WP Engine "free lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor

WP Engine Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
WP Engine CEO Heather Brunner
Heather Brunner
116 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch/snacks (tastes great and good variety)(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great company, would work here again(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains as any scale up(in 12 reviews)

  • "It's sometimes a bit hard to find out all the information coming from Head Office in Austin as the time difference is so big(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "3 years in and still loving every minute of this wild ride!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Designer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WP Engine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Locations, work/life balance, company values, company culture, leadership, generous vacation, health benefits, 401k, free lunch, annual holiday party, the way I feel about myself and my contributions when I get home from a rewarding day of work.

    Cons

    I struggled to think of some cons. Honestly I really love this company. I think the only "con" is the fact that our flagship office is in downtown and traffic in this city leaves a little something to be desired. However, I do have the option to work from home or from our office in the Domain a couple of days a week so it's not all that bad.

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2019-09-13
  2. "Don't believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WP Engine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers and peers. Free lunch and snacks.

    Cons

    The recruiters and sales leadership will tell you that OTE is at least 100% more than what you are actually going to bring home. Leadership keeps hiring people in sales and keeps making the pie smaller for everyone. The pay is a joke, and the turnover is out of control. There is a lot of micro management b/c no one is making goal, b/c there are too many sales people. You are required to be in office 8-5 M-F. This is not a WFH environment.

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2019-09-30

    WP Engine Response

    October 7, 2019Director, Internal Comms

    We appreciate you and your comments. We take them very seriously and we want all our employees to be financially successful and thrive here. We’re sorry your experience is not measuring up to that. As you know, we constantly benchmark compensation and sales targets to allow more reps to be successful. Further, a core tenet is that everyone is an owner here at WP Engine, meaning everyone has an equity stake in the company. Recognizing that you are a current employee, we encourage you to bring your concerns to sales leadership so that we can work with you on your specific situation. We are a growing company with an award-winning culture and we want all our employees, including you, to thrive here.

    Continue reading
  3. "Supportive environment - Learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WP Engine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growing company, caring colleagues, competent leadership, promotion opportunities, nice office, free lunch, nice perks.

    Cons

    High turnover in sales, compensation is just ok, growing pains of a company moving fast.

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2019-08-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A company that has maintained their great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WP Engine full-time

    Pros

    -Positive culture that lives their values -Free lunch/snacks (tastes great and good variety) -Personable and approachable leadership -A TON of opportunity to grow personally and contribute noticably -Solid Healthcare -Positive culture that lives their values (I put this a second time because its not only true but its even true to the degree that you dare not even hope for, coming into it)

    Cons

    While nowhere is perfect, the things they do well and don't do well they are 100% honest and open about and actively work to improve those things. Its a young company and so its undergoing a some updating of legacy practices that were done "in the moment" out of survival or inexperience, but they now have world class leaders actively solving these problems. Really no cons thus far.

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2018-03-24
  5. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WP Engine for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, free downtown parking, unlimited coffee, unlimited snacks. Everyone is really nice and friendly.

    Cons

    They keep interns in limbo and keep dangling a full time position in front of them, but never offer them a position. There were tons of interns who worked there for an insane amount of time. They would also say they didn't have the budget, but would hire higher level employees like crazy.

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2017-04-28
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Great for Kids; Not so Much for Adults"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WP Engine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, free lunch, definitely a "start-up" atmosphere with an emphasis on fun at times.

    Cons

    No 401k match, good amount of office politics and favoritism with promotions, and hugely metrics-centric in Support.

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2016-08-26
  7. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WP Engine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Energetic start-up feel, with over 350+ employees Transparency across the business Culture that looks out for the employee & community Teamwork across departments and company; still small enough to keep "silos" away Growth for existing employees is common place, while also hiring new individual contributors & people leaders Every employee gets equity (real stake in the growth) Health & Medical benefits are good for individuals & families alike Food, food and more food; free lunch everyday and snacks to help you power through high-paced days Liberal vacation schedule, but everyone growing & building so quickly makes it hard to take Headquarters in the heart of Austin,TX, along with remote offices across the U.S. and Europe

    Cons

    Working remotely is a chore (life revolves around corporate in Austin, TX) Salaries tend to be lower than average (but equity is included for everyone) Benefits improvements (401k & HSA plans need some work)

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2016-08-18
  8. "Learn Learn Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Support L2 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WP Engine for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong Culture Nurturing environment Free lunch/parking Great people and management Unlimited PTO

    Cons

    People take it for granted Can be really stressful/busy Mandatory hour break (formerly unlimited OT)

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2016-08-16
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Don't drink the Kool-Aid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WP Engine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch (also a con, since it's bad food) Free parking downtown (most new employees get open lots with very restrictive hours) Celebratory culture outside of engineering

    Cons

    The engineering management is unstable. No management from 2 years ago is still with the company. The current engineering management regime is more political and favoritism laden than previous leadership. The CTO & founder has gone from directly involved and connected with the engineering team to being aloof and distance. His role has been greatly diminished over the last year. The managers that are left (except 1) have little technical capabilities and are more focused on "moving JIRA issues" and metrics than software development. The majority of work these days is either supporting the legacy systems or attempting to move hosting to AWS / Google. New project's and innovation in software development are almost completely dead. A lot of budget tightening since the data breach in Dec. 2015. A lot of walls were put in place after that to make things more "secure", but really just made it harder to do anything.

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2016-08-31
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Limited Opportunities for Remote Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WP Engine

    Pros

    Good people. Free Lunch. Team Outings.

    Cons

    If you don't work at the Austin office, you will never advance in your career. Several changes were made that feel like I've regressed in my career. Even though the company is growing, budget cuts are being made heavily. Things were spun into being "positive" even though everyone knew the real reasoning.

    Continue reading
    WP Engine2016-06-06
Found 10 reviews