WIS International "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

WIS International Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
WIS International CEO Jim Rose
Jim Rose
299 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very fun if you enjoy traveling and always being on your feet(in 62 reviews)

  • "Work with some great teams and meet new people(in 57 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours can sometimes get you down but reward is xmas at home with the family(in 62 reviews)

  • "Sometime, you have to be in the location in the early morning or late night(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Starter Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Inventory Crew 

    I worked at WIS International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Transportation to work site

    Cons

    The pay was low then guess it will be higher now with the new minimum wage.

    WIS International2019-05-27
  2. "Bookkeeping Inventory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookkeeping Inventory in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WIS International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Traveling is good and keeping busy

    Cons

    The minimum wage here to is Jackson, Ms is very low

    Advice to Management

    Great pay makes a person work for a long amount of years at a company

    WIS International2019-08-22
  3. "Bad in so many ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WIS International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job,can't find any other reason

    Cons

    Minimum wage,barely making 20 hours a week,no gas reimbursement, gossiping at all levels

    Advice to Management

    You are expected to drive every day to a different location, never the same schedule, minimum wage and stand all the gossips. Barely can make 20 hours a week but you have to be prepared just in case they need you. Job is easy even when you are walking the whole time but unless you are single with no debts and only working as a hobby,not a good place to work.

    WIS International2019-06-03
  4. "Better off in a local fast food restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Associate in Pasadena, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WIS International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can work AM or PM or both The co-workers can be great You learn to count more quickly Perfect job for stoners who want to come to work, do a brainless job, not care how they performed. 14% discount on specific cell phone bills Can sleep on van rides if you have a travel pillow or like straining your neck

    Cons

    Hours can be absurdly early, like a van meet time at 2 am to start an inventory at 6. Busy periods can feel like triple shifts, having 3 jobs with fewer than 12 hours between one another. Reported hours can be inconsistent and you should track your time yourself. When hired, you're told you will be given a performance review after your first 5 inventories, then told it's first 10 inventories, and then neither of... those happen because "the system went down and we don't have productivity reports" so that first review and then the review you're told you get once every quarter don't happen. The official WIS manuals state you will have "10 minute rest breaks" every few hours, not to be confused with meal breaks. I don't think anyone has ever been told to take a rest break. Some production targets are entirely unreachable if the store did not prep or you're in a bad/slow section of the store so you have no opportunity to perform to a higher standard. Some jobs will be 2-3 hours away, and then traffic will extend it to a 4 hour drive. You're paid minimum wage for 3 hours if that happens. Training has no structure once you learn how to use the equipment, I only received one day of true "training" but it was one trainer for >5 new employees all spread out among a large store's aisles. You can easily make more money working hard and moving up at a fast food restaurant like sonic/jack in the box/mcdonald's, and you won't have to spend >2 hours a day commuting. Some commutes are overestimated and you're stuck waiting at a store for 45-60 minutes doing nothing. Not cohesive with planned schedules because end times are inconsistent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't promise money you can't deliver. If you're going to give performance reviews to >50 employees every 3 months you need to stay on top of it. Work towards having more local jobs. Read the employee handbook once a year.

    WIS International2019-05-08
  5. "Low pay and odd hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inventory Associate in Signal Hill, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WIS International for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you're desperate for a job, they will hire anyone.

    Cons

    This is a minimum wage where it's nearly impossible to get a raise.

    WIS International2018-12-28
  6. Helpful (5)

    "WIS = What Is Sleep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WIS International part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling Physically active Minimal social interaction required Doesn't require mental math Every day is different, even when the basics remain the same. Resume filler Paid for SOME of the travel time IF you ride the company transport. High turnover rate leaves a lot of opportunity for promotion. Always hiring, with minimal-to-no experience necessary. Those who remain employed longer than a... few months have a bond forged in mutual sleep-deprivation, and are the most supportive teammates you could ever ask for. Everyone, even the supervisors, are congratulatory when informed that you've been hired for a better job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Barely above minimum-wage at entry level Irregular scheduling Travel-time compensation is below minimum wage. Does not supply protective equipment, like gloves or knee pads. You have to buy them out-of-pocket. Travel-time is not 'On The Clock', so even if your daily commute is 4+ hours you're still a Part Time employee. Inventory Associates and Supervisors are Part Time employees. Leaving at 3am and getting... back at 6pm is a Long Day, but not uncommon. Physically and mentally exhausting Inventory Associates are at High Risk for back/spine injuries and chronic pain. Incompatible with Having a Family or Having a Social Life. Operates by the 'work them until they break, because they're easily replaced' school of thought.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people. Or at least like long-term investments.

    WIS International2018-05-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth it at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Associate in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at WIS International part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people are decent They hire pretty much anyone, but that is also kind of a negative too.

    Cons

    If you take this job, you are basically surrendering all of your free time during the week. Hours vary to the extremes. One day you could work 4 hours, the next you are away from home for upwards to 12-14 hours due to travel. The absolute worst day I had, I was gone for almost 20 whole hours. During that there was about 3 hours total of travel time and a single 30 minute break, the rest of the time was spent working.... The worst part about this is even you get your check and it doesn't even come close to what you would expect for being at work so long. Associates start out barely above minimum wage, and you get raises based on how quickly you can count. Since you will more than likely not earn it at the start due to poor training, you might only be able to receive a 50 cent raise max in 3 months. There's a 3 dollar raise, but the company set that goal at impossible standards so don't expect to get it. You will more than likely receive 1.50. Management just does not care about you or your grievances. If you really, TRULY need a job ASAP and are willing to put up with this, go for it. They will hire anyone no matter what. Long hours Extremely underpaid Constant broken promises Very poor management High turnover rate

    Show More
    WIS International2018-04-30
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Washington Institute of Slavery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Associate in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WIS International part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Will hire anyone with a pulse. Great for the unemployable or anyone like me looking for their first job with no experience. - Get to travel to different cities and see different stores. - They provide vanpools at a designated meeting place to job sites that are more than 30 miles away from the office. - 10 min breaks every 2-2.5 hours and 30 min lunch breaks every 5 hours. - Odd hours mean less traffic and... make this job more convenient for a student or someone with a second job. - Flexible hours: They will schedule based on your availability. - They used to pay you for 4 hours of work minimum, even if a job took less time than that. This changed after they were bought by another company.

