WEG Electric Corp. Reviews | Glassdoor

WEG Electric Corp. Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
WEG Electric Corp. CEO Harry Schmelzer Jr.  (no image)
Harry Schmelzer Jr.
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Sus prestaciones ,me queda cerca de donde vivo ,tiene tendencia a seguir creciendo asegurando empleo , permite el crecimiento de sus colaboradores(in 4 reviews)

  • "The company is usually very worried about the welfare of the employees, the benefits are good(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Washington, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WEG Electric Corp. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment is great and they treat all employees with kindness and respect.

    Cons

    The only con for me was that I moved and I need to find something closer to where I live now.

    WEG Electric Corp.2019-06-05

    WEG Electric Corp. Response

    August 1, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for the positive comment on environment, especially the kindness & respect you have felt! Wish we were closer for you!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Love it at WEG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Duluth, GA

    I have been working at WEG Electric Corp. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people. Reasonable expectations.

    Cons

    Can't really think of any at the moment.

    WEG Electric Corp.2018-08-13
  3. "Management not qualified for the position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 

    I worked at WEG Electric Corp. full-time

    Pros

    Small business unit, potential for growth

    Cons

    Small business unit, not being taken seriously by the company

    WEG Electric Corp.2019-10-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Do Not Go Here As a Veteran"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Sales Support Engineer in Duluth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at WEG Electric Corp. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The product is quality and can meet many design configurations

    Cons

    US Leadership is unethical! They are comfortable lying when it suits their needs. I was a reservist when I was hired by WEG. My annual training (AT) was coming and I offered to start after my AT. I was assured they supported my veteran status and that the company insisted on paying me while on military orders. I thought is was pretty cool and accepted the position. A few weeks after starting the President of the... US office called me into his office and explained that he expected me to use my vacation time while on military orders. I explained that he was under no obligation to pay me, but that equally I cannot be required to use my vacation time while on orders. I contacted my Employer Support for Guard and Reserve (ESGR) in hopes that we could find an amicable resolution. The liaison from ESGR called and spoke to the office president and called me following describing him as "the most obstinate person he'd ever dealt with". Two days later I was terminated for supposedly cursing which never happened. They were happy to fabricate false information to circumvent the laws we have in place to protect our veterans. Even if I had cursed, there were no complaints that I had cursed at anyone nor had I acted aggressively towards another employee or customer. It was simply "I was heard cursing". It was a clear fabrication to use my state's "right to work" laws to bypass ESGR guidelines and absolving the company of any punishment for discrimination.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Understand the culture and not just the laws of the countries you wish to operate in.

    WEG Electric Corp.2019-09-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Future Uncertain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core Department in Washington, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at WEG Electric Corp. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good insurance, 40 hr work week

    Cons

    Bad morale, company shipping more and more work to Mexico

    WEG Electric Corp.2019-02-25

    WEG Electric Corp. Response

    August 1, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for highlighting the good benefits and hours we offer to our team members. Appreciate you sharing concerns which we have been working to address through feedback, communications, and training. As for work, we continue to grow in the range of products best suited for our plant. Larger units for North America are marketed and engineered from our Washington location.

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WEG Electric Corp.

    Pros

    Pretty strong industry, and WEG is positioned well.

    Cons

    Low pay, unenthused culture, a lot of stress right now because of new software system, low amount of vacation.

    WEG Electric Corp.2019-02-21
  7. "Sr. Application Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Applications Engineer in Duluth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WEG Electric Corp. for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary Great people Office environment

    Cons

    Disconnect with WEG Brazil on product design No engineering support from Brazil Weak leadership Health benefits expensive Average 401K

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees concerns and ideas in how to improve the company. WEG Brazil needs to engage more with WEG USA to design product that can be sold in the USA market.

    WEG Electric Corp.2018-06-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Just not a great company if you want something long-term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Duluth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WEG Electric Corp. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is decent compared to other similar positions.

    Cons

    There are quite a bit of cons to be honest. I'm not sure you can find more than 10% of the employees who have nice things to say: Overworked lack of organization micro-managed office politics

    Advice to Management

    Do not promote supervisors who have no people-skills. The turnover rate is high because of the leadership.

    WEG Electric Corp.2018-06-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WEG Electric Corp. for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a good company to work for. Very stable, good balance between work x life.

    Cons

    Could offer more internal training opportunities.

    WEG Electric Corp.2018-04-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "GOOD LUCK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Washington, MO

    I worked at WEG Electric Corp. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good insurance benefits is the only Pro

    Cons

    Constant OT, no training program, short workers in both union and management

    Advice to Management

    Management lacking leadership. No trust between the workforce and upper management.

    WEG Electric Corp.2018-02-13

    WEG Electric Corp. Response

    August 1, 2019HR Manager

    Appreciate the note on our competitive benefits. Thank you, also, for the feedback: we have been working on better productivity and quality improvements which have resulted in less overtime. Retention has increased, but we still have challenges in some areas.

Found 54 reviews