WEX Employee Reviews about "wex"

Updated Dec 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
WEX President and CEO 	Melissa Smith (no image)
Melissa Smith
158 Ratings
Pros
  • "Reputable Company/ Great Benefits/ Favorable Work Schedule(in 19 reviews)

  • "Flexible Working - Work Life Balance(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There arent any downsides to working with wex(in 22 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance can be poor; hard work is not always recognised(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "wex"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best culture

      Dec 11, 2020 - Scrum Master in Ogden, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      WEX has such amazing people to work with. Everyone is laid back and is not micromanaging you.

      Cons

      There arent any downsides to working with wex

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Global company with small software startup feeling

      Apr 28, 2020 - Information Technology in South Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get to continually learn new things and innovate new solutions.

      Cons

      Can be difficult to navigate the complexities of the company. Its not for everyone, but if you like constant change you'll love WEX.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Micromanaging at its finest!

      Feb 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid time off is really good and bonuses.

      Cons

      If you want your every move watched, work here. If you want to be treated like you're 5, come apply! Management roles have changed and not for the better. The department I am in, every single employee is looking for a new job. The team lead tells you to watch your bathroom breaks but disappears for hours on end. I have worked for EFS for a long time and then WEX took over and it's terrible!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Running lean and mean... In a good way.

      Aug 1, 2015 - Shared Services in South Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Engaged manager. Hard working team of peers. Fun group of co-workers. Solid customer engagement. Meaningful work that leads to happy customers.

      Cons

      The small group of negative people that seem to hide in a corner of each department. Lots of the old timers "remember when WEX was a family"... Yup... That was ten years ago! Business has changed. We are not "a Maine based company" anymore. We are global and growing. Shut up and work... You suck the energy out of our departments, our meetings and even our after hour get togethers!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Churn and burn...

      Nov 23, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in South Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ok work life balance. Growth, but many challenges...

      Cons

      WEX has simply become a holding company with different verticals. Whether it can integrate and wring cost from its acquisitions to boost bottom line growth is an open question. Not sure why it is trading at 56 P/E ratio, except that its revenues are seen as stable. In the meantime, dealing with its brand/culture issue in a productive way has also yet to be answered. While WEX markets itself as a cool, hip, Maine-based, company true to its humble roots, segments of management seems to view employees as labor, rather than as talent. This attitude is unfortunate, and casts a pall over the organization. Traditionally, companies might look to HR on the evolving culture question, and to effectively deal with perceptions of management’s professional and personal acquisitiveness. Not here. Corporate HR leadership is as old school as it gets with an added feature: lots of quirky personalities with high self-regard! This doesn’t do the company any favors as it struggles with growth, and realizing its image of itself.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not a place to make much money

      Feb 15, 2014 - Analyst in South Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a horrible experience here, and it wasn't for lack of trying. I actually won their coveted "Wexcellence" award a few times, but a piece of paper with my name on it and a gold medal to wear around my neck doesn't go very far when you have to pay a mortgage.

      Cons

      WEX grossly underpays their employees. I began with the company as an analyst and had to fight tooth and nail to get $32k per year. In a future position, I brought to the attention of my manager the average pay for my job in South Portland at different companies of similar size, which was about 15k more than what I was making at WEX. The manager finally said "look, Wright Express just isn't going to pay you the market value." I left soon after that. Best decision I ever made and helped me realize my value. Eventually if you work for a company long enough that doesn't pay at market value, or above, you begin to feel like you're not worth market value. Get out before you convince yourself that this is the best it will ever get.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Times they are a changing

      Jun 13, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great colleagues, willing to share information and always help - Good experience and opportunity to learn

      Cons

      - Zero employee engagement. We feel less connected now than ever before. New leaders don't talk to employees, they stay huddled on the fourth floor and only talk to each other. - Toxic culture. Negative attitude start at the top and run deep. People are pushed out and walked over. Good people are gone and more are leaving. - Too much corporate speak/too little action. We hear the buzz words - WEX House, manage the matrix - and we create nice pictures. But nothing happens, nothing changes. - HR. A bad group that's only gotten worse in the past two years. 66% turn over year over year. They cannot even process payroll correctly. major incompetence.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      FANTASTIC!

      Mar 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in South Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Start up vibe makes room for you to make your mark, drive change and be part of the company's future - People are very warm and caring, I laugh every day and feel like I've joined a family - Days fly by and I am never bored - Pay is excellent

      Cons

      If you don't like the "work hard/play hard" mentality, this will not be for you. Intensity, push for results and go-go-go makes this exciting but, for some, this could be a bad fit. If you want to fade into the woodwork, WEX isn't for you.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Very sales/growth driven company

      Apr 6, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer in South Portland, ME
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      WEX is growing globally and diversifying extremely quickly and is overall pretty successful. Pay and benefits are good.

      Cons

      While WEX is a technology company and could not do what it does without a strong foundation in IT/software development the company does not seem to respect or appreciate the value in the IT organization. The company is very sales focused. Sales seem to be all that matters. They are driving to create new products/features quickly for the sake of hooking customers and then move on to the next shiny object. There isn't much commitment in making sure the current products are good quality and meet customers' needs/requirements. The IT infrastructure and software development technologies and processes are falling behind the times because there's no support or understanding for improving things and change when needed.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      WEX Review

      Mar 17, 2017 - Regional Sales Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture, competitive marketplace, and people. WEX is a company that strives for excellence, challenges you in your career, and has fun at work. WEX considers its employees' perspectives, values their opinions, and believes in a work/life balance. WEX expects their employees to work hard, be committed, and give 100%. WEX hires amazing people, that's one of the many reasons for their success. They stay beyond competitive in the marketplace, and continue to reach new heights. WEX is just getting started.

      Cons

      I work from home away from the Headquarters, so interacting with co-workers every day can be seen as a challenge for some, but there are several people that work for WEX where I live.

      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with WEX Job Seekers

    Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Solutions Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at WEX? Share Your Experiences

    WEX logo
    or