WHSmith "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

WHSmith Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
WHSmith CEO Stephen Clarke
Stephen Clarke
193 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good breaks if you’re under 18 and staff discount(in 26 reviews)

  • "interesting work environment at the airport(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum Wage even at a higher level(in 55 reviews)

  • "Incredibly low pay for workers under 21(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Gatwick, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get a job

    Cons

    Lack of communication and very low pay

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2020-03-29
  2. "Poor Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some perks after getting past your probation period

    Cons

    Incredibly low pay for workers under 21. If you want students to work and stay in the job, pay them decently.

    WHSmith2020-02-25
  3. "Employees not valued enough."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -You could be independent running the store if you worked in travel stores. -Only worked one day a week so good for students.

    Cons

    -Too low pay for the amount of work you were doing, which was running a travel store by yourself. -Had to come in even if you were really ill. -Breaks were only 20mins long which is not enough when you are working for 8 hours. -Employees not valued or rewarded for their work.

    WHSmith2019-09-22
  4. "Bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Bournemouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wasnt much work to do, pretty quiet

    Cons

    Such low pay, not worth it

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2019-08-31
  5. "Pros and cons for working at Whsmith"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fab co workers, all pull together work as a team, great way to gain experience of retail work..

    Cons

    Low pay, no respect shown.. Just a number..

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2019-09-01
  6. "This job no longer exists in WHsmiths but has been divided between a supervisor and the Store Manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Post Office Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very diverse range of transactions and duties, which made the job interesting, fun and stimulating. The post office staff - very friendly, good camaraderie, lovely team to work with. Customers- most were lovely. I had good support from my line manager, regarding anything. Good annual leave for Managers. Out of date chocolates in staff room, which can be eaten by staff in the premises.

    Cons

    Low pay but more so for the clerks who only receive minimum wage. Understaffing, which puts enormous pressure on operations, more so at busy times. Working in the back of a shop, we felt that our needs came secondary to the shop, ie the ability to check emails for example. Some bullying by management in the Whsmith store side of the business of the store staff.

    WHSmith2019-07-17
  7. "Fun at times boring at others, really really good staff and all depends on what role you have."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Community, staff, relaxed at times, busy at others

    Cons

    Long shifts, kinda low pay, depending on expectations

    WHSmith2019-07-06
  8. "It was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith part-time

    Pros

    You learn a lot about customer service

    Cons

    It was a very low pay

    WHSmith2019-07-20
  9. "They work you hard for low pay !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at WHSmith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Okay first job Simple tasks

    Cons

    Low pay ( for me it was just above minimum wage) Little training Not many staff on shop floor Underpaid me

    WHSmith2019-06-22
  10. "not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Assistant in Dublin, Dublin

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interesting work environment at the airport

    Cons

    low pay promotions seemed arbitrary

    WHSmith2019-04-26
Found 39 reviews