Vrbo Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Vrbo Manager Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
86%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Vrbo Senior Vice President and General Manager Jeff Hurst (no image)
Jeff Hurst
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Our CEO is not only inspiring but really cares about our culture and establishing a learning environment. The company brings in incredible speakers and hosts learning events far surpassing what I've been exposed to at other companies. - We recently rolled out renewed values and while this can be challenging, I think majority of our employees, including myself, have felt very much a big part of the process. It did not feel top-down but rather felt organic and driven by employees. I feel we were already living these values but now have a common language to talk about them with each other. - My manager and team are incredible. I work with really smart, humble people. - Trust, enablement, feedback, and continuous growth and improvement allows the company and employees to thrive. - We are making a ton of changes to best support our consumers and build a world class product and it's exciting to be part of it. - We have unique opportunities for employees to pitch an idea for how to improve the business and our leadership team is open to hear any ideas. - Salary is on par with expectations, if not above. More importantly, the work is rewarding and I've never worked for a company with such an incredible group of employees and leadership.

    Cons

    Nothing to add - very pleased with the company.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2018-03-14
  2. Helpful (8)

    "The place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since John Kim has taken lead, the company has transformed to one of continuous learning, intelligent values, and dedicated culture. There is no shortage of things to keep busy with and the bottom-up approach is preached here. Now is the right time to be here. Just read Expedia’s earning reports for the last year. It’s all HomeAway.

    Cons

    The company is running lean so that means dev teams are small and it often feels like there is not enough time to get what you need done. Also, the travel benefit is lacking which is surprising given we are a travel company.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2018-02-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed dress atmosphere and a smart staff! Fast-paced if you like that sort of thing.

    Cons

    Pay is under industry average. Too many managers.

    Vrbo2017-11-21
  4. "Amazing place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Beautiful Culture 2) Treat employees with great respect 3) Great opportunities at work

    Cons

    I can't think of any. This is the best place I have worked so far

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-06-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Time at HomeAway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Key Account Manager in Austin, TX

    I worked at Vrbo for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Harmony, demanding management, free food and drink, good product, vouchers

    Cons

    politics, no progress, lack of organizational effectiveness

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-02-21
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Welcome to 80 Hour Work Weeks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free snacks in the kitchen......

    Cons

    HomeAway is an aquisition model and thus is deeply fragmented as each site has its own dedicated team/dev group and it's impossible to align all groups towards a common goal. It's like working for 50 different companies that have 50 different goals. Politics, politics, politics Loyalty is NOT rewarded Only the cutthroat can survive and move up at this company You will be completely overworked and left without any supporting resources unless something critical breaks There's four weeks vacation but you'll never get to use it, it does roll over year-to-year but when you leave the company you only get paid out for TWO of your accumulated weeks of vacation Meetings, meetings, meetings Any operations department has a heads-down culture, people rarely converse with one another, it's super weird. I didn't know the names of anybody that sat in my pod/row of desks except my immediate team. This company will squeeze the life out of you, and you'll have nothing to show for it in the end.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-02-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "FRBO Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo

    Pros

    -Growth Potential -Flexible Hours -Amazing Benefits -Great Work Environment -Great Salary and Bonus Potential -Not Micro managed

    Cons

    -Capping out your bonus, after you go so far you can't bonus out higher than what they allow

    Vrbo2016-10-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The beginning of the vacation rental 'industry'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Manager and Rock Star! in Basalt, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Vrbo for more than 3 years

    Pros

    From the time that I was 'accidentally' recruited into this company for a business development position it was a whirlwind!! The position required TONS of travel to support all of their software clients located in ALL the premium resort areas around the US, Hawaii, and Canada. I have been to all of them! Instant grew by acquisition and at one time we had clients on five different property management software platforms. Everything from DOS to .net and everything in between. We were the first to organize large, expensive industry educational outings in all of the major markets. Being British owned they definitely knew how to throw a party wherever we went. One week I would be in Rhode Island then Florida then Western Canada followed by three weeks in Hawaii.. That was typical.. Wearing out suitcases.. Make some wonderful friends with my clients along the way and saw some amazing sites in all of these beautiful locations. We had set the industry standard for Property Management Software and I have to thank the owners for providing me with the best job that I will ever have had. Instant was eventually bought out by Home Away and that was an end of an era. There is a lot more money coming into the vacation rental industry now but it is not as nearly as fun or interesting as it once was. The 'personal' touch with the clients began to rapidly decline once Instant was gone.. I learned to be an excellent property management software salesperson and BDM. Made many lasting friendships in the industry.

    Cons

    They were bought out by Home Away. So much travel to so many great locations that I cant really remember all of them. But it was fun.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-08-19
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers who believe in what we're working toward, are passionate about their jobs and create a really fun work environment. Benefits like 4 weeks of vacation + holidays and a free vacation rental stay each year. Executive leadership is transparent with company news and keeps employees informed during weekly all-hands meetings.

    Cons

    Depending on your department career growth paths are not as clear and career development opportunities are less than in others. Management is working on improving career development but it's still a work in progress.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-01-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Sales - Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Progressive company with the the freedom to choose and engage your sales pitch from your desk as you see fit. Opinions welcome. Time off is granted freely as long as you are performing to quota. Snacks and drinks are provided. Atmosphere is 'light-hearted' on the sales floor and everyone works hard creating good synergy amongst sales peers. Quarterly celebrations if the team as a whole hits goal.

    Cons

    Mid-level managers are overruled by directors and have limited power to run their teams from the front lines efficiently. Disconnect between sales and the rest of the company as 'one hand doesn't keep up with the other'. Sales is treated like an after-thought and do not share in quarterly bonuses the company provides to the other teams. Sales gets the finger pointed at them when issues arise by uppers and are blamed for negligence instead of finding the real root cause. Quotas are a guess due to ambiguity of product and policy. No budget allowance for individual travel concerning large accounts that need some hand holding to maintain.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-01-11
Found 57 reviews