Cover image for WP Engine
Logo

WP Engine

Engaged Employer

WP Engine

Add a Review

WP Engine Employee Reviews about "wp engine"

Updated Aug 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 352 reviews

4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
WP Engine CEO Heather Brunner
Heather Brunner
288 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

556

77 Comments

Tech

580.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=WP Engine~594498
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about WP Engine? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with WP Engine employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "People are great and work very hard.(in 45 reviews)
  • "Driven by values and a great culture.(in 44 reviews)
  • "The benefits are great... Working for a few other companies after college and then coming here.(in 30 reviews)
  • "Leadership is strong and supportive.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Management had been great to deal with and expectations of your role are fair.(in 13 reviews)
Cons
  • "bad pay(in 8 reviews)
  • "Managers constantly push efficiency and say we aren’t working hard enough as we have less and less people every day doing more and more work.(in 6 reviews)
  • "I left a decent job (boring but stable) to come here hoping for opportunity for growth and ability to make more money.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of WP Engine and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "wp engine"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee

    From Very Satisfied to Dissatisfied

    Oct 2, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tech startup work environment with a nice view of downtown Austin on the 16th floor. Skilled team members, programmers, developers, and writers. Cool culture (at first).

    Cons

    The WP Engine team that was once small and fun is becoming big and serious. We got a lot of heat after we launched our shady affiliate program. Some of us are considering leaving (hence the recent job postings).

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Core Values not practiced

    May 13, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hard working environment that is focused around goals and achievements of individuals for the betterment of WP Engine.

    Cons

    The job I accepted, was not the job I left. Completely micro managed to the hour No stability in role function Never question.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    WP Engine Response

    Director, Internal Comms

    Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review and for the feedback. As you know our five core values—do the right thing, customer-inspired, where the best get better, built to last, and aspiring to lead, committed to giving back—function as an underlying framework that guides everything the company does. We are sorry to learn that your experience was not in line with what we intend.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    It Ain't Perfect But It's Great

    Oct 8, 2019 - Manager, Sales Performance & Development in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People First WP Engine take a 'people first' perspective and recognizes the value and contribution of its people as the sole driver of our ultimate success. Consequently, engaging employees with empathy and compassion and seeing employees as people- and not simply corporate resources- is woven into the cultural fabric of the company. Put simple, WP Engine cares about its people and the people care about each other. Integrity and Trust WP Engine does an amazing job of hiring people who will do what they say they'll do when they say they'll do it. We don't have to stress the importance of being honest and reliable because we try to hire people for whom this is part of their value system. As a result, WP Engine is more agile, quick, and nimble while moving at 'the speed of trust.' Collaboration and Cohesion WP Engine maintains a highly collaborative environment where ideas, input, and feedback are both valued and solicited. Stakeholders are keen to include insights and perspectives from other teams across the organization. An argument _could_ be made that we over-emphasize collaboration with perhaps too many meetings and too many invitees. On the plus side, organizational leaders are becoming more aware of the need to balance collaboration with efficiency.

    Cons

    Accountability and Candor Unfortunately, some of the pros above contribute to the cons. The empathy and compassion that infuses our culture contributes to an environment where there is a seeming discomfort and or reluctance to provide candid performance feedback or hold others accountable for performance, quality, or results. Over-Thinking/Over-Solving The answer to complex questions is not always as complex as the question itself. It is not uncommon for us to devise complicated "mousetraps" on the whiteboard in lieu of simple and direct solutions. In a fast paced and every changing environment such as WP Engine, simple works best. Over-engineering (and over collaboration) often consumes our most valuable resource: time. Speed vs Quickness WP Engine tends to emphasize speed over quickness. By emphasizing speed and embracing "Minimum Viability" for our sometimes over-engineered solutions we create a dynamic where ideas take off fast and then get bogged down as the realization that we may have thought all the way through a problem before trying to solve it. "Do it right or do it twice." Fast, Cheap, Good: Pick Two We tend to pick all three...

