WHSmith "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

WHSmith Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Mar 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
33%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
WHSmith CEO Stephen Clarke
Stephen Clarke
194 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good breaks if you’re under 18 and staff discount(in 26 reviews)

  • "interesting work environment at the airport(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum Wage even at a higher level(in 55 reviews)

  • "Incredibly low pay for workers under 21(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Easy but boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and supportive management

    Cons

    Boring, mindless jobs that only pay minimum wage

    WHSmith2020-03-20
  2. "Slow and Mundane job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Peterborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at WHSmith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee Discount when you purchase items.

    Cons

    Not enough hours, don't always get your breaks, no flexibility in shifts, minimum wage, lone working.

    WHSmith2020-03-08
  3. "Boring, repetitive and cut cut cut!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant/Duty Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount (although products still cheaper elsewhere) Local to me on high street. Good connections with regular customers. Post office in store. Friendly staff and manager

    Cons

    Minimum wage, even for opening and closing the store. Sometimes lone working (myself with post office staff) me being the only person on the WHSmith side. Expensive prices in high street stores, not competitive. Very slow trade some days, especially Sundays where we were one of the only shops open. Management was not visible on the shop floor. One staff member sacked due to making mistakes when they were on their own and there was no support from management. Somedays you would be downstairs on your own all day. Forcing products on the customers all the time! Being forced to serve customers through the self-checkout in order to meet targets. Being left on the till with no customers whilst other staff doing jobs. (We are better than you attitude).

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2020-01-21
  4. "Good for first year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at WHSmith part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy job, secure contract, flexible hours

    Cons

    Minimum wage, boring, no progress for future.

    WHSmith2020-01-06
  5. "Good for extra income when studying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very Flexible Over time (If needed) Very good for students or anyone that can not work full time

    Cons

    Minimum wage Promotions go to those who have been there longer rather than who works well.

    WHSmith2019-12-29
  6. "It's OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WHSmith part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good job for students who want some experience in retail and customer service. - The people you work with are great.

    Cons

    - No progression past "Sales Assistant". - Pay is just above minimum wage.

    WHSmith2019-12-30
  7. "'Eh' place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at WHSmith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers Easy job Regular shifts that don't change often Fairly flexible (depending on circumstance)

    Cons

    No sick pay and you're only 'allowed' to be sick 3 times per year, which is unrealistic and dehumanizing. My manager literally berated me down the phone one time when I called in sick, which was unnecessary and upsetting. Minimum wage (especially considering how much they overcharge for stock! Convoluted holiday system - what is the point of using Dayforce if you have to tell your manager every time you make a request. Boring work Customers are awful

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2019-12-18
  8. "An okay job, but with no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Gloucester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your coworkers will keep you sane.

    Cons

    Minimum wage, no training, no progression. Management are also very cliquey and will gang up on you if you try to speak up when you're treated badly.

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2019-11-07
  9. "Wouldn’t recommend as a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Burton upon Trent, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at WHSmith part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job is relatively easy to do

    Cons

    Management expect too much of their staff considering how much we get paid Don’t trust staff and accuse/ suspect them of stealing which isn’t the case Manager was generally rude to staff making me feel anxious about going to work! I used to dread going to work and had panic attacks about working with my manager. HR systems aren’t good meaning I didn’t get paid minimum wage for some of my time there and my holidays got messed up.

    Continue reading
    WHSmith2019-08-08
  10. "This job no longer exists in WHsmiths but has been divided between a supervisor and the Store Manager."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Post Office Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WHSmith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very diverse range of transactions and duties, which made the job interesting, fun and stimulating. The post office staff - very friendly, good camaraderie, lovely team to work with. Customers- most were lovely. I had good support from my line manager, regarding anything. Good annual leave for Managers. Out of date chocolates in staff room, which can be eaten by staff in the premises.

    Cons

    Low pay but more so for the clerks who only receive minimum wage. Understaffing, which puts enormous pressure on operations, more so at busy times. Working in the back of a shop, we felt that our needs came secondary to the shop, ie the ability to check emails for example. Some bullying by management in the Whsmith store side of the business of the store staff.

    WHSmith2019-07-17
Found 55 reviews