ever met seemed truly happy... in fact, most seemed kind of miserable.) In an interesting twist, I was actually promoted to a Department Manager position about six weeks after I started. At the time, I couldn't have been more proud or pleased... but looking back, I wasn't ready. I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I had no retail management experience whatsoever. Basically, I was still just a dumb country kid with, apparently, a lot left to learn. So, needless to say, there were a few things I didn't do quite right, initially, but it wasn't for lack of trying. Even as naive as I was -- and I hate to say this -- but I never really had a lot of respect for upper management. I truly wanted to, mind you... because, I was raised to respect those above me. But... any time I would ask them a question regarding a policy, or whatnot, that I was unclear about... they'd just look at you like they were a deer in the headlights, and tell me that "That's a great question, I'll look into it." And then I'd never hear a single thing about it again. Ever. I think, though, that the final straw that broke the camel's back, so to speak, was when I had to ask for a couple days off when my grandfather passed away... and I was told, "We can give you bereavement, but... you don't really look that sad." Yes... that's an exact quote. From the store manager. Verbatim. I wouldn't recommend working here... I'm glad that I left with at least a little of my soul intact.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not worth wasting my time here, really...

    Von Maur2014-11-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Thank you Von Maur for Realizing what I DID NOT want in an employer!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    Closed on Major holidays Time and a Half on Sundays Annual Employee Appreciation Party for 10+ years of Service

    Cons

    Prior Retail Experience makes little difference with this company. The dress code is sexist and outdated-doing inventory, stock and inspection cleaning in a skirt or dress is ridiculous! No water beyond the breakroom! Pay is average and the annual rate increases ,if you are eligible for one, are low. NO exceptions for being late to work-1 minute late is LATE! Employees are allowed 13 tardies in 1 year. Once you... are written up it's all over, unless you are a top seller and then you have job security even if you have numerous customer complaints in your file! The longer an employee is with this company, the more difficult it is to be terminated. The IT systems are still outdated even though they are new and no department or cosmetic counter managers have access to email. Store Management uses a paging system and many times they do not answer the pages or offer assistance in the departments. Store Management likes to watch employees in the LP office on the security cameras as everyone is labeled a potential thief! Your opinion and ideas are only relevant and heard if you are in Store Management.Hang it up before you even think of applying if you want to advance to a Store Management level if your are NOT young, blonde, female and under the age of 30!! If you are Intelligent, Evolving, have Great Ideas and a Mind of your Own, RUN to another company that will appreciate you!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Favoritism will not win in the long run. There are many extremely intelligent people working for the company-allow them to share their talents and insight. If the company continues to grow with new stores, it will be difficult to micro-manage on a regional/corporate level! Corporate employees NEVER win when belittling, mocking or making fun of employees in the stores they are visiting!!

    Von Maur2014-06-29
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful store carrying nice merchandise, considerably higher pay than most department stores, time and half on Sunday, major holidays are paid and the store is closed, reasonable health care coverage.

    Cons

    Inexperienced management; would rather promote someone with no retail experience, and no management experience for the sole reason that they can be trained in the Von Maur way. If you're not part of their favorite clique, they will find some way to push you out. Certain departments receive more assistance than others (again, if you're a favorite, your floor manager will be in your department all day laughing and... re-merchandising) some departments hardly hear from their floor manager unless something is wrong. Don't rely on them for feedback, because that will never happen even though it was promised. Department managers have sales goals when their entire job revolves around coaching the associates; only receive a portion of a "break" depending on dept volume. If you don't make your sales goal once you receive disciplinary action. They frown upon friendships with your co-workers even though you see these people more often then you see your families. Although, if you're a favorite, they let that slide, and promote you. Don't even think about being a minute late. You'll receive an occurrence. If your shift starts at 9am, you punch in at 9:01 you'll be dinged. Same with lunch. It's well believed that management has spies out on the floor to do their dirty work to find out what's going on, they'll even make up rumors if they find it to their own benefit. This leads to a hostile work environment because everyone feels as if they are under a microscope.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give an engagement survey. Find out why morale is down in certain departments. When department managers go to floor managers the floor managers ought to listen to what the dms are saying as opposed to brushing it under a rug and not wanting to do their job. Promote candidates that have some experience dealing with humans and understand that everyone should be treated equally. Store management harps on dms to... not be "cliquey" yet they are the ones that are creating the clique with their nepotism policy. Give department managers more responsibility when creating events. Allow them to have full access to computers to contact their reps and have successful event flyers throughout the store; forget this ladder of approval aspect. Allow departments to collaborate on events together. If cosmetics and sportswear are having an event include accessories, coats, lingerie for a completed look- it will lead to mutual benefits. Stop spying on associates. Get out on the floors and find out what's going on. I can't stress this enough. When regionals come to visit stores the department managers ought to be included in their conversation during the walk of that department. Allow tess to show department schedules so associates can have the option to switch schedules away from the store. This will save time and allow the associates to be on the floor more, opposed to running around the store trying to find someone to cover.