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great culture and leadership

    Mar 23, 2020 - Principal Software Architect in Sugar Land, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WP Engine leadership is solid. I really like the diversity of the C-level leadership. Our CEO, is top tier. One of the key reasons is her intentionality in creating and sustaining culture as we scale. Company values are understood by everyone, and are actually acted on. The company is succeeding, and growing quickly, which creates lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    The culture is friendly and sometimes this makes it harder to have candid, hard conversations. This is changing through focus from leadership.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A very special place

    Jan 15, 2019 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture at WP Engine is phenomenal. I've never seen anything like it, at any company of any size. To have this type of culture in a company of this size is a testament to the core values and abilities of the leadership. It's a very positive environment. Everyone cares about everyone, and that comes from the top down. You're not just a worker bee at WP Engine. You're a human being with a life outside of work, and the company is structured to ensure you're not working all the time and neglecting your personal life. The attention to detail and quality is inspiring. The focus on customers is amazing. The insistence that we build a sustainable, profitable company is refreshing. Teams are close and do lots of great work. Cross-team collaboration is top notch. Planning for the quarter is done very well. We all know what we're working on and why we're doing it. The positive energy is this place is unparalleled.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of anything.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Nitwit Bullies in Charge of Everything

    Nov 22, 2022 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WFH, the rare manager who knows what they're doing and/or treats you like a human being.

    Cons

    WP Engine is a failure in perpetual motion thanks to its lucky spot as a monopoly among managed WordPress hosting providers. There is 100% turnover within 6-month periods in departments all across the company. Performance this bad would end any firm but so much money keeps coming in that WPE just keeps going no matter what. There is a truly sick culture at the top, these people are mean, brazenly unqualified, and they have all the power. Middle management will treat you however they want for as long as it takes you to find another job. Small businesses need to start hiring freelancers to setup an AWS instance for them and stop sending their money to WP Engine.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    WP Engine Response

    DEI Specialist

    We are sorry that you have had an atypical experience, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns. We encourage you to speak with Employee Experience or reach out to your EE Business Partner directly if you feel comfortable doing so.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    An employer that invests into your success

    Jun 17, 2021 - Business Development Representative in Brisbane
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -From day one at the company you are put in mentorship programs to ensure success and progression within the company. -Amazing management, the leaders at WP Engine go above and beyond to encourage and enable you. -Industry leading company, we have more employees than all our competitors combined and are growing rapidly. -Modern workspace in the middle of the CBD, open door policy. -Company regularly sends you Swag via post. (who doesn't love free swag)

    Cons

    I wish there were more face to face events and team outings.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Solid Company on the up and up

    Aug 29, 2016 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WP does a GREAT job of on-boarding new hires and helping them feel welcomed upon their arrival. From the recruiting and training teams to the Support/Operations team, everyone plays a role in ensuring the experience is as enriched in the culture as possible. The company as a whole works hard but also plays hard as well with numerous outings to help keep the culture alive and well.

    Cons

    With growth, there also comes some growing pains. Each individual hits the ground running, with high expectations once they are in full swing with their position. Everyone pulls there own weight but sometimes an individual may feel the 'stress' of pulling others weight depending on the task at hand. WP Engine does a really good job of helping ensure this does not happen too often as the teams are well versed in cross collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place for the fast-paced

    Nov 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product is cutting edge and has gained a ton of brand awareness in recent years, which is useful if you're on the sales team. Lots of friendly staff who are eager to welcome in new hires and integrate them into the lively culture of WP Engine. If you are excited by growth and change, then this is great fit. Travel opportunities, and a lot of chances to learn other aspects of tech outside of your specific role.

    Cons

    Too high a ratio of sales staff to managers - definitely need more one-on-one time & sales floor leadership. However, the managers we have are smart, helpful and forward thinking.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0