WD-40 Company Reviews | Glassdoor

WD-40 Company Reviews

Updated May 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
WD-40 Company CEO Garry O. Ridge
Garry O. Ridge
34 Ratings
  1. "Inclusion is a big part of our tribal culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WD-40 Company full-time

    Pros

    Positive lasting memories, valuable learning and passionate people make the tribe experience one of a kind. We go home fulfilled at the end of the day. The grass is truly greener at WD-40 Company.

    Cons

    Never a shortage of opportunities.

    WD-40 Company2019-03-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WD-40 Company full-time

    Pros

    work/life balance is great and the company stands behind its tribe members when it comes to putting family first

    Cons

    grossly underpaid compared to other organizations

    Advice to Management

    go back to the basics of putting people first

    WD-40 Company2018-11-16

    WD-40 Company Response

    June 4, 2019Global Director of Talent Acquistion

    Thank you for joining our tribe and for all you are doing to help us achieve our annual earned cash incentives (GRP). If needed, please reach out to your HR partner for information on ways the company is supporting our tribe members and their families with long-term financial security ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WD-40 Company

    Pros

    Strong culture, work/life balance, amazing CEO

    Cons

    Few to no growth opportunities, out dated systems

    WD-40 Company2018-10-11

    WD-40 Company Response

    June 4, 2019Global Director of Talent Acquistion

    Hi and thank you for your note. We hear ya! Our systems are a little squeaky in places and will be refreshed very soon. Stay tuned.

  4. "World peace through lubrication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President GOD in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WD-40 Company full-time

    Pros

    Transparency, trust, intelligent people, global perspective, inclusive and effective

    Cons

    Time and distance across countries where our Tribe work is a challenge to keep our connections authentic and close.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture at the top of the list of things to do, jewels to preserve

    WD-40 Company2018-03-16

    WD-40 Company Response

    April 10, 2018Global Director of Talent Acquistion

    Thank you for the post! Our tribe and culture are thriving. We will remain diligent and prioritize our people and brands first.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "former good company to work for but soured with management changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WD-40 Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great products. Was a great company to work for but lost its way with management changes. Became a very fearful orgnisation with rhetoric

    Cons

    Lost its way in people management. Could not have your opinion. Did not follow up the rhetoric espoused to employees and shareholders that people were the greatest asset. Did not follow up talk with action. No room for growth in position

    Advice to Management

    Be more open and transparent. Dont be narcicistic. Ego's of the management have ruined the company.

    WD-40 Company2018-03-14

    WD-40 Company Response

    April 10, 2018Global Director of Talent Acquistion

    Thank you for your honesty. We know we will always have room to improve. If you would be willing to share specifics, we would value understanding your point of view more fully to help us be better tomorrow than we are today.

  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WD-40 Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great environment, good training program

    Cons

    Competitive environment, fast pace, long hours

    Advice to Management

    Increase internal control, improve workers training

    WD-40 Company2018-02-23

    WD-40 Company Response

    April 10, 2018Global Director of Talent Acquistion

    Thank you for your post and contributions to our tribe.

  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WD-40 Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    WD-40 Company provides job security and a very welcoming work environment. Management genuinely cares for employees. The people you work with become your extended family. Lots of opportunity for long-term career growth. Global travel opportunities. Amazing office with lots of amenities. Excellent work-life balance.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    WD-40 Company2017-12-04

    WD-40 Company Response

    April 10, 2018Global Director of Talent Acquistion

    Your contributions, passion and engagement are appreciated. Thank you.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work if you don't mind making less than market average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WD-40 Company full-time

    Pros

    It's a very relaxed environment. The employees are friendly. My bosses really do care, and that's tough to find.

    Cons

    Of the last 4 people I know who have received a promotion and have received increased responsibility, not a single one of them received an increase in pay.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people their market worth FOR THEIR LOCAL MARKET.

    WD-40 Company2017-06-14

    WD-40 Company Response

    October 12, 2017Global Director of Talent Acquistion

    The WD-40 Company Americas tribe have the benefit of compensation transparency. Every tribe member has visibility to his/her base salary within the assigned salary range. Each tribe member’s base salary is determine by his/her competency or ability to perform the role. Competency ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WD-40 Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. most of the people are awesome

    Cons

    Quarterly reviews, alot of unfairness

    Advice to Management

    The favoritism that goes on is very bad for moral

    WD-40 Company2017-06-08
  10. "Director of Customer and Shopper Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at WD-40 Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tribe culture (aka family); the work life balance, and the passion for the brand

    Cons

    Average Tenure is 10 plus and tends to lend itself to old thinking and a resistance to change

    Advice to Management

    Think different means do different

    WD-40 Company2017-05-31

    WD-40 Company Response

    December 3, 2017Global Director of Talent Acquistion

    Yes, our tribal culture, meaningful work, stability and passion for all we do is strong. As our brands and end users continue to grow and change so do we in a very purposeful way. Understandably, the cadence of change may not be fast enough for everyone. It is our hope that ...

    Show More
Found 45 reviews