KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

WW

Is this your company?

WW

Add a Review

WW Employee Reviews about "helping others"

Updated Jul 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 of over 842 reviews

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
WW  President and CEO Mindy Grossman
Mindy Grossman
189 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helping people change their lives(in 78 reviews)

  • "Helping others restore their health(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I definitely regularly earned under minimum wage(in 53 reviews)

  • "It didn't feel like upper management listened to feedback from the field and had unrealistic expectations from a largely part time workforce(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of WW and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "helping others"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      awesome place to work

      Jan 9, 2019 - Team Leader in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great team enjoyed working with the community helping others through weight loss journey

      Cons

      Pay wasn't great would of liked more shifts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Rewarding Service Industry Position

      Jul 12, 2020 - Workshop Facilitator in Burnsville, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping others restore their health

      Cons

      Locations need more investment in them

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      lots of changes

      May 23, 2019 - Territory Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good people to work with - helping others on wellness journey

      Cons

      too many changes - moving in wrong direction

      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Meeting Leader and Personal Coach

      Feb 12, 2017 - Meeting Leader and Personal Coach 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Your energies and skills will help others. This can be very gratifying. You can enjoy your own healthy personal development while helping others. Personal Coaching allows you to work from home with a very flexible schedule.

      Cons

      Receiving compensation for work performed during a meeting is easy (that timesheet process is easy).... however submitting time for compensation outside of a meeting (Personal Coaching, meeting prep, banking, member communication, ordering products for At Work meetings, etc) can be tedious. At Work meetings require a lot of time and energy, and you will need to store products at your home.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Pros

      Helping others succeed very rewarding; flexible hours; keeping up with current weight loss information helps me continue my success.

      Cons

      Many new hires very unprofessional and do not view their jobs as careers, hence no buy-in mindset; disturbing trend in ridding the company of older employees borders on age discrimination - in many cases, that tenure, work ethic, and experience is invaluable and should be passed on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great Program, Questionable Company

      Jul 27, 2010 - Weight Watchers Meeting Leader in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being able to help others achieve their goals the way I was able to as a member and watching as they move forward in their weight loss journey.

      Cons

      It's either feast or famine in terms of making money because we aren't salaried, but are paid by meeting. Our base pay is minnimum wage and can only be boosted through attendance and product sales, so unless you get into high traffic meetings you won't be making much more than someone who works at McDonalds. The burn out factor is absurdly high, because new staff go from being coddled to being thrown to the wolves. Taking a night off is next to impossible in most places as they are so understaffed, and rather than valuing the few loyal staff members they do have they pit us against each other. Because so many of us "Do it for the members." and think so highly of our own Leaders, we allow ourselves to be taken advantage of by people only concerned about sales.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Travelers vs Centers

      Nov 18, 2008 - Receptionist in Durango, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best reasons to work for WW is that you get to help others lose weight. You have been in the same place they are because you once walked through that door to lose weight and you know how it feels, also it helps you to stay on programs as well. I love seeing people lose weight and helping people get to their goal. To change people's lives is the best pay you can get. The people you work with are also lifetime members and love being able to help others as well. We are in the business of changing lives and getting people healthy.

      Cons

      Those who work in small towns and have to set rooms up and take them down get the same pay as those at Centers.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      extremely low pay

      Jun 12, 2008 - Receptionist in Durango, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      it feels good to know that you are helping others reach their weight loss goals. I am a receptionist at a traveler center. I have to go over 40 miles to one of the locations .

      Cons

      extremely low pay, and not enough employee help. I work at a traveler center and have to go into work everytime and take down tables and chairs, set up the room and lobby area the way we need it to work for our meeting. load up products and paper work and set up product area and receptionist area. i greet and check in members as well as weigh them in and in some cases give them support on their way to a better life and give them encoragement along the way. after the meeting I take down the product area as well as the receptionist area. put all product away , take down our tables and chairs and return the rooms to the way they were prior to our meeting.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good weight loss program with wonderful members and co-workers but a company that does not care for the employees.

      Apr 27, 2013 - Weight Watcher Leader in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for Weight Watchers helped me keep motivated to keep my 103 lb weight loss off while I motivated others to lose weight and get healthy. I was always uplifted by helping others to get healthy and reach their goals.I always felt like I was on a high by the success of my members. I loved my members because we were there for each other.I felt so Blessed!

      Cons

      Our Weight Watchers "Vision" was lacking to me by my manager.I did not ever feel" cared for". The pay was little for all the time and effort that I always put into my job. The low pay would have almost been okay,if I would have been appreciated by management.I was told at times that I shouldn't care so much.My house always looked like a Weight Watchers warehouse without getting paid rent for all the space the products took up.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Inspiring.

      Jan 1, 2014 - Weight Watchers Meeting Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping yourself by helping others. There's a terrific feeling of community contribution. Management doesn't meddle too much, though, obviously, there's a korporate line to toe, but individual creativity is more important than blindly following a korporate "system".

      Cons

      Very low pay. Don't work here to earn a living unless you want to go into management. Even then, you'd better have a 2 family income. In the area of the U.S. I live in, beginning management (Territory Mgrs.) salaries are 5 to 10 k less than with other companies. // As for receptionists or leader roles at meetings, If you're retired, are drawn to the work by a passion for helping others, or just need a few extra bucks to pad your income, WW's is perfect. Otherwise, don't quit your day job.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with WW Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at WW? Share Your Experiences

    or