KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

WSECU

Engaged Employer

WSECU

Add a Review

WSECU Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 of over 106 reviews

4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
WSECU President and CEO Gary Swindler
Gary Swindler
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "WSECU truly cares about it's employees(in 18 reviews)

  • "Wonderful place to work with awesome culture, fair pay and great benefits(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Hard to live up unless you live in Olympia(in 5 reviews)

  • "At WSECU you will have stressful days(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    884

    87 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of WSECU and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      The best company to work ever!

      Nov 23, 2021 - Scrum Master 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the culture, the people, and the commitment to growing their employees. Our Senior leadership, Board of Directors, and Supervisory Committee truly care about the community and we are encouraged to make a difference as well. I have worked in several roles within the organization and have "grown up" here. I have no intention of leaving and am proud to tell people that I work for WSECU!

      Cons

      I have no cons. I love this organization!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      People and Culture Services Representative

      It’s amazing to hear this! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and we couldn’t agree more with everything you’ve said here! We feel incredibly fortunate and proud to have such devoted team members.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Wonderful people doing good work.

      Nov 23, 2021 - Contact Center Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people in this organization care about their work.

      Cons

      Same cons as any place - I’d prefer to be paid millions tax free. Alas, reality.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      People and Culture Services Representative

      We appreciate your positive feedback, and we sure hope you’ll be able to turn your dream into a reality someday! :)

    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Best Company and leadership on the planet

      Nov 19, 2021 - Team Leader in Olympia, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything - people, vulture, pay, benefits, support, etc.

      Cons

      nothing - this was the best work place environment I've ever worked for.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      People and Culture Services Representative

      This is fantastic to hear, thank you so much for your review!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best place to work!!

      Nov 12, 2021 - Loan Processor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is amazing!! An employer who truly cares!

      Cons

      Job advancement can be difficult because no one wants to leave!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      People and Culture Services Representative

      Wow, thank you for this wonderful feedback! We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your time at WSECU.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Supportive Environment

      Nov 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      WSECU has a very supportive team with a passion for helping people.

      Cons

      No full-time remote work options at this time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      People and Culture Services Representative

      Thank you for your positive feedback, and we couldn’t agree more about our supportive team members! The switch to remote work due to the pandemic was a huge change for us; we always have and continue to believe that we’re stronger together. However, we know many of our remote employees have not only remained productive and engaged but have enjoyed an increased work-life balance. In support of this, we are excited to transition into a hybrid workforce for our back office in 2022. We are looking forward to seeing everyone again!

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture and Benefits, Hard to Advance

      Nov 1, 2021 - Member Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company Culture is fantastic. Staff truly cares about you/each other. I did not dislike any of my coworkers which was incredible to me since it is a 500 person company. Benefits are incredible, Mental Health is cared about.

      Cons

      It feels damn near impossible to progress here. You will get interviews but Tenure is heavily favored and turnover is relatively high (due to how difficult it is to move up).

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      People and Culture Services Representative

      It’s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the people you worked with and our company culture! Taking good care of our employees is always a top priority. When positions open up, it’s common to see applications from internal candidates – it’s great to see how much people want to stay and grow their careers at WSECU! You’re right though that it can take some time, since there is often an abundance of well-qualified candidates for just one available job. We urge our team members to remain patient, as internal moves and promotions do happen often!

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Goodish company to work for

      Oct 22, 2021 - Member Solutions Representative in Olympia, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Building is nice and a lot of the people there are very nice. The pay is good and the benefits are really nice, they had a bonus at the end of the year that was always really nice.

      Cons

      It can be political and some people just want to get ahead and can be cut throat. Some departments are better than others. I would just stay away from the call center, no one ever has a good experience there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      People and Culture Services Representative

      It’s great to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of working at WSECU, such as your coworkers and our compensations and benefits package. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are proud to have a dedicated and hard-working call center team serving our members’ needs each and every day, and what you’ve described is not the environment that we strive for. If you are comfortable sharing more details about how you think we can improve, please reach out to People & Culture Services at 800.562.0999.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Do NOT promote from within...

      Mar 9, 2021 - Leader in Olympia, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work for: - benefits - decent pay - bonus - 401k

      Cons

      They do NOT promote from within. All new postings require advanced degrees, certificates, and experience; however, nearly all the individuals in high ranking positions dont have even the least of these prerequisites. Ex. HR team is made up almost entirely of folks who accepted positions with little to no experience, by default. But all new (last 2-4 years) posted positions require HR certs, degrees, and years of experience. This eliminates the opportunity for internal employees to apply and grow in the same manner that the current CU leaders all did. They are completely unbalanced in this way. Their hiring decisions make no sense and do not match the culture they desire to emulate. They have lost many great employees and leaders because of this; the result is new leaders, at high levels who do not understand the culture and therefore interfere with their mission/ability to create and maintain their desired culture.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      Director, People & Culture Services

      Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our generous benefits and compensation package. We are very proud of our culture at WSECU, and we always encourage our internal employees to consider applying for positions. In fact, we have had a lot of success with hiring from within, both in our HR department and the credit union as a whole. It is a balance - we value new perspectives that external hires can bring to the table, while 42% of our jobs filled in 2020 were by internal employees, a statistic we are very proud to share.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      great

      Aug 8, 2021 - Call Center Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits are amazing, great training program, "Wonderful all around, benefits, environment, and teams. "Wonderful all around, benefits, environment, and teams.

      Cons

      advancement does not seem to be encouraged as well as cross training in other departments. too many restrictions on time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      People and Culture Services Representative

      We’re so happy that your time at WSECU was “wonderful all around”! It’s common to see movement around the credit union as many of our employees are eager to advance their careers here. We always encourage those folks to keep an eye out for opportunities that fit their skills and career goals, or to check into job shadowing within other departments they may be interested in.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Credit Union

      Aug 24, 2021 - Member Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and job security.

      Cons

      Opportunities for advancement are minimal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WSECU Response

      People and Culture Services Representative

      We’re proud that we’re able to take good care of our staff by providing generous benefits and employment stability even during extraordinary times like we’ve experienced this past year. Because WSECU is a great place to work, you’re right that some roles may take longer to become available. However, it’s not at all unusual to see internal candidates moving around and advancing. If you are interested, be sure to keep an eye on our job postings (we have 30+ right now!) We appreciate your feedback, and we encourage you to share with your leadership if you see any areas for improvement. As an experienced member consultant, your perspective is invaluable!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 105 Reviews

    Popular Careers with WSECU Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at WSECU? Share Your Experiences

    or