Vrbo "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Vrbo Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
Vrbo Senior Vice President and General Manager Jeff Hurst (no image)
Jeff Hurst
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "User Experience Design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great work environment, healthy snacks, cozy but yet professional atmosphere, vacation policy, hardworking team, smart people around you. Pretty much everybody is motivated to succeed, so you do get to feel like your input does matter for the team, the company, yourself. If you love fast pacing environment and ready to roll your sleeves to get your work done - you will love what you do.

    Cons

    I would say there are no Cons at all, but Glassdoor requires 20 words here. No Cons in my opinion.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-07-21
  2. "Staff Datawarehouse Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Data Warehouse Engineer in Pflugerville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Lovely office. Smart people

    Cons

    Politics and people with entitled positions get in the way of productive work

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-07-01
  3. "Still chugging along. Alot of changes ahead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Am in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team. Great flexibility and great benefits. Always snacks available and the work culture is very relaxed and easy to fit into.

    Cons

    Need to be flexible with changes. Staff does not communicate with other teams and can sometimes cause ambiguity among decision-makers.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-06-15
  4. "Great company for Data Warehousing professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Warehouse Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great offices. Great benefits. Great people. As busy as HomeAway, they highly value work/life balance. 4 weeks of benefits. Salary is very competitive. Database team has bad reviews from past but I haven’t experienced anything like what was written.

    Cons

    Free vacation rental turns out to be not as great as it sounds. Rental owners do not receive any compensation for your free rental so they have to be willing to forgo rental fees in exchange for letting you stay with them. There only compensation is free advertising on home page. As a result, most owners won’t even reply to your request for a free “Bear Stay”. You pretty much have to travel offseason to take advantage of it.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-05-11
  5. Helpful (22)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Austin, TX
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, pretty casual attire, great benefits to permanent employees, cool office culture.

    Cons

    I work as a contractor, so I am not permanent and do not get the excellent benefits. However, I am treated no differently, and really enjoy working on this team.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-02-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Service desk analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo

    Pros

    Great benefits, good people, great snacks, good working conditions, flexible work hours, ability to work in any location around the world.

    Cons

    Director of dept aloof and played favorites. Lack of training in vital aspects of job. Expected to train after work at home. Lack of team building outings.

    Vrbo2016-05-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Accounting / Finance Dept Woes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time

    Pros

    HomeAway is a wonderful company with great benefits, culture, and quality of work. I LOVE HomeAway.

    Cons

    The Accounting / Finance department has upper management from Dell. They are harming the HomeAway culture. There have been many terms due to burnout.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-04-19
  8. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vrbo

    Pros

    A solid tech company with a good website that offers great benefits if they will actually hire you on full time. Company has a good reputation, may be ruined with the new changes they are making: I.E. online payments and charging a traveler service fee.

    Cons

    They hire on people through temp agencies cannot promise full time employment and benefits until potentially month 8. They are charging a traveler service fee and every customer seems to believe Homeaway will lose all of it's business. Customers are constantly upset with most of the changes they are making at Homeaway since being acquired by Expedia. You have to meet stringent metric goals, no vacation or time off from your cubicle is offered until month 8, and pay does not match up with demand. Do not work here unless you like being in limbo about your employment status. Management will do nothing to help you out depending on which manager you have. Treatment is different to employees depending on which manager you get. All your phone calls are listened to, management would rather nitpick your calls for minute details than fix larger issues within the customer service team. They claim to have a startup atmosphere, you will be working all the time and vacation seems to be non-existent.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2016-04-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flex work schedule; Great benefits for health; Enough vacations & leaves; Always move towards latest tech platform;Get latest tech devices for you to work on eg: the mac machine I use easily would cost $2.5K; Fun office themes and great people to be around; People are from various backgrounds & companies ranging from Apple, Amazon etc., Having offices around world;

    Cons

    Not a great 401K program

    Vrbo2015-12-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vrbo

    Pros

    This company really cares about its employees. There are great benefits and the buildings and facilities are really nice! The new office they built has a gym and all offices have really nice kitchens and they provide free snacks and cofee. The heads of the company do a great job of keeping people at levels informed of what is going on with the company and do a lot to get everyone together at corporate events.

    Cons

    Specifically in the call center for customer support- there is not a lot of support when dealing with angry customers. There is so much information to learn when you start and it is hard to know everything and then when someone asks for a manager it is really difficult to get someone who will take the call.

    Continue reading
    Vrbo2015-05-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 52 reviews
</>Embed