WPX Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

WPX Energy Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Rick Muncrief
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Company's profits are closely tied to Oil and Gas commodity prices(in 3 reviews)

  • "Poor communication between upper management and workers(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at WPX Energy full-time

      Pros

      Company has great people who enjoy their roles

      Cons

      Company is very supportive of the community but not as engaged as WMB.

      WPX Energy2019-05-16
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Accounting Clerk in Tulsa, OK

        I worked at WPX Energy full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Excellent benefits and friendly management

        Cons

        I don’t feel there were any cons

        WPX Energy2019-05-07
      • "Regulatory Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at WPX Energy full-time

          Pros

          WPX is an incredible company to work for. They pay well and treat their employees well. They were like a family to me.

          Cons

          There were no cons to this job. I appreciated every moment with the company.

          WPX Energy2018-11-10
        • "Environmental Coordinator"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at WPX Energy full-time

          Pros

          9-80 schedule and flexible work hours

          Cons

          Poor communication between upper management and workers

          WPX Energy2018-11-06
        • "Contracted for WPX"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at WPX Energy

            Pros

            Engaged with geologist most of which were up to par but there were a few that didnt know what was going on during the drilling process

            Cons

            Geologist do not communicate effectively

            WPX Energy2018-10-16
          • "Great Company"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at WPX Energy full-time

            Pros

            The culture. There is no one I can not talk to or get help from

            Cons

            Performance driven depending on the area

            WPX Energy2018-10-01
          • "Business Analyst II"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at WPX Energy full-time

            Pros

            Great people, very respectful and professional

            Cons

            HQ in Tulsa, would like the company to consider a Denver or Houston

            WPX Energy2018-09-11
          • "HR"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Recommends

            I worked at WPX Energy full-time

            Pros

            Great pay and benefits, great people, great opportunity for community involvement and volunteer opportunities

            Cons

            Not a lot of opportunity for advancement in certain positions

            WPX Energy2018-07-05
          • Helpful (1)

            "Wpx review"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Killdeer, ND
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at WPX Energy full-time for more than 10 years

            Pros

            17 of 18 years were great

            Cons

            After reaching 50 years old opportunity no longer exists

            Advice to Management

            Experience should be valued

            WPX Energy2018-04-29
          • Helpful (1)

            "Engineering"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at WPX Energy full-time for more than 10 years

            Pros

            Lots of good talented people who work hard and work as team

            Cons

            Management has deep-seated discrimination issues with women and minorities. Increasing amount of age discrimination also. Company is starting to look like a fraternity, and the golden employees see no ramifications from their mistakes.

            Advice to Management

            Join the 21st century and hire more minorities, promote from within, promote women and lose the fraternity attitude

            WPX Energy2018-04-24
          Found 54 reviews