Cover image for WHSmith
Logo

WHSmith

Engaged Employer

WHSmith

Add a Review

WHSmith Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,862 of over 2K reviews
3.3
49% Recommend to a Friend
WHSmith CEO Carl Cowling
68% Approve of CEO

Found 1,861 of over 2K reviews

3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
WHSmith CEO Carl Cowling
Carl Cowling
156 Ratings

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your exclusive Company Bowl™ on Community. Join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the Conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Excerpts from user reviews, not authored by Glassdoor

Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for working in an M&S cafe owned by WH Smith (£7.66/hour).(in 230 reviews)
  • "Bad management and bad working Co ditions(in 157 reviews)
  • "The manager was rude and hypocritical(in 68 reviews)
  • "Minimum wage and early mornings(in 60 reviews)
  • "Long shifts Understaffed Non existant training No way up underapreciated for the amount of work done.(in 51 reviews)

Ratings by Demographics

Want more options?

This rating reflects the overall rating of WHSmith and is not affected by filters.

    1. 5.0
      Feb 17, 2022
      Anonymous Employee
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture within the company

      Cons

      The Pay could be more

      1. 5.0
        Dec 3, 2023
        Graduate Trainee
        Current Employee
        Recommend
        CEO Approval
        Business Outlook

        Pros

        Good culture, lovely people and great benefits.

        Cons

        Locations of head offices can be inconvenient to travel to.

        Hi there, Thank you for leaving your review. We love to hear from our current staff especially our graduates! We have built and continue to build great culture in our workplace and we are proud to support all our colleagues on their career journey with us! We appreciate that as a global company we have many locations and a number of support centres so as part of our benefits we do offer flexible working where we can to ensure that travel does not play too much of a burden on people's lives. We will take your feedback and pass on to the teams! Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback. The WHSmith Team

      2. Join the WHSmith team
        See Our Latest Jobs
        1. 5.0
          Nov 20, 2023
          Designated Professional
          Current Employee, less than 1 year
          Recommend
          CEO Approval
          Business Outlook

          Pros

          Culture, Well-being, Inclusion, Direction of buisness.

          Cons

          You need a growth mindset to be as fast growing business - so people with this come onboard!

          Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5 star review. We love hearing from current staff! It's great to hear about your recent experience with us. Our global business is growing and we are lucky to have teams which are constantly contributing their ideas and skills. It's an exciting time for us and hopefully your feedback will encourage other candidates to come and join us and experience what you have. The WHSmith Team

          1. 5.0
            Nov 13, 2023
            Anonymous Employee
            Current Employee, more than 3 years
            Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
            Recommend
            CEO Approval
            Business Outlook

            Pros

            Flexible, good training, progressive, ambitous, international growth with opportunities for those seeking new challenges.

            Cons

            Systems a bit slow and Swindon office a bit dowdy still, although some improvements made.

            Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback. Great to hear about your experience so far! We are an expanding global business with endless opportunities for career progression for new candidates and current staff. Not many people are aware of all of our business areas and brands which provide many different types of roles in retail. We have a number of support centres and we look to make improvements on a regular basis where we can to ensure our teams are comfortable. The systems have been a priority this year as well as our regular review of pay and benefits as you mentioned. This year we introduced our partnership with the Retail Trust and it has been welcomed by our teams. Thanks again for your review. The WHSmith Team.

            1. 5.0
              Nov 10, 2023
              Team Leader
              Current Employee, less than 1 year
              Heathrow, England
              Recommend
              CEO Approval
              Business Outlook

              Pros

              Maintain Good Fluidity to run business more smoothly

              Cons

              You can forget about promotions

              Hi there, Thank you for leaving your 5 star review! We love hearing from our current staff so that we can continuously improve. Our travel arm of the business is fast paced and our teams work well together to ensure the smooth running of all our stores and formats. As a company we have a number of business areas and brands which means that we have many roles available for candidates to apply for including our current staff. Please do keep an eye out on our careers website for your next step in your career journey with us! The WHSmith Team

              1. 5.0
                Nov 9, 2023
                Service Delivery Manager
                Former Employee
                London, England
                Recommend
                CEO Approval
                Business Outlook

