Vulcan Materials Reviews | Glassdoor

Vulcan Materials Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Vulcan Materials President and CEO J. Thomas Hill
J. Thomas Hill
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Reasonable hours, good benefits, good team(in 23 reviews)

  • "Vulcan has great benefits and employers who really care(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, not enough vacation(in 13 reviews)

  • "Somewhat micromanaged by upper management, not letting middle management do their job properly(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Welder / fabricator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder/Fabricator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vulcan Materials full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits

    Cons

    There are no cons for employment at this company.

    Vulcan Materials2019-11-18
  2. "Change in culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vulcan Materials full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is a well positioned and stable company. Compensation is fair and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Culture has become degraded. It’s not even about the P&L. It’s who’s team you are on. Your accomplishments don’t matter! Everyone has a target on their back... from middle management to the executive level!!!

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with what you preach. “The Vulcan Way” is nothing but lip service.

    Vulcan Materials2020-01-17
  3. "VMC Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vulcan Materials full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee Benefits are the best in the construction business

    Cons

    Management should listen to employees more

    Vulcan Materials2019-11-07
  4. "ripped off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Formen in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vulcan Materials full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    if you cant find anyplace else to work

    Cons

    not paid the amount i was told i would get ripped of on 10 years of my pension i should have for my job title formen and heavy equipment operator Dishonest company with no integrity

    Advice to Management

    get some morals and be honest

    Vulcan Materials2019-11-01
  5. "Not for everyone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Heavy Equipment Operator in Grand Rivers, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vulcan Materials full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent wage good insurance plenty of hours

    Cons

    Too many hours 6 12 hour shifts most weeks

    Advice to Management

    Cut management bonuses and give to lower rank employees, Pay employees for job they are doing rather than using lower paid employees for more skilled jobs without compensation

    Vulcan Materials2019-09-27
  6. "Great Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Supervisor in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vulcan Materials full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary Push you to succeed Great people

    Cons

    Slow to give feedback

    Vulcan Materials2019-08-15
  7. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Haul Truck Operator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vulcan Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, easy part of the job,

    Cons

    Not alot of slate time, can be physically demanding

    Advice to Management

    None

    Vulcan Materials2019-08-08
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QC Technician in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vulcan Materials full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, sups are cool

    Cons

    Upper management sucks, sups just say let you know protocols, they don’t fellow them, but are ready to write people up.

    Vulcan Materials2019-07-25
  9. "Good people to work with but management is a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vulcan Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting to be inside and outside.

    Cons

    Management and HR are not making sure people get trained.

    Advice to Management

    Please stop being arrogant.

    Vulcan Materials2019-07-22
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Management Trainee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vulcan Materials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -company truck -business cell -401k -great benefits -great safety culture -great people to work with

    Cons

    -you can get lost in the training program if you don't drive yourself (must be SELF DRIVEN) -work is hard, you have to earn your keep

    Advice to Management

    Great communication top to bottom. Need lots more communication from bottom to the top.

    Vulcan Materials2019-06-26
Found 158 reviews