Vubiquity Reviews | Glassdoor

Vubiquity Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Vubiquity CEO Darcy Antonellis  (no image)
Darcy Antonellis
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Toxic upper management personalities(in 8 reviews)

  • "Like so many of the other reviews have stated, this company is top heavy(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Environment, Location, and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vubiquity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great! People are awesome! A lot of different machines to utilize - Kombucha on the tap, Coffee machines, tea machines, sparkling water machines.

    Cons

    Need more insight into the company and more town hall meetings. I think the holiday party needs to step up!

    Vubiquity2019-07-11
  2. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NOC Shift Supervisor in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Vubiquity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture and nice people

    Cons

    Take forever to approve promotions.

    Vubiquity2019-11-16
  3. "Chill but unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Coordinator in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vubiquity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chill environment, flexible, casual

    Cons

    Unprofessional behavior exhibited by all departments and status levels

    Vubiquity2019-10-09
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Why do the good people always leave?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vubiquity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and free snacks. The work is easy and pretty mindless.

    Cons

    When I got to Vubiquity the first person I met who said hello was the head of marketing. Yesterday she left the company and it feels like all the energy left the building.

    Continue reading
    Vubiquity2019-09-05
  5. "The people and passion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Vubiquity

    Pros

    People work together in most departments. They want to make sure their customers are happy. I like the people and the work. Salary and benefits are good.

    Cons

    The business is expanding so lots of demands. Setting priorities would really help the managers schedule better and communicate between ops teams.

    Continue reading
    Vubiquity2019-06-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A team; A family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Manager in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vubiquity full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked at Vubiquity since November 10, 1997, I have truly seen it all. The Company has gone through many changes. From TVN, to Avail-TVN and now Vubiquity. I appreciate the corporation that it has become today. The Company has evolved into a well-oiled machine with an emphasis on employee satisfaction and consideration for the future of the Company. After all, a happy employee is one that not only stays, but is there for the company and is willing to roll up the sleeves and get to work. Striving to create an environment which balances work/home, this lets the employee relax somewhat knowing that in case of an emergency, one could arrange for covering if needed and could then go and take care of a matter needing immediate attention. This results in a more relaxed employee which then results in a more dedicated one. The CEO, Darcy Antonellis is a great presence at the helm of our corporation in that she is truly passionate about the life of this company. However, what separates her from other CEOs is that she cares about the employees, their happiness here and what she could do to make it a better experience. Simply said, she cares. A prime example of this would be when I was diagnosed with cancer in June of 2016. She was one of the first people to call me into her office and enquire as to how I was as well as letting me know that both she and the Company were there for me should I need anything. How valuable is that? The biggest crisis in my life and I can relax about work knowing they are there supporting me on my journey. That’s everything to me. And because of an environment such as this, they have my dedication and loyalty. I’m very impressed and so pleased with the diversity that has transpired over the last several years in the Company. It is a fantastic mix of “everything” and is a real melting pot here which again, is an example of focus on the company/employee experience as a whole. Another department that steps up to the plate would be the Human Resources department. Many employees here may not be totally aware of the actions that occur in the background to make this the best experience it can be. This department TRULY is the middle man of company and employee. The SVP of the department is dedicated to both. If the Company wishes to do something that may not work for employees, this department fights for us! He is extremely passionate about his job and it shows. Again this is something you do not always see. There are many things here to make your day a bit better. We have snack bins that everyone can dip into during the day as well as a kambucha and nitro coffee station. A “marketplace” for convenience, where one may purchase things to eat. There are also various events during the year such as Ice Cream August. A freezer is placed in the main kitchen and is filled with ice cream during the entire month. All of these things add up to a very satisfying employee experience. And because of all this I feel like this is both a team and a family. They expect you to work to the best of your ability, but they also try to create a place where you are more than happy to give it.

    Cons

    As far as cons go, the only thing I would like to see happen in the future is more of a community outreach; charities; giving back. Granted we have various holiday bins for donations, but I feel that this company is now at a size wherein we could start incorporating much more. Helping out at shelters, bringing blankets and foods for shelter animals, other non-profits where we could help, mentor programs for children waiting to be adopted, or more clean up around the community. I believe that something should always be up on the board in the lunch area for various charity events that the Company could be involved in. Through these various outreaches, not only does it give our company further exposure, but it also shows that we are indeed a company that cares.

    Continue reading
    Vubiquity2019-03-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not for a Go-Gettr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Vubiquity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong work/life balance. Very light workload.

    Cons

    Very light workload for some individuals while very high for others (load balancing not in place). Company lacks integrity and follow-through.

    Vubiquity2018-10-02
  8. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vubiquity full-time

    Pros

    Great Company, good place to work, overall everyone is great!

    Cons

    More interaction and awareness with overall plan.

    Vubiquity2018-08-02
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Don't work here unless you are desperate for the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burbank, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vubiquity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are in the right department or on the right shift, you can avoid most of the drama and it can be a fairly calm way to collect a pay check. The pay is pretty decent, especially when you consider that the work itself is extremely simple and mostly mindless.

