Vrbo "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Vrbo Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
Vrbo Senior Vice President and General Manager Jeff Hurst (no image)
Jeff Hurst
0 Rating
  1. "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of a reason to not want to work here. They are wonderful, flexible, understanding and truly diverse as well as have great benefits!!

    Cons

    Don't have a single one, even starting pay is very competitive for the industry!

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2018-05-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mobile Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, nice environment, smart coworkers, growth industry, lots of chance to make an impact, work on one of the biggest apps in the App Store, modern tech stack

    Cons

    Organizational challenges, mobile teams are under-resourced, company says “mobile first” but isn’t executing on it yet, back end infrastructure is messy due to acquisitions

    Vrbo2018-05-20
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Nonexistant Internal development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resolution Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, 4 wks paid vacation and sick time, free snacks/drinks, casual dress and atmosphere

    Cons

    Very biased promotional chain with little to no internal development planning/grooming

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2018-01-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    - Great culture - Talented People - Free snacks and drinks - Great benefits - Pushing the envelope

    Cons

    - Sometimes politics gets in the way - Interview process is not well structured

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-06-06

    Vrbo Response

    December 6, 2017Employer Brand & Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for the feedback, we’ll keep this in mind as we are always trying to enhance the interview process. Our recruiters work diligently to find the best talent for each position. Each interview process is structured differently and is customizable based on the position and the team. The goal is for all parties to have a positive experience. If you have suggestions, please email me at kchance@homeaway and I will forward your feedback to the recruiting team. I look forward to seeing how we can improve. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Overall great company, inexperienced management, Expedia pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    Great engineers, great work/life balance, amazing C-Suite engagement, good pay, great benefits

    Cons

    A few inexperienced, ego-driven managers who undermine business goals for personal gain. Huge silos, monolithic engineering stack, loss of "the voice of the consumer", no stability (constant Expedia reorganization), wasted time in useless meetings, lack of true agile fundamentals, no true owner of anything leading to lack of accountability, and a broken understanding of traveler journey. The values are stated but not followed. VERY political company, almost every meeting has political commentary that is offensive.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-06-01
  6. "Great company, great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, great benefits, great people. My two years there was the best job I've had since graduating college.

    Cons

    Some of the changes were hard to keep up with. Training could be more in depth, especially dealing with new initiatives.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-04-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Office administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo part-time

    Pros

    Great benefits friendly workers much room to grow flexible hours very patient and train well. Always looking for was to better the staff and the company as a whole.

    Cons

    Long drive log drive long drive long drive long drive long drive long drive long drive long drive long drive long drive long drive long too long of a drive.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-04-21
  8. "Great place to work, choose your manager wisely"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free breakfast Fridays, great benefits, competitive pay, and I love the team that I work on. The culture is my favorite part about working at HomeAway.

    Cons

    With new management, things are feeling more corporate lately and the HomeAway I know and love is disappearing.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-04-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Uneven leadership at the department level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Overall, good people to work with. Generous vacation policy If you are in the right department, you can have a great career.

    Cons

    Depending on which department you are in, you could have a wonderful experience, or a terrible one. Department perks are inconsistent across teams. Work/life balance and flexibility is usually based on who you work for. Favoritism is abundant. Optics are important, and can get in the way of progress. Consensus management slows decision making down, but there have been some improvements with new upper management. Accountability is slightly improving, but has a ways to go.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-02-16
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really care about the staff. Great Benefits and Perks. Awesome group of people to work with. Great work locations.

    Cons

    The company has merged with Expedia so their are a lot of changes happening which can be a bit frustrating at times. However, Homeaway is adjusting to it well.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2017-01-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 52 reviews
</>Embed