WGN Radio Reviews | Glassdoor

WGN Radio Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at WGN Radio

    Pros

    I had an amazing intern experience at WGN. I had one on one sessions with everyone form the General Manager/CEO all the way to producers on programs. I was allowed to really create my own program. I got to sit it on shows, shadow other departments and take part in marketing events.

    Cons

    I don't really have anything negative to say...If you take advantage of the people around you and everything you can learn you'll have a great experience.

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2016-08-10
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WGN Radio for more than a year

    Pros

    The nicest people. I believe the people you work with always make your day less stressful and more enjoyable ; and I found that at WGN

    Cons

    The management is sometimes too layback, there is never something urgent for them. You always to go several to them when you need something .

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2018-02-22
  3. "WGN Radio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at WGN Radio

    Pros

    Great place to work, lots of great people and a great place to start out. I enjoy working here.

    Cons

    There's nothing I can really say that's negative about this place, I've enjoyed the time I worked here.

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2016-06-23
  4. "Digital Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at WGN Radio

    Pros

    Well known company Part of the Tribune Umbrella

    Cons

    No growth People are hired above you No leadership

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2016-01-14
  5. "Good but would be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at WGN Radio

    Pros

    Great name, great people, looks great on resume

    Cons

    Left with nothing to do on most days

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2015-08-08
  6. "Radio not for the faint of heart, or hardworking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Producer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at WGN Radio

    Pros

    Exposure to other professionals in the city. Occasional invites to sponsor events - Blackhawks games, and formerly Cubs games. Experience, even if it's at 3 a.m.

    Cons

    Hiring is not done based on skills, but rather on who you know and if you'll be a suck up. The talent can be demeaning and disrespectful. Despite everyone being 35+, it is as dysfunctional as a high school TV drama. Not a team mentality, a constant "watch your back." As an intern you'll be paid minimum wage but be expected to work any and all hours. As a freelancer, you'll be expected to work all holidays, and take no vacation days. Paying your dues, does NOT result in an increase in pay, more steady hours, or a full-time job, even after 2 years of payment.

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2015-07-27
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A poorly managed toxic work environment that breeds paranoia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at WGN Radio part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Sometimes there is free food, especially if a guest brings in samples. -You will occasionally be invited to a Blackhawks game... if you're an on-air host or other executive. Otherwise, you're out of luck. -If you're friends with management and/or the morning show host, then you will get anything you want.

    Cons

    -The environment is toxic. If you're not "a morning show host guy" then you're out. The former afternoon host G.M. was one of the highest-rated hosts on the station (based on publicly available data), and he was released literally because a morning show host did not like him. This is not speculation, this is fact. -Everyone is afraid to say anything because everyone feels like they're "lucky to be on WGN Radio," but it is a shell of a station. Nobody trusts each other, there's no job security, and decisions are made with seemingly no concern for the station's profit or well-being. -The station has no direction. None of the talent know what they're "supposed" to sound like, because management does not provide feedback or insights. None of the hosts know what their ratings are. If you ask for your ratings or ask for an idea of how a show is performing, management either does not reply or outright says they will not tell you. I have seen this happen with multiple shows. -Management does not communicate with listeners. The station constantly receives letters, phone calls, and messages on social media (go look at WGN Radio's Facebook wall) asking what happened to certain hosts, or why they aren't on that week, or whether a show has been canceled. The schedule is inconsistent and nothing is done to communicate what is happening to the very loyal listening audience. -Engineers are treated like complete garbage. Their schedules are changed arbitrarily and with very little notice, they are underpaid for their incredibly specialized qualifications, and they are treated by some hosts like "the help," which is disrespectful. -Producers are treated like complete garbage. Part-time producers are literally paid less than Apple Store employees and full-time producers are lucky to make $40k, with zero room for growth even after several years. Producers do most of the work for all shows, while hosts are making six or even seven figure salaries (based on publicly available data) for showing up 10 minutes before their shows and leaving as soon as they finish. -Part-time hosts and newscasters are treated like complete garbage. They're expected to fill in with very short notice, or are "pre-empted" seemingly on a whim by other experimental hosts or shows. They are always expected to say "yes" to requests; otherwise, they find themselves without a job. Neither tenure nor popularity are relevant to on-air decisions (just ask any of the hosts who have been on the station 10+ years and seen no new opportunities). -The sales department is treated like complete garbage. It doesn't matter if a host is making money or making it easy for them to do their jobs: if management doesn't "like" a host, then they are gone, which makes selling a product insanely hard. -The studios are disgusting. Garbage piles up, hosts leave old newspapers or empty boxes lying around, and once a host even bled (literally) on the control board while doing a segment including a blood draw. The lack of sanitation anywhere is horrifying. -The production facilities are in shambles. Virtually all of the headphones in the studios are broken, the computers in the production rooms are barely functional and are barely ever wired properly with the recording equipment, and the phone system arbitrarily breaks often. CD players often don't work, the computers reset program preferences seemingly at random, Microsoft Lync never functions properly, and the hard drives on the computers are always full because the infrastructure is too poorly designed to support audio editing (which is kind of a necessity for a radio station). -Most major decisions, such as the decision to discontinue the FM sports station, are leaked by a morning show host to a Tribune columnist, who then has free reign to "break news" on his blog, whether or not the information is sensitive. There is a very revealing video of WGN Radio on Deadspin you should watch if you want to see what happens when a radio host finds out via Twitter that his FM sports station and his job are being cut, and that he will be unemployed in a matter of weeks.

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2015-04-08
  8. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at WGN Radio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, great people, great benefits, getting to go to blackhawks and cubs games are a great perk.

    Cons

    100% commission based, can be tough in this market. sometimes several account executives can be calling on the same account which can lead to difficult situations for management.

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2014-10-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Corrupt management and dying industry(especially AM). Only a name on a resume."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at WGN Radio

    Pros

    Everyone's friendly and loves radio.

    Cons

    Where to begin....management advances people just based on if they suck up enough. The pay is horrible. Terrible hours. Unprofessional atmosphere.

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2014-10-07
  10. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at WGN Radio for less than a year

    Pros

    I was a production intern at WGN Radio in my first summer after college. I really enjoyed the environment while learning at ton about radio as well as a professional setting. As the intern they actually use your information and hard work. i was able to speak on the radio, produce segments and learn hands on from a major market personality.

    Cons

    Unpaid internships are pretty tough. Though it was a great experience, they did not even provide Travel money for a train card!

    Continue reading
    WGN Radio2014-07-30
Found 14 reviews