    Cons

    This company is made of solid drama. Every manager is constantly playing interoffice politics and engaging in ridiculous power struggles with other managers, or even the employees that they supervise, rather than actually getting any work done. The company was recently acquired by a larger corporation and things got even more ridiculous as people in upper management used it as a reason to purge those who they considered enemies. Afterwards, those managers left standing claimed they were "tired of drama" and "just wanted to move forward" but then continued to stir up even more drama than before. The ironic thing is that the work itself is neither difficult nor taxing. Most jobs involve pushing buttons, moving/renaming files, or answering e-mails. There is nothing about doing this work that should be stressful, and yet the abusive management styles and constant demeaning treatment from people way up the chain of command (not even our direct supervisors) was enough to give me constant panic attacks while in the building. I was excellent at my job and yet the manager they assigned to oversee our department had no experience or expertise with our area of work and still insisted that they were the only person who knew how it should be done. That particular manager accused multiple people in our department of lying, stealing, and disrespecting them, even though they would give us explicit instructions and then demand to know why we had followed them or (even better) not assign us any work at all and then try to reprimand us when said work (which we had never even heard of) wasn't done. When myself and multiple coworkers took complaints about our treatment to HR, we were told that the problem was clearly our fault and that we needed to work on our communication skills. That's just a small part of the insanity that I experienced on one shift in one position here. I worked multiple shifts in multiple departments at this company so trust me when I say I have a very well-rounded perspective on the place. My direct supervisors were always fantastic, intelligent, and lovely to work with and most of my coworkers were great, but the toxic environment of the entire company leeches into everything. Unless you are unemployed and desperately NEED the job, don't work here.

    Continue reading
    Vubiquity2018-06-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Truth or dare...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Burbank, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vubiquity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is a VERY different culture. You either fit in with the culture, or you really don't. Everyone is professional and hard-working. But, by "professional", I don't mean in the traditional sense. There are a lot of non-business-traditional traits to this company. If you don't agree with them, move on to a different company. I happen to like the culture. People look out for each other, work well as a team, and do whatever it takes to get the job done. Pretty much everyone works well outside their job description, because, who else is going to do the task at hand if there isn't a position defining the task? Plenty of good-hearted people who care about the company, and go out of their way to create success. That's the bottom line really - is it working, or is it a problem? Yes, the comments about drinking on the job are true, depending on how you look at it. Most everyone puts in more than a full shift, so in the 11th hour, is having a glass while you finish up at night a problem? Only if it creates a problem. There is no "public drunkenness" as some of the reviews seem to insinuate, but there is comrodery and teamwork associated with the culture. I worked at another company that not only allowed drinking on the job, but encouraged it. I would be in my dark bay, and my boss would bring me a beer. We had a full bar in the kitchen. We were all adults, and there were no issues. This company is much like that, except without being so blatent as to have an open bar. We're all professionals, and to my well-informed knowledge, there haven't been any issues associated with the drinking culture. But, enough of that. Let's talk about the recent acquisition to Amdocs. The sale to Amdocs is NOT a negative, as others might portray. It's a huge positive. We weren't sold to a competitor - we were sold to a company with a nearly complete portfolio, who needs a company exactly like us to fill the gap, and be able to provide a complete end-to-end solution to its' customers. They're not ignorant - they know what they needed, and it was us. Together, we will achieve great things. To spill the beans, we needed to sell. If you know anything about investors, you know that professional investors often work on time-constrained terms. Our largest investors were just that, and controlling interest in the company was up for grabs at the end of 2017. Our CEO had a decision to make - find another investor to gain controlling interest, adding more board members, which takes longer to get things done, or sell to a motivated company who can grow us without the "red tape". The latter happened, and it was a very good decision. This is all public record, and you can research it for yourself. This company will continue with the Vubiquity (and Juice) brands, but under the "Amdocs Media" umbrella. There is huge potential for the company, and if you are lucky enough to be able to join this team, I would highly recommend you do so.

    Cons

    There are some disgruntled employees, both past and present, writing reviews. Usually the bitter are the vocal majority, so take ANY site with reviews with a grain of salt. There is usually some truth to their stories, but you have to put it all into context. Some of the "current employees" leaving such bad reviews makes one wonder, why are you still a "current employee" if you're so unhappy? Regarding "sleeping with the help", unfortunately the dirty laundry became public here on glassdoor. It was ONE PERSON, and I can confirm that person is no longer with the company. It's not ethical or professional, nor part of the company culture, and HR has taken care of it. Put that one to bed, pun intended. NO company is perfect - they're all imperfect in different ways. What I can say about this company is that I have seen progress EVERY SINGLE DAY since I was hired. There is a lot to do, but at least they're tackling issues and proactively making things better on a daily basis.

    Continue reading
    Vubiquity2018-03-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 124 reviews