WANdisco Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

WANdisco Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
WANdisco President & CEO David Richards  (no image)
David Richards
32 Ratings
  1. "I worked at WANdisco for 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WANdisco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The leadership communicates effectively and transparently. The team is the best and brightest I've ever worked with. Interesting and challenging work.

    Cons

    One team works on different projects. Sometimes different teams hit a lack of coordination with each other.

    WANdisco2019-10-02
  2. "Not Much Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in San Ramon, CA

    I worked at WANdisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good wage Friendly engineers 2 weeks in hotel provided

    Cons

    There was not much direction provided in my 10 week internship with the Research department. My supervisors were busy with their own work

    WANdisco2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "An Absolute Career Highlight!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WANdisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The WANdisco leadership team impressed me from the very beginning and I’ve continued to appreciate the leadership’s commitment to their employees, their customers, and to the technology. Even though the company has many years of experience, the company feels like an entrepreneurial startup with every employee having an opportunity to identify and take ownership of identified challenges and then receive the associated recognition. My experience with our broadly distributed team has been all positive, everyone seems passionate about the products and the company’s success. All of the teams share an objective to make our customers successful and the unity around the customer makes every day feel like I’m contributing to something bigger than just my personal work product. I have had many great corporate experiences, and so far, WANdisco is becoming a career highlight.

    Cons

    Based on my frame of reference, I struggle to personally identify any “cons”, so you will have to review other posts. I’ve worked with the overly processed >100K employee companies where the opportunity for independent thought is limited to senior leaders, this is not one of those companies. WANdisco is still a company with numerous opportunities to drive improvements and everyone seemingly has a voice. Our CEO is very involved and continuously seeks opportunities to help, he’s frequently visiting the different offices and meeting with people at all levels in the company. Alternatively, you’ll also find him participating in Slack channels providing necessary guidance to working teams. I’m thoroughly enjoying my time here at the Disco!

    Continue reading
    WANdisco2018-06-25
  4. "Java Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Java Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WANdisco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are really nice here. My manager Rob is very kind and help me learn a lot.

    Cons

    no free lunch in the company.

    WANdisco2017-12-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Engineering Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at WANdisco full-time

    Pros

    Great engineering team; work is interesting and the team is incredibly helpful. Fairly good benefits.

    Cons

    Steep learning curve as an intern if you're new to Paxos or Hadoop

    Continue reading
    WANdisco2017-08-31
  6. Helpful (6)

    "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WANdisco full-time

    Pros

    cool logo and cool website

    Cons

    The management and product are all hype

    WANdisco2017-09-19
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Software Engineering Intern in San Ramon, CA

    I worked at WANdisco for less than a year

    Pros

    good company culture engineering team is really nice

    Cons

    not as organized as needed

    WANdisco2015-12-09
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Enjoyed every second, sad to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WANdisco

    Pros

    I really like the people and product in this company. This is the best company I have ever worked for. I really respect the management of the company. People like Rob who run engineering is very nice and respectful of people feelings.

    Cons

    The company change direction from open source hadoop to a much better architecture that require no changes to file system. This means a number of jobs like mine was defunct. Sales of new product are going through roof so this means that company must focus on this products.

    WANdisco2015-10-22
  9. Helpful (23)

    "Hazy Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at WANdisco full-time

    Pros

    Thinks looked promising for some time but market need never materialized as expected and products never delivered on their promise

    Cons

    Hard to see any hope for future. Sales have decreased for last several quarters. Doesn't appear to be demand for products in the marketplace. It doesn't matter how good of an idea you have if no really needs it,

    Continue reading
    WANdisco2015-10-20
  10. Helpful (25)

    "Poor Sales Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Ramon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WANdisco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great technology but the Big Data market is still in its infancy and the real customer need hasn't surfaced yet. Great acquisition target.

    Cons

    The problem is with Sales Management and as a result there is an abnormally high turnover rate of sales people due to panic selling and intense pressure to make quarterly numbers due to company financial distress.

    Continue reading
    WANdisco2015-09-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews