Vrbo Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

Vrbo Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
Vrbo Senior Vice President and General Manager Jeff Hurst (no image)
Jeff Hurst
0 Rating
  1. "Ben here for 8 months now! Glad I pursued this opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment & the people

    Cons

    Like any job anywhere it can get a little too redundant

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2019-12-20
  2. "Satisfactory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good work, good benefits, lots to learn

    Cons

    too much is changing too fast

    Vrbo2019-11-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company, but Becoming More Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Transparency, emphasis on continuing development, exciting product

    Cons

    Poor strategic focus at high levels, things move slower now that Expedia acquired the company, culture is changing to become more corporate

    Vrbo2019-06-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Unplanned Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company offers excellent benefits that rival most other top tech employers. They invest in their employees and focus on finding great talent to start from.

    Cons

    Innovation is not at their core. If you want to extend your range of technical experimentation than this is not the place for you.

    Vrbo2019-04-25
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Bad Management- Toxic Culture for Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior PR Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Pay was ok actually. Just no way to move up much beyond what you start with

    Cons

    -People have been leaving in DROVES. Both by choice, and many pushed out, laid off, fired. Especially in Marketing even at a time when the company is extremely profitable. - Horrible executive team, micromanagement from the CEO John Kim who is widely disliked within the company. (note many of the positive reviews here on Glassdoor are an attempt by HR to improve the ratings) Its a very toxic culture. Simply take a look at all the departures lately including in HR. Any employee at HomeAway will tell you how much they dislike John Kim the CEO and how disrespectful he is - No love for the marketing and PR department. The absolute worst place to be at HomeAway...now "VRBO" if you are a marketing or PR person, stay away as you will not grow here. The new executive here has no marketing experience at all. - Misleading HomeOwners "Partners" ? maybe someone should ask the company on the record- exactly what % of the homes listed on HomeAway/VRBO actually get even 1 booking a year. This is a topic the public should inquire about (especially homeowners being enticed to choose this site over AirBnB) Compare the performance of homes listed on AirBnB to ones listed on VRBO.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2019-04-16

    Vrbo Response

    April 30, 2019Employer Brand & Digital Media Specialist

    Hi, Thanks for your review and for the level of detail you provided. You touched on several things. Each team plays an integral part in making HomeAway successful, including our PR and marketing teams, especially with their recent work with the Vrbo brand refresh. We're looking forward to sharing your feedback with senior leadership so we can continue to improve.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *great tech *engaged people *excellent benefits *fun travel opportunities

    Cons

    None that i can think of.

    Vrbo2019-02-14
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large company with a small company mentality. I am an integral part of the company and not just there to work. It is also nice to have breakfast provided every Friday.

    Cons

    They only have tacos every other Friday.

    Vrbo2019-02-06

    Vrbo Response

    February 12, 2019Employer Brand & Digital Media Specialist

    There may be tacos only twice a month, but we gotta show some love to kolaches and bagels!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great environment, great people, innovation culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the culture here - there's a real focus from the leadership team on down for innovation, and give you the latitude to experiment and try new things. Lots of opportunity for career development and growth (Product Academy, Mentoring program with C-level executives, peer groups, online learning, training, etc). It's fun to be around intelligent people doing intelligent things.

    Cons

    Attrition on some teams, need to staff up and maintain our talent better.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2018-07-16
  9. "Great people doing exciting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Empowered to work on exciting projects and create change with data-driven recommendations. In control of career trajectory; HomeAway is excellent at recognizing talent and promoting internally without red tape or restrictions.

    Cons

    HomeAway is spread across several offices in Austin and commuting between them can be tedious at times.

    Vrbo2018-07-17
  10. "Software engineering manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good tech stack - Good benefits - Easy lifestyle

    Cons

    - Below par pay - very slow moving and too much focus on process and less on execution

    Vrbo2018-05-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 55 reviews