KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

WD-40 Company

Is this your company?

WD-40 Company

Add a Review

WD-40 Company Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 of over 65 reviews

3.6
76%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
WD-40 Company President, CEO and Chair of the Board Garry O. Ridge
Garry O. Ridge
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "work/life balance is great and the company stands behind its tribe members when it comes to putting family first(in 8 reviews)

  • "Some great people and the brand is outstanding(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor Work Life balance erodes enjoyment(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Still great!

      Feb 1, 2021 - Decline to State At This Time in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, wonderful office when it can be opened again.

      Cons

      The company is a nice place to work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent position

      Jul 27, 2021 - Unknown, Oriented to Door-to-door Sales, Pay By Commission in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The position offered me decent pay with flexible hours where I could grow and expand my knowledge.

      Cons

      There is not that I can really complain about except that during Covid, the managers started letting go some good employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Ok Enough Place to Work

      Mar 12, 2021 - Various Positions in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Retirement plan is better than what most other companies offer.

      Cons

      Minimal resources/people majorly slowed down what could be accomplished. Due to minimal resources/people, those individuals in supervisory or managerial positions that had individuals report to them didn’t have the experience or bandwidth to provide useful guidance or mentoring. Very little guidance or direction was given and expectations were often not communicated.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WD-40 Company Response

      Global Talent Director

      Thank you for sharing feedback about your time with our tribe. We seek every day to balance passionate ideas and desire to support the brands with our 'never-enough' resources. We will continue to explore ways to continually improve in this area while providing the support and resources to support our tribe's learning and well being. Thank you again.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A place that feels like home!

      Sep 25, 2019 - Director in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small company will a big brand that everyone knows. Tribe members are able to make an impact here. Long tenure of most employees means you form friendships with you colleagues. It also means people are good at their jobs which helps the company succeed. High employee engagement means that most the people you interact with on a daily basis truly care about the company and and its success. They also care about each other. San Diego facility is amazing. Every Friday the offices closes early so that people can start their weekend. There is a holiday closure around Christmas for an extended period of time which is lovely.

      Cons

      Small company environment is not for everyone. There is lots of opportunity here but we move pretty slowly because we have limited resources. You don't work at WD-40 Company to get rich. Compensation is fair but you can make more money in 'faster' industries. However, the job stability and workplace atmosphere make up for any shortfalls in compensation. It's healthy a risk/reward balance. And the health benefits, time off benefits, and retirement plans are very good, particularly for a company of our size.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      WD-40 Company Response

      Global Talent Director

      Thank you for sharing some of the ways our culture and total rewards have contributed to your engagement and support you and your family.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Culture Checkup Completed

      Sep 10, 2019 - Vice President Human Resources in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We noted a couple of critical entries here on Glassdoor. We decided to ask the all the Tribe who work in North America how they were feeling. We got a response rate of 85% with the following results: • The data show that the new facilities created for every office location in the last two years definitely improved 95% of the affected people’s quality of work life, and even that of people who work remotely. • About 93% either agree or strongly agree that the organizational changes in leadership and functions have positioned us well for the future. • About 80% feel that the changes will result in continued opportunities for them personally. About 20% do not currently feel that way. This is an area for leadership to focus on. • Also an area to focus on is that about 80% think our already strong culture with 93% engagement continues to improve, but about 20% do not. Some said in their comments that it’s a great culture, but not “improving”. We have a long-term goal of still improving our engagement score with Tribe members, so we will continue to look at how we can do that. • About 92% think that our values are being lived daily by both leaders and Tribe members. This was a compound question, and therefore harder to get a positive score, so this result is heartening. • About 93% feel fulfilled in their work and look forward to the future. Also very heartening.

