WW "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

WW Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
WW  President and CEO Mindy Grossman
Mindy Grossman
121 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I definitely regularly earned under minimum wage(in 52 reviews)

  • "Company promises full time employment but doesn't deliver on promise for most employees(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Loved the job, hated the pay and few hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Meeting Leader and Receptiionist in Elkin, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at WW for more than a year

    Pros

    You are independent when you are a leader. You prepare your meetings from home and no one looks over your shoulder when you present it, it is completely up to you how you want to do the meeting and you can add things on.

    Cons

    I only had one meeting a week. Pay is minimum wage even for leaders. The training was out of this world, we were flown to a city and stayed in a hotel that I would have never dreamed of staying in my wildest dreams. Upmost luxury, and I felt so important and I was accomplishing something really big. Then you go back to reality and are paid $7.25/hour

    Continue reading
    WW2015-09-29
  2. "WW Studio Guide/Receptionist (with extra duties doing Office Janatorial Tasks)!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Studio Guide in Stamford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WW part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interacting with and coaching individual members

    Cons

    -Very low/Minimum-wage pay scale ($9.50/hour); -at the end of each day's workshift, you are required to do janatorial work, to keep the Studio looking neat & pristine: vacuuming, taking out garbage, and 'neatening' the bathroom (replacing paper towels, toilet paper, and liquid soap; cleaning the sink, picking up anything on the floor) since WW only hired official janatorial service once a week. -The irony is that the cleaning-service personnel probably earned a better wage than we did!

    Continue reading
    WW2020-02-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Confusing Business Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coach 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WW part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Seeing the smiles on members' faces, giving encouragement and celebrating successes. Working with a great group of peers who really care

    Cons

    WW has put too much focus on wellness and left weight loss behind. It's all about numbers and bottom line - increase enrollments and sell products Hiring territory managers who have never been WW members nor run a meeting. They work off rubrics and metrics. Pay for Guides and Coaches is disgraceful. Just above minimum wage. Yet we are the ones in the front line being told to sell products, enroll and retain members, keep up the numbers. Most of us have other jobs because it certainly isn't the pay that keeps us there - it's the members. Territory managers play favorites. Their stock is in the tank (again) and there is no indication that improvements are being made to get the price back up to last year's levels. Corporate office is staffed with Gen X, Y, and Gen Z whose ideas don't mesh with our mostly Boomer members.

    Continue reading
    WW2019-01-11
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Coach 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WW full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The very best part of working at WW is the members. Being part of their transformation is such a privilege. The program is based on science. This inspires confidence.

    Cons

    Corporate has horrible communication with the field. The pay is absolutely dismal — there is no incentive to stay. Someone with ten years of experience gets paid the same as a brand new employee. Much of the work is paid at minimum wage. The CEO makes 6000 times what the average field employee makes. No recognition. There used to be awards for excellence. Now there’s nothing. No bonus, no performance based raises, no perks. The labor model is designed to keep employees part time so full time field employees are forced to track every minute of work. No salaries field employees. Huge disconnect between corporate ideas and what field employees know will work. It’s like the right hand doesn’t care atval what the left hand is doing. Inconsistency. Since the majority of employees are part time the standard of excellence is incredibly low. ‘Hobbyist’ employees who are only there to ‘give back’ and get support with keeping their weight off are often not invested in the company and will only follow policies when their territory manager is present. Otherwise they’re out there in the field doing whatever they want.

    Continue reading
    WW2018-11-21
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great personal rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leader, Mentor, Location Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The interaction with the members and helping them to create healthy life style changes is incredible. The training is also viable

    Cons

    The barely pay you minimum wage and hours, benefits are ridiculous. It feels like they want you to only work part time

    Continue reading
    WW2016-11-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meeting Leader in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WW part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Being able to pretty much make your own schedule was nice. You meet great people that you can relate to & help guide them through their weight loss journey. Knowing that you've helped make a difference in others lives is very rewarding. They recruit from lifetime members at goal so all staff have gone through the program. As a leader I made really good money...but that depends on how big the meetings are & how many you work.

    Cons

    Many of us felt that the company only cared about getting people to join & sell, sell, sell overpriced products, many of which were pretty worthless. When they had a good product they'd change it, & replace it with something not as useful. WW didn't seem to care about their employees. They forget that we were all lifetime members first & still struggling with old behaviors. Depending upon your schedule & how many meetings you worked in a day, you could go without eating or shoveling food in while driving to the next meeting. Not good!! I know it's a business looking to make big profits but they need to realize that employees are their most important asset! We were proof that the program worked! We were & will always be on a weight journey so employees need to recognized & listened to! Receptionists don't get paid product commission over & above the meeting revenue, it's calculated in a way that they often make only minimum wage where as a leaders is always over & above the meeting pay.

    Continue reading
    WW2016-04-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at WW part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours while raising my kids. Keeps me on track with my weight. Friendly people.

    Cons

    Been there over 20 years Seen a lot of changes over the years and sorry to say not all for the better, Pay now is just above minimum wage. Large pay difference now between the leaders and receptionists.Was making more money years ago whole working less. A lot more pushy for product sales.

    Continue reading
    WW2016-03-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Discovered the ARIZONA FRANCHISE docks meeting leaders' paychecks for clerical errors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at WW

    Pros

    Employees working the meetings are great, as well as support staff at Phoenix corporate office

    Cons

    Owners and management in Arizona should support their staff in the field better. No computers or cash registers are used in the meeting rooms. All attendees, their membership information and program progress, and all product sales have to be hand-recorded and completed in a short period of time. The reporting forms used in the process are confusing and require a lot of detail. Members sign in before their meeting. They also record their monthly pass info- includes pass number and current expiration date. I knew all this after being hired as a receptionist, but not about the paycheck-docking. After a while I discovered that if there are errors in the pass information, the meeting leader can be docked $.50 to $1.00 per occurrence. Keep in mind these errors don't cost the franchise money, and the leaders don't make much over minimum wage, either. And this policy isn't in the employee handbook. (There may be other clerical errors that are on the list, but I only saw evidence of this type, which was enough for me to quit.)

    Continue reading
    WW2014-11-12
  9. Helpful (5)

    "good program HORRIBLE management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Silver Spring, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WW part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    gained secretarial skills, inventory and distribution, bookkeeping knowledge increased, members improved my customer service abilities; communication and interaction.

    Cons

    below minimum wage pay, high school cliquish employees- think run fat boy run meets mean girls- flighty management, no team work... this list goes on and on and on and on.

    Continue reading
    WW2014-11-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Do it for love, not money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weight Watchers Meeting Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WW part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Ability to directly work with people to change their lives -Meet some great coworkers and meeting members -50% discount on meeting room products

    Cons

    -Pay is just above minimum wage & commissions aren't easy to earn -No merit increases or promotional opportunity -Hard to cobble together full-time hours, will involve lots of travel -Technology behind the scenes is never up to snuff

    Continue reading
    WW2014-09-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 52 reviews
</>Embed