    Show More
    Von Maur2014-05-07
  6. "Great people - incredibly outdated company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get a nice discount on everything, and Sundays are paid time and a half. Most major holidays, the store is closed, so people can spend time with their loved ones. The people there are super warm and welcoming, and it's easy to feel comfortable. Based off what I've seen, if you work hard, you can get promoted incredibly quick.

    Cons

    As with most retail, hours aren't great, and you can only take off one weekend a month. They value coverage, so there are times where there are too many people on the floor and not enough stuff to do. Management doesn't dictate, and I feel like they could be more straightforward. In my personal opinion, pay is low for what's supposed to be a higher-end department store; department managers barely get paid more... than associates. Biggest gripe is definitely the fact that EVERYTHING about the store is outdated. Systems, policies, dress code, and just the overall look of the store all haven't changed in about 100 years.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible. DMs need to learn how to actually manage employees and dictate duties.

    Von Maur2014-04-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Why Would Anyone Want to Work Here?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional Sr. Management, stylish clothing (if you're older), excellent "feel" and surroundings, major Holidays off.

    Cons

    In the 30+ years I've been in retail, this is up there with some of the weirdest places I've ever worked. Floor managers are "twenty-somethings" fresh out of college (nice girls, no people skills whatsoever, every single one I've seen parade through this place). The pay is on-par with Wal-Mart and McDonald's (really, minimum wage or a buck or two above it), though benefits are offered, they cover very little... puting most of the cost on the backs of employees, there's a aura from management that "they" are doing you a favor by being employed by the Von Maur though at times, it really feels like a concentration camp. Managers are not allowed to socialize with associates (or even talk with them), scheduling is all about the company without regard for family, health appointments, personal needs or even safety. This is a company who is "stuck in the 1950s" both in terms of treatment of employees and management practices. Avoid these folks as your only contribution/expectation is to make an Iowa family richer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to treat your employees with respect and decency as if you ever think about coming out of hiding in mid-markets, Nordstrom and the like will eat your lunch and your overpriced apparel.

    Von Maur2014-03-21
  8. Helpful (3)

    "DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Sales Associate in Birmingham, AL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time and a half on Sundays and off on major holidays. Beautiful and clean store with gorgeous antiques.

    Cons

    This company expects it's associates to be walking talking Von Maur robots. The upper management is a joke. They are snobby, pretentious and condescending people who do not care about their employees. Floor managers have no people skills or training, and department managers are either being hd back from doing a good job or are completely incompetent. The product is very nice but the store doesn't run any... advertisement, run sales or know how to merchandise. The policies and dress code is extremely outdated. There is so much gossiping, drama, back stabbing, lying, theft (both external and internal), firing for no good reason and no trust whatsoever. People who keep their mouths shut get promoted. I noticed a lot of racism from the upper management and from a particular floor manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have to show your employees respect. Treat your employees well and they will treat you well and do their job well. Stick to what you say. Do not sugarcoat this company to people in interviews. Tell them what they're truly getting themselves into.

    Von Maur2014-03-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Unbelievable bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Von Maur full-time

    Pros

    Time 1/2 on Sunday, off major holidays

    Cons

    Unprofessional exec mgmt, mistrust toward dept managers and associates. After several yrs I still feel like my job is on the line at all times. Everyone is treated like a child- especially dept.managers!!! One writer said the turnover was due to high standards. NO, it's due to the absolute paranoia of the entire company. I cannot stress fully the tense, stressful working situation that is von maur!

    Advice to Management

    YOUR ASSOCIATES ARE NOT THE ENEMY, STOP RUNNING THEM OFF!!! ADVERTISE FOR GOSH SAKES BEFORE YOU'RE CRUSHED BY THE COMPETITION. FOLLOW UP BOOKS ARE NOT THE ANSWER. ADVERTISE !!!!!!!!!

    Von Maur2014-02-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good job if you have no real career goals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Sales Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Von Maur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Closed on major holidays and commission. Also, I was asked to be a manager after a couple months, I declined.

    Cons

    Very catty work atmosphere, tons of gossip and high turnover rate. You can go two weeks without a day off and they many people steal their coworker's sales/clients.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees better and don't allow senior workers to dictate a negative work environment.

    Von Maur2014-01-08
Found 864 reviews