      Cons

      We have bitten off some pretty big goals, and we've got a lot going on to help us do that. We need to pay attention to every voice and make conscious decisions that will ensure our great culture comes along for the ride ahead.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      A Company That Rewards Abusive Management

      Nov 11, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are excellent and rare

      Cons

      Screaming at and berating employees doesn’t lead to firing

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      WD-40 Company Response

      Director, Investor Relations & Corporate Communications

      Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to creating positive lasting memories for all our tribe members and we are sorry to hear your experiences did not align with that. We prioritize leadership training for all tribe members to ensure WD-40 Company is a positive place to work. We acknowledge that there is always room for improvement and will continue to grow from our learning moments.

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Uh oh.. This is really happening.

      Aug 13, 2019 - Brand Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Really nice office Just a wonderful, wonderful CEO/President (but he's no longer president) Name recognition

      Cons

      Oh geez, I really don't know what to say. Just do want to say that the CEO is such a kind, gentle person. He used to be both the CEO and President, but he's not the President anymore. So, yellow flags over the last few years were popping up. Biggest red flag was a few months ago. We were at a leadership conference, and one of the managers was asked: "Would you rather be 'respected' or 'feared' as a leader?" Not even hesitating that person said "feared." I couldn't believe my ears and tried to let it go. I just thought maybe it was a joke response? Did anyone else hear that and think "that's not good?" But I think that's what the culture has become. So many firings lately. And it's like a few of those people, I'm thinking "wow, these people were doing a really good job". There has been more turnover in management, since CEO is no longer president, than I've seen in years. Seems like to be safe, people that seem "cut-throat" to me aren't worried, which I guess the new leadership thinks is a good thing.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      WD-40 Company Response

      Global Talent Director

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. There have been some title changes within senior management, with the intent of strengthening our fabric of what makes us who we are at WD-40 Company. We encourage and welcome open and honest feedback and we hope you feel comfortable speaking with HR or any leaders without the concern of retaliation.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Inclusion is a big part of our tribal culture.

      Mar 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive lasting memories, valuable learning and passionate people make the tribe experience one of a kind. We go home fulfilled at the end of the day. The grass is truly greener at WD-40 Company.

      Cons

      Never a shortage of opportunities.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WD-40 Company Response

      Global Talent Director

      Thank you for all you do to support our tribe and brands.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      No Squeaks at WD-40 Company

      Feb 23, 2009 -  in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generally, all employees at all levels are committed towards the Company's success. Most are accountable and hold others to accountability, creating a working environment that fosters more effort and teamwork than many other organizations. Corporate values are clearly articulated and flow down through the Company as its lifeblood, supported fully throughout. A "get-it-done" attitude permeates most business functional areas, adding to the unique atmosphere. There is freedom to communicate with respect for fresh ideas and review. Because of the fairly low staff count (+/- 300 employees globally), traditional hierarchical boundaries are minimized, facilitating action. That the flagship brand has created its own sub-culture among customers, instantly bringing recognition, is an added bonus.

      Cons

      In some areas, traditional beliefs seem to overpower modern facts, subverting attempts to create efficiencies where they could be beneficial. Frustration results from a team of incredibly smart and focused people who are unable to accomplish the tasks and projects they see as making real difference.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A place you belong...

      Aug 17, 2016 - #IWORK4WD40 in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The values driven culture is unlike anywhere else. People who work here often stay for a very long time — sometimes their entire career. Everyone is passionate about the work they are doing — and the people are incredible. We are one big family and that's not something you get everywhere. Other pros include: early departure on Fridays, opportunities for training, international travel, industry leading 401K and pretty good health benefits for such a small company.

      Cons

      Small company so sometimes resources get constrained and projects must be prioritized. We don't have always have access to cutting edge technology but we also may not need it. Could be better at collaborating across the Company as employees are located all over the world.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      WD-40 Company Response

      Global Director of Talent Acquistion

      Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share your heartfelt feedback with our leaders and future tribe members. Thank you for all you do! Feelin the <3

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 55 Reviews

    Popular Careers with WD-40 Company Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at WD-40 Company? Share Your Experiences

    WD-40 Company logo
    or