WD Partners Reviews | Glassdoor

WD Partners Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
WD Partners CEO Chris Doerschlag (no image)
Chris Doerschlag
31 Ratings
  1. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WD Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture and people. Loved working there but needed something else

    Cons

    nothing really except no career progression

    WD Partners2018-04-23
  2. "Great Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Project Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WD Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Evolving culture at WD has great outlook. Great camaraderie and professional atmosphere.

    Cons

    Can't think of any at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to allow growth of team through mentoring exercises and training.

    WD Partners2017-08-03
  3. "Excellent Company + High Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Architect in Dublin, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WD Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great professional company with so many perks...gym, ping pong, work-life balance, inspiring atmosphere, talented coworkers. Great senior staff and support. Great project workflow.

    Cons

    Not too many, I felt very comfortable discussing any issues with various senior staff and getting the direction and/or challenge. Opportunities are there if you ask.

    WD Partners2017-02-24
  4. "The Irvine office has a small office collaborative feel to it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WD Partners full-time

    Pros

    The teams are fully integrated with all disciplines. They function as one. Great comradery, great local leader. I see changes moving in the right direction.

    Cons

    As with most satellite locations, you are looked upon by corporate as a stepchild. However that seems to also be changing.

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge the great people you have on board and make them feel their hard work has not gone unnoticed.

    WD Partners2016-10-20
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WD Partners

    Pros

    Great office building, good team building exercises, good environment, lots of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Communication could be better among management

    Advice to Management

    Communication

    WD Partners2016-09-21
  6. "It was a great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Entitlement Coordinator in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at WD Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is very well organized and produces a great end result. The job allowed me to see how development projects come together for several different industries.

    Cons

    The workload varied and I almost never had enough projects to work on in order to fill out a time card for a 40 hour work week.

    WD Partners2013-02-10
  7. "WD Partners' work environment is open and collaborative, and my design skills have significantly diversified in 2 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Environments Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at WD Partners

    Pros

    WD Partners is an all-inclusive retail design firm that provides creative services in: marketing/insights, interior environments, architecture, engineering, operations, digital/3D, and implementation. Given the diversity of services, employees have access to tapping into these specialties/ resources internally. WD offers its employees multiple avenues & opportunities to take on more projects if desired. The team... structure is designed to build each designers' creative skills while maintaining the core brand identity.

    Show More

    Cons

    If brought on to WD under a 90 day contract position, the contract usually extends out to a year rather than 3 months. Given the nature of the design industry as a whole, business tends to fluxuate quite often. Meaning job security is not promised if there are no projects/ new business developing. Look at yr. 2009 for example. However WD was one of the only design firms in the region to stay afloat during this... economic downturn because of a few revolving big box/cpg store accounts.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The creative directors & senior designers I've gotten to work with have been more than leaders; they are design mentors. Something about this company feels like an extension of my family and less like "co-workers." Leadership only works when there is verticle & horizontal transparency, and this has been applied as a company wide guideline from the start.

    WD Partners2012-01-20
  8. "The people are the best and the work is creative and challenging."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Director in Dublin, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WD Partners full-time

    Pros

    The people are the best thing. We spend more time with each other than our families and the work family here Rocks! The benefits are very good and the typical workday provides a great work/life balance. We give back to our community in many different ways and the company not only encourages it but provides many opportunities to do so. The opportunity for learning is outstanding. There is some kind of... Lunch-n-Learn every week and many are taught by fellow employees. The company is fully behind any learning opportunity you want.

    Show More

    Cons

    The communication could be better. Many times someone will get a promotion and people don’t know about it until you read it on the monthly newsletter. This makes no sense because people should be celebrated. Some directors are afraid to provide constructive criticism of my work. The only way we’re going to get better is to be open and honest with each other.

    Advice to Management

    Promote open and honest conversation with employees. The communication between executive level and workers needs to improve.

    WD Partners2018-04-01
  9. "Environments Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environments Designer in Dublin, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WD Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Variety of work, collaborative, great place to learn, care about growth

    Cons

    Pressure to work long hours, location, not a lot of boutique clients, discrepancies in management

    WD Partners2017-10-15
  10. "No financial appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at WD Partners full-time

    Pros

    Good people, good teams, good work ethic

    Cons

    No financial appreciation for your efforts

    Advice to Management

    Pay raises above national inflation rate, bonuses to those that help improve profits

    WD Partners2017-10-05
Found 67 reviews