    Show More

    Cons

    The job itself - Tedious and boring. You are literally standing there counting merchandise. There are stores where you simply scan one item of a particular product, block count, and enter the quantity which is easier, and then there are the clothing stores where you have to find each and every tag to scan every single item. - The day hours are variable and dependent on however long it takes to finish the store. I... have had jobs last from 2 hours to upwards of 10 hours. This will depend mainly on how large the store is and how many people are scheduled and actually show up. - You will occasionally have to work in a warehouse, which tend to take longer, are often dirty/dusty, and have no A/C or heating. - You will be standing, kneeling, squatting, and sitting on floors for hours. It does tend to go by relatively quickly, however. - You will see coworkers come and go due to the high turnover rate. - If you don’t bring your own lunch and the client doesn’t provide it (which isn’t that often), the 30 minutes you get is often not enough time to walk/drive to the nearest restaurant, wait for your food, and actually sit down and eat it. The company/managers/policies - The wages are terrible for the work we are expected to do. We are paid just above the legally mandated minimum wage to wake up extremely early or stay up late and stand around for hours. If you ride in a van, they won’t pay you for the first hour of travel there and back, taking two hours of your time for free. The travel time after the first hour is paid minimum wage, as well as the waiting time you spend after you finish and have to wait for everyone who was in your van to finish before you can leave. They do not pay you during breaks and lunches. - I have had the hours on my time sheet cut short at least a couple of times, cheating me out of some of my wages. Both of the ones I caught and questioned were denied. After the first instance, I started taking note of the exact times I clocked in/out to keep a record of my exact hours. The second time, the manager’s reasoning for denial was based on the fact that most of my coworkers finished earlier, as if the extra half-hour I spent counting hundreds of panties didn’t matter. I wasn’t even the last one to finish. - They push speed, even though the clients tend to prioritize accuracy, and rightfully so. This leads to countless mistakes and recounts having to be done, which is annoying as it keeps us there for longer. I received a negative 6-month review for being too “slow”, even though I have been extremely accurate for the most part, which they don’t seem to care about. You will also get less hours if you are not fast enough for them. I have gone weeks without work at times. - The area managers rarely respond to emails and phone calls, and don’t appear to even open them. I have had jobs scheduled that conflicted with my availability, even when I notified my manager of availability changes ahead of time. I have been written up for a no-show, even though I notified my manager ahead of time that I was in the hospital. - They don’t allow you to call in sick without a doctor’s note. Your options are to either go to the hospital for a manageable illness just to get a doctor’s note or show up sick and hope to be excused and sent home. Those were literally the options my area manager gave me when I tried to call in sick. I have had to show up to work in serious pain a couple times just to be excused. - The training is a joke. They show your group a few orientation videos, teach you for a few minutes how to use the scanners, let you practice on some posters, and then have you practice in a store for a few minutes. After that they throw you into your first job and you learn as you go. The new hires tend to be very, very slow for a reason. - There are so many more, but I’ve already written too much and my phone needs to be charged. I know the grass is greener on the other side and will be looking for a better job in the near future.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is a reason your turnover rates are so astronomically high. - Pay your employees better and don’t short their hours to cheat them out of pay. Pay them for every minute of travel time and for every minute each individual has spent working. Do not cut breaks from wages either. No one signed up for slave labor. Raise the hourly rate by at least $1 or at least offer a decent raise every now and then for... punctuality, behavior, speed, AND accuracy. - Don’t treat your employees like they are disposable. They are human beings with needs and outside lives and deserve to be treated as such. This is probably due to the fact that you go through them like diapers. - Improve the hiring and training process. You shouldn’t be hiring literally everyone that shows up without a real interview and background check, and then taking shortcuts on training them because you have too many people to train properly. - How do you expect new and/or slow counters to become more efficient if you don’t give them hours? They will gain experience through practice if they actually get enough work. Give people hours unless they are actively engaging in bad behavior or slacking off. The more workers, the faster things get done. All of these bad business practices culminate to perpetuate this cycle of employees quitting on a regular basis, forcing you guys to scrape the bottom of the barrel to replace these people, leading you guys to view your employees as disposable, and the cycle continues. Be proactive and change things. If you have to purge everyone and start over, so be it.

    Show More
    WIS International2017-10-23
  9. "WIS plz"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WIS International part-time

    Pros

    Easy to advance as long as you're social with the bosses and over achieve. Easy to get more hours and its a simple job.

    Cons

    Pay is minimum wage, one of my bosses constantly underestimated my intelligence simply due to age difference.

    WIS International2017-10-12
  10. "Very Competitive!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WIS International part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to travel to different places, barely a pay check

    Cons

    People there are not very friendly, a lot of favoritism, minimum wage, no boosted morale, no incentives,people tend to click up ,. Odd hours, and alot of travel time verses work time

    Advice to Management

    Take pride in what you do. Be better role models, promote strong work ethics, train properly, give everyone a fair chance,

    WIS International2017-08-29
Found 34 reviews