                Pros

                Great people and working environment

                Cons

                Pay is low compared to elsewhere

                Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments! Great to hear you had such a positive experience working with us. In answer to note about pay, we do review benefits and pay on a regular basis to ensure we remain competitive and ensure that we improve upon our offering whenever we can. Thank you again for leaving your review. The WHSmith Team

                1. 5.0
                  Nov 8, 2023
                  Customer Service Representative
                  Current Employee
                  Manchester, England
                  Recommend
                  CEO Approval
                  Business Outlook

                  Pros

                  Great workplace great culture great time great people

                  Cons

                  under staffed wrong contract can be boring nothing else nothing else

                  Hi there, Thank you for leaving your 5 star review! We love hearing from our current staff and it's great to read that you love the culture and workplace. Retail has it's highs and lows but don't let that hold you back from experiencing all ends of our business. If you are looking for your next step into a new role please do look at our vacancies. We will pass on your less positive comments to the team for review. The WHSmith Team

                  1. 5.0
                    Nov 2, 2023
                    Shop Assistant
                    Current Employee
                    Manchester, England
                    Recommend
                    CEO Approval
                    Business Outlook

                    Pros

                    Good shop culture shrimp beans

                    Cons

                    None shop of the we're who

                    Hi there, Thank you for leaving your 5 star review. We are glad to hear that you find the culture in the workplace good. The WHSmith Team

                    1. 5.0
                      Oct 23, 2023
                      Sales Associate
                      Former Employee, more than 1 year
                      Gillingham, England
                      Recommend
                      CEO Approval
                      Business Outlook

                      Pros

                      Got along fine with both the store manager and area manager Great people Somehow cosy

                      Cons

                      The store I worked in closed :( News scans

                      Hi there, Thank you for your 5 star review. It's great to hear you enjoyed working within our teams. Please do look on our new careers website for new roles if you wish to return, we have many opportunities across all our business areas for career development. The WHSmith Team

                      1. 5.0
                        Oct 23, 2023
                        Manager
                        Former Employee, more than 1 year
                        London, England
                        Recommend
                        CEO Approval
                        Business Outlook

                        Pros

                        Look back on such great experience gained from working at a high pace company

                        Cons

                        Can be stretching; hard work

                        Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your valuable review. We love to hear from former staff so that we can continue to improve. Great hearing about your experience working for us! Retail has it's high and lows and can be fast paced which some people love, what we can say is that everyday is different! If you ever consider returning we have many roles over our business areas that you could consider in then future, keep an eye on our careers website. The WHSmith Team

                      Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,861 Reviews
                      </>Embed

                      WHSmith Reviews FAQs

                      WHSmith has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 1,971 reviews left anonymously by employees. 49% of employees would recommend working at WHSmith to a friend and 42% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

                      According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, WHSmith employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at WHSmith. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

                      49% of WHSmith employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated WHSmith 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.0 for culture and values and 2.9 for career opportunities.

                      According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at WHSmith to be career development, culture, management and the cons to be workplace, benefits.

                      Popular Careers with WHSmith Job Seekers

                      JobsSalariesInterviews

                      Popular Conversations

                      Interview Tips

                      Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

                      Alex L.

                      Applied for a job a few weeks back, got a call from HR yesterday morning about an interview next week. She mentioned she'd shoot me an email with all the interview details, but so far, my inbox is empty. Assuming I'll hear from her early next week, is it normal for them to expect me to show up for an in-person interview on short notice, like couple days?

                      1
                      0 Comments

                      B2B Account Executive

                      Saw this on twitter. Questions to ask hiring managers/recruiters: 1.What typical challenges can someone in this position expect to encounter in this role and within the company ? 2.Could you detail the key objectives that a new hire should prioritize in this position ? 3.Which specific skills are crucial to perform successfully in this job ? 4.How does the company evaluate performance & success in this role ? 5.From your perspective, what is the most appealing aspect of the comp

                      1
                      2 Comments

                      Senior Consultant

                      People who interviewed at JPMorgan Chase how long did it take for you to receive an offer after the final interview?

                      1
                      0 Comments

                      Glassdoor has 1,971 WHSmith reviews submitted anonymously by WHSmith employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if WHSmith is right for you.