KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Vulcan

Engaged Employer

Vulcan

Add a Review

Vulcan Employee Reviews about "salary"

Updated Jun 24, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 155 reviews

3.3
47%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Vulcan CEO Bill Hilf
Bill Hilf
45 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

402

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Need to allow a better work life balance(in 7 reviews)
  • "lots of layoffs, limited upward mobility(in 6 reviews)
  • "Childish, arbitrary management.(in 6 reviews)
  • "I personally feel very valued my direct manager but sometimes the structure of the company limits my compensation and career mobility.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Lack of any senior leadership; lack of coherent communication about company goals, objectives or performance; unethical (and worse) business practices; much dead weight.(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "salary"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Senior Program Manager

    Dec 8, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits. Beautiful office space. Nice location for mass transit. Given the right project and blessing from management it can be wonderful environment to work on very interesting projects.

    Cons

    Because the real function of the place to satisfy the whims of the owners (often without any other clear criteria), it can become very strange and somewhat irrational work environment. The owners are spoiled children who are surrounded by senior managers who do and say anything to please the boss and keep their own jobs. This creates an incredible bubble around the owners that prevents them from seeing the reality they have created.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Good people.

    May 22, 2014 - Administrative in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good salary & great benefits - medical/dental/vision, PTO, 401k matching, and cool perks you can only get working for the Allen family. I was fortunate to work with a great team of people. Most employees are smart and hard working. Chance to work on or get exposure to some really interesting projects.

    Cons

    Everyone has an "expiration date" - the longer you've been there and the higher your pay, the closer it gets. Lots of poorly thought out layoffs over the last years I worked there. Meanwhile, hundreds of thousands of dollars are wasted "just in case" the owners want to go somewhere/do something (they usually don't). People who go to HR with legitimate complaints are usually the ones who end up losing their jobs.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Finance

    Jul 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company culture, a lot of opportunities to work on diverse projects, good benefits, strong leadership team.

    Cons

    Salary is not as competitive as other large companies in the area

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Low morale generated by random firings of talented people, great benefits

    Mar 26, 2014 - Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits: matching 401k, good health insurance, decent vacation time, salary is okay. Good projects that really do have the potential to make a difference. There's almost no where else I could work and do what I do here. For that, I feel extremely blessed. Smart, talented people work here. Vulcan recruits and hires the best of the best.

    Cons

    Morale is just lousy. Anyone who has survived more than a few years operates by keeping their head down and trying to stay 'off' the owners' radar. Once you're on the radar, it's just a matter of time until you're fired. Good projects, but the Owners are never satisfied with the project outcomes no matter how successful that project may be, they will always find the negative. Upper management who deal with the Owners are constantly demoralized...and that flows down. Upper management is working hard to cut bonuses...so if you're negotiating for a salary, don't take the bonus into account. Work/life balance is off - but remember you'll get fired eventually anyway, so don't work too hard. Thankless job. No opportunity for advancement...but you can take on more work!

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Very stressful, at times intimidating.

    Feb 6, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay a good salary.

    Cons

    At times a stressful environment.

    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    It's always interesting

    Jul 23, 2015 - Administrative Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Vulcan is full of really smart people. It can be an exciting and challenging place to work. We work hard and have some great employee benefits. I am an hourly employee but my base salary is pretty competitive with our companies.

    Cons

    The pace can be frustrating at times but hey that's life! I personally feel very valued my direct manager but sometimes the structure of the company limits my compensation and career mobility.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to experience new things

    Nov 14, 2013 - Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are good. Location is nice, but is getting a little dated. Most of the people who work there are very talented and great to work with.

    Cons

    Lack of contact with CEO and Owner. Business direction changes without explanation. Work life balance is good for some people and really terrible for some of the positions.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Pros

    The company has the money that others in this economy do not. Benefits are good, same as salary.

    Cons

    Depend were you work, but my experience is this: Not many people there knew about my field, upper manager level clueless, derogatory, etc... the big problem for me was that they didn't accept anything different, they think they are right all the time, more concern about their image with the Allen family/C-level than really the content of he projects, etc. As another review said... it's just keeping up with the toys of the Allen family, a lot of low morale, a lot of firing... becomes a place of sharks... if you know more than your bosses, good luck with that, because they will try to cut your head (if you are very smart, you could be replacing them), or they will block your ideas, or they will fire you.... If you have worked a lot on building your career, in my case, I have 16 years of experience, national and international and I have a Ph.D. on my field, don't go there!! you are not going to make a lot of contributions to your professional growth there.... how do you justify that your immediate boss was the one without vision, that the projects were without a solid follow up, no consistency on portfolios?, etc...

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Where the worst of the best succeed

    Apr 22, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Intelligent colleagues. I worked with some very sharp, amazing people. 2. Excellent views of the city (Seattle office). 3. Generous salary for the Seattle area, unless you consider public companies with stock options. 4. Generous health insurance plans. I have never enjoyed better health benefits outside of Vulcan.

    Cons

    1. Those who are the most toxic get promoted. 2. No self-awareness by upper management. 3. Unethical HR practices. If you ever have an issue with a manager or other senior person, it's easier to just leave than consult HR. (See #5 below). 4. Skin-deep commitment to "diversity and inclusion". And very myopic. If you are a woman in tech that wants to move up, forget about Vulcan. 5. Layoffs are the primary means by which managers get rid of employees that occasionally express opposing opinions.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The Illusion of Work

    Jan 2, 2018 - Senior Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a software engineer, I was afforded the opportunity to learn in several new fields. Salary was slightly above average.

    Cons

    Abysmal morale. Engineers are rarely promoted or encouraged to self-organize. The manager to engineer ratio is incredibly large. Management is constantly churning and the new managers are brought in from the outside, never promoted up from within. Groups working in niche fields built up capabilities only to have their efforts redirected by whoever the latest manager was who had no domain expertise. Managers were brought in based on their credentials at the biggest tech companies but the strategies they learned there were inappropriate to the size, scope, and audience of Vulcan projects. Imagine a 2 person 6 month research project. Now bring in 3 managers who insist on making the prototype 'enterprise grade', halting progress. Be sure to berate the engineers on their way out. Projects managers focus more on reporting progress than progressing. I've never been at an organization which spends the amount of effort this one does to tell employees how great it is to work there. I wish I left sooner.

    12 people found this review helpful

    Vulcan Response

    Vulcan

    Thank you for your feedback on your experience and your advice.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

Popular Careers with Vulcan Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Vulcan? Share Your Experiences

or

Vulcan Photos

+ Add Photo
Vulcan photo of: Seahawks wide receiver Doug Baldwin joins Vulcan CEO Bill Hilf on stage at a recent company meeting
Vulcan photo of: Field work for the Allen Coral Atlas
Vulcan photo of: Volunteering at Lowell Elementary
Vulcan photo of: Russell Wilson and Ciara stopped by recently to meet with Vulcan CEO Bill Hilf, Mary Cadera and Art Min to discuss philanthropic endeavors
Vulcan photo of: Sporting our custom cycling jerseys
Vulcan photo of: At Vulcan we take the dog days of summer literally and invite employees to bring their dogs to work for a fun-filled day. This year we had more than 75 dogs in the office.
Vulcan photo of: Two of the stars of "Step" teach Vulcan employees some moves.
See All Photos