WVU Medicine Reviews | Glassdoor

WVU Medicine Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 197 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
WVU Medicine CEO Albert L. Wright Jr
Albert L. Wright Jr
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for people that have degrees(in 9 reviews)

  • "Most of the time, units are short-staffed, making workloads overwhelming(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Caring people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Associate in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WVU Medicine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience for anyone to move up into medicine. Decent pay for the job. WVU is a Teaching hospital so many RN’s answer any questions and try to make things easier.

    Cons

    Patient ratio can be rough. Occasionally short staffed but is being worked on.

    Advice to Management

    Ask for more opinions of how things could be better, and show more care for every employee.

    WVU Medicine2019-05-05
  2. "Staff are very helpful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at WVU Medicine

      Pros

      A lot to learn. More career oportunities

      Cons

      Pay is low. Heavy workload

      WVU Medicine2019-06-06
    • "Ruby supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supervisor in Morgantown, WV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at WVU Medicine full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Teamwork atmosphere. Potential for growth.

      Cons

      Lack of communication. Union employees lack motivation to work.

      Advice to Management

      Leadership needs to hold people accountable whether they are union or not.

      WVU Medicine2019-06-06
    • "More time needed for patient testing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pediatric Cardiac Sonographer in Morgantown, WV
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at WVU Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I get a long lunch and take many breaks

      Cons

      Can’t seem to be able to spend more than 2 hours on one patient.

      Advice to Management

      Need more sonographers so i can have more of a break once in a while and need more PDO time and less call and more time off around the holidays

      WVU Medicine2019-06-22
    • "Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at WVU Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Tertiary referral center with growing volume of complex cases. State of the art service lines in most specialties. Leadership committed to responsible growth and system integration.

      Cons

      Accelerated growth has created some operational challenges

      WVU Medicine2019-05-09
    • "Truly Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at WVU Medicine full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Many opportunities for career advancement

        Cons

        For me, this hospital is too far

        WVU Medicine2019-05-02
      • "Great hospital system"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morgantown, WV

        I worked at WVU Medicine full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great benefits. Almost national average for pay for my career. Great for the cost of living in Morgantown area.

        Cons

        The company is great for experience, but not so much for internal career climbing.

        WVU Medicine2019-04-26
      • "Good place to work."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Network Administrator in Morgantown, WV
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at WVU Medicine full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Benefits are good, people are crazy smart. Everyone helps everyone.

        Cons

        Work load is too much.

        Advice to Management

        Figure out how to grow without breaking staff backs.

        WVU Medicine2019-04-24
      • "Registered nurse"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at WVU Medicine full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Room for advancement and/or change

        Cons

        Growth too fast and not enough compensation for care for RNs

        Advice to Management

        Take care of your home hospital before taking over the rest of the state

        WVU Medicine2019-04-30
      • "COuld be better"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Surgical Technologist in Morgantown, WV
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at WVU Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Learn a lot, some friendly staff

        Cons

        -Benefits get worse every year -WVU buying out all "comparable" hospitals -Compares wages with other hospitals within state though UPMC etc. are close and pay better -High Turnover -Very poor Parking -Cleanliness of facility needs improved drastically

        Advice to Management

        -Focus on how to get people to apply and stay withing job, i.e. don't downgrade benefits -Focus on comparing wages realistically

        WVU Medicine2019-04-26
      Found 